We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good balance of value and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, PA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good balance of value and comfort”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Right across the campus of the University and about 20 miles from the Falls. Recently renovated, so it was clean and nice. Very quiet even though it is close to major roads. The only thing I did not like much was the outside access to rooms and no breakfast area. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Check in and out was a breeze. Would recommend for a night or two!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to wrtie a review about your experience. We appreciate you mentioning our clean renovated rooms and our friendly staff. Our renovated rooms now have flat screen televisions, faux hardwood flooring, new mattresses, and all new furniture. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    164
    70
    27
    15
See reviews for
155
131
53
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Paid $87 a night for two nights. Expected a better quality stay but was disappointed. Check in was fine. The reception was welcoming. Surrounding area was ok. A few eateries in the area. Room was well prepared when we saw it for the first time. Bedsheets and pillow cases looked clean. But bath room was a just a washing basin with a WC and a standing bathing area. No table top or ledge to keep toiletries. No bath tub. Very spartan. Towels appeared well used. Flat screen TV was installed right in front of working desk so when the wife is watching tv, I could not sit in front of desk to do work. Worst of all was the sound insulation from the next door rooms on both side. First night we had a baby who decided to cry at 3am and we could not sleep after that. Second night we had a couple making a lot of amorous noises while they were going at it at 5am. Couldn't sleep after that.

I should have paid another $30 a night to stay at a proper hotel. For what I paid, I expected better than Howard Johnson quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil_YSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write about your stay. I want to start by saying I am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests have a great stay with us and I am sorry we failed to deliver. I do want to thank you form mentioning our welcoming staff and our clean rooms. From reading your review it seems as though you were booked into one of our ADA accessible Superior King rooms. The ADA rooms are set up a little differently then our standard rooms to due to ADA standards. Our standard Superior King room would of suited you better I believe. It has a counter outside the bathroom with the sink and plenty of space to put toiletries. Also, the living area of the room is set up so there is a larger L-shaped worked desk away from the new flat screen televisions. Once again I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room and we do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardners, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Have Stayed at the Red Roof Inn at Amherst at least 3 times per year for the last 7 years. Born an raised in Buffalo area but relocated to the South Central Pennsylvania area 25 years ago. Stay at the Red Roof Inn at Amherst when visiting family in Western New York. Employees are friendly, rooms are clean and the Inn is very close to the major highways. Room rates are affordable, king size beds are comfortable and the outside of the Inn is well lit for safety. The Buffalo Zoo, Niagara Falls, Ralph Wilson Stadium and the First Niagara Center are all easy commutes from the Inn. Will be back in the spring to stay at the Inn again.

Room Tip: Superior King Rooms have more room for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We certainly enjoy having you as a loyal guest and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to see your family. Thank you so much for mentioning our clean rooms, friendly staff, and affordable rates. Thanks again for staying with us and we will see you in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanona, New York, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

i travel for business and stay at the buffalo amherst location its in the middle of where i do business, the roooms are all recently up graded and very impressed with the new rooms , The rooms are clean the beds comfortable for a good nights rest , its very quiet even when theres a bills game in town. Lisa always has fresh coffee made in the morning best coffee in town,Steph always has my checkin paper work done before i get there The general manager goes out of his way to correct a problem i will stay there many more night to come

Room Tip: out side buildings have more parking then in the center
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59bear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. Thanks for mentioning our clean rooms, comfortable beds, and friendly staff. Our staff tries to ensure that each and every guest has a great stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town for work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simcoe, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2013

It's a clean - updated room for a good price. Nothing more, Nothing less.
The service was good and friendly, parking was ample and was close to many food places and things to do.
Complimentary coffee was bad, but there was 50 coffee shops right in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CantWinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We appreciate that you mentioned our clean updated rooms. Our recently remodeled rooms now have faux hardwood flooring, flat screen tv's, new mattresses, and all new furniture. One again we appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

First thing I would like to say is Red Roof Inn has a new customer for life! This is the First Red Roof I have ever stayed at, and I was impressed. During my search for a hotel to stay at, I came across the Buffalo Amherst property as a pet friendly hotel. Newly renovated, the room was perfect. It was the perfect size for two people and two Corgis. The front staff was very friendly and efficient, getting us checked-in, in a matter of minutes. We stayed three nights on our visit to Niagara Falls. This is a great location with the Falls a short 15 minute drive. Our room was in the far building, away from the street making for a very quiet nights rest. Amenities were gracious, loved the big flat screen TV and the complimentary toiletries.
During our stay we needed a quick clean up of our room and the housekeeper for our building was very efficient and happy to oblige us. I wish I could remember her name, (Anastasia or something unique like that). It was a great stay and now when we travel, we will be searching for Red Roof Inns along the way. Thank you for a great Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the second building away from the street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time write such a positive review about our inn. We are sold glad that you decided to stay with us and that we have now gained a new Red Roof Inn guest for life!!! Thank you so much for mentiong our great staff, locations across from the University at Buffalo, and our newly remodeled rooms. Our new rooms have flat screen televisions, new mattresses and box springs, new wood like flooring, and new furniture. We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Red Roof Inn - University at Buffalo-Amherst. They recently completed renovations and the rooms look great! Comfortable beds -- clean room and the staff as always is very helpful and accommodating! This past weekend was sold out at the hotel and it was still surprisingly quiet. I have always gotten great rates and wonderful service from the staff here - from restaurant suggestions to assistance with some extremely loud room neighbors during one visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are so glad that you had a great stay. We appreciate you mentioning our clean renovated rooms, our comfortable beds, and our wonderful staff. Our new rooms now have flat screen televisions, wood like flooring, all new mattresses, and new furniture and sinks. We are glad you liked the renovations and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 17 in Amherst
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Address: 42 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amherst
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn University At Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Red Roof Inn Amherst
Amherst Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing