We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average. Not worth of moeny” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average. Not worth of moeny”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

Just stayed for one night. Comparing to Super 8, this hotel was very poor. No free wifi. No breakfast. Only coffee served in the morning. But there is a taco bell in the neighborhood. The towel was torn!! Nothing called as room service. The location is very good. Lot of shops near by. We stayed on visiting Niagara falls.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroLoverBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    40
    35
    18
    34
See reviews for
54
29
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Very bad experience. First I was given keys to room that was ALREADY OCCUPIED by another guest. Crazy. When I went back to the front desk, the receptionist gave me another key immediately to another room and told me she would bring me the extra key to me in the new room shortly but she never did. Also her excuse about the problem was that the staff on the previous shift had not marked the computer properly.

When we entered the room, the bedroom had a very strong artificial fragrance smell which I disliked. But worse was the washroom which smelled like pee and I suspected that previous guests had peed in the bath tub and the shower curtain probably had absorbed the pee. The smell of the washroom was REPULSIVE! Furthermore, the next day, the staff woke us up with a phone call at 9am in the morning asking if we needed the room serviced. It was 9am on a weekend, that was to me inappropriate to call and wake up your guests. I told them that I would need the sheets to be changed and the room to be serviced in the afternoon as we would be out then. When we returned to the room that night, the sheets were changed but the washroom sink was never cleaned and washroom still stinky.

Unless I would be sleeping in the street, I would not be returning to this hotel or the chain ever. Price and quality were not meeting expectation. I have stayed in much more affordable hotels for less than $100 that are of much higher quality. I had expected by paying 100$ per night the service and quality would be at the very least acceptable but not here. They also charge you for internet access - NO FREE WI-FI.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hwzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amherst hotels

Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Rooms smells really bad can not book non smoking rooms, first in gets the room, very unpleasant to stay in, smoke detector outside of room battery is flat and alarming every minute or two spoken to front desk not fixed yet been 2 hours. Spoke to reception no other rooms all booked out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Myself and a few girlfriends stayed the night while we were shopping in Buffalo. The pictures on the website looked nice and we figured for the price, it wouldn't be bad for one night. Check in time was said to be 2pm. We arrived at the hotel at 3:20pm and checked in. When we arrived at our room, the door was unlocked and the room wasn't clean. We headed back down to reception where the receptionist told us that the hotel was fully booked and we would have to wait 20 minutes for the room to be cleaned. After waiting the 20 minutes we decided to purchase the wifi that they advertised on the website for $2.99. When we went to pay, the receptionist informed us that the price would be $4.99. We got the code and found that only ONE person was able to use the wifi. We were not willing to pay $20 for the 4 of us to use it. The wifi didn't even end up working so we asked for our money back. The receptionist then told us that she had another room available so we headed to that room. This room was also dirty and someone had just slept in one of the beds. Back to reception again. We finally got a room. When we entered that room, the beds looked rather small and we had paid for 2 queen-sized beds, not double. We headed back to the reception area and were greeted with a "what now?" Apparently all of the beds were queen and we were given 10% off of our room for the inconvenience. The receptionist also said that she would personally bring up extra towels and pillows to our room and call our room in the next few minutes to make sure everything was okay. We spend 20 minutes in our room, waiting for the receptionist...nothing. We headed out to finish our shopping. When we arrived back at the hotel around 11:30pm, we phoned down to have the pillows and towels delivered. We were told that all of the extra pillows were dirty and it was an inconvenience to the staff to wash them for us.

A phone call was made and we received 50% off our room because of how terrible it was. Customer service is clearly lacking at this location and we will never be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY Southern Tier
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had surgery slated for a Thursday morning and needed to be at hospital quite early. Decided to stay at a hotel the night before instead of making a 2 hour drive the morning of the surgery. Usually stay at Red Roof, but after checking the rates decided to stay at Motel 6. Glad we did. Basic room, clean and comfortable. Asked the front desk clerk if we could get a 1st floor room as my husband has trouble walking. She gladly accommodated our request. Great rates.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elgin
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Coming back from Boston we decided to stay overnight in Amherst and Motel 6 had rooms available. The rooms are bare bones and clean, linens are clean and bed comfortable. I love that they have put laminate on the floors. Great rate for the night and they do offer senior rates. One piece of advise - don't get a room by the staircase doors because all you hear is the constant banging of the doors. As well do not get a room face the highway. Otherwise our stay was very affordable, clean but very noisy.

Room Tip: Do not stay in any rooms by the staircase and none not facing the highway. Very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maryannes894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

When we arrived at Motel 6, the scent in the hallway and in the room was very unpleasant. It smelt of cigarettes even though it is supposed to be a smoke-free room. The beds are not queen size as advertised. The washroom is very small and the shower water pressure is too light. When we requested some extra pillows and toilet paper we were told that we could only have one of each and we had to go get it at the front desk ourselves. There were no toiletries or tissue provided. WiFi that cost $2.99/day was very slow. The air conditioner was very noisy. We were out all day the next day and we came back to an uncleaned room. Nothing was cleaned and dirty towels were not replaced. Don't stay at this motel ever. Stay anywhere else but this place because it was terrible. We are never going back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.4 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#13 of 16 in Amherst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst

Property: Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst
Address: 4400 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-5103
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Motel 6 is just 10 minutes from downtown Buffalo and 4 shopping malls and an outlet mall. Niagara Falls is just a short drive away and the Univ. of Buffalo is only 1/4 mile away. WiFi available in all of our modern rooms for $2.99 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Buffalo - Amherst Hotel Amherst
Motel 6 Amherst
Motel Six Amherst
Amherst Motel 6
Amherst Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing