We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so -” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So so -”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The hotel is relatively clean. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. Everyone was friendly and very accommodating. They give great recommendations for local dining options. There is an on and off-site gym options. The free breakfast was what you would expect (meat, eggs, bread, yogurt, hot and cold cereal).

The rooms are a bit dated and have a garden apartment set up, stairs on the outside of the units, no elevators or interior halls. I wish the hotel website was more upfront about lack of handicap accessibility for certain rooms. Although the loft rooms are much bigger than the typical suite room, there are located on the second level with no handicap access. My mother who has a mobility impairment could not come to our room. This was not self-evident until we arrived. Also, the bedroom is an open air loft set up without a door if privacy is an issue. There were birds in the fireplace. The chirping drove me mad.

Room Tip: avoid the duplex or loft if mobility impairment or stairs is a concern. There is no way to get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayBee698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    100
    43
    13
    11
See reviews for
110
48
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I spent 2 months working in Buffalo last spring, and this Residence Inn was my home away from home. Good location in the suburbs, just of the highway and just a short drive to Downtown. Rooms are great. Extremely spacious with a sitting/lounge area, full kitchen and great king bed. I like the "Apartment" style layout of this property as it limits the typical traffic and noise from people coming and going like a typical building does. BUT, do yourself a favour and ask for a 2nd floor suite. The floors seemed pretty thin, so i could hear the people above walking and moving around.

The property is stating to show its age, and the suites could use some updating, but that being said they are more than comfortable. The beds and linens are new, so good enough for me.

The staff were great when I needed them. Since the layout is more like an apartment complex I didnt need to go through the lobby much, nor did I need much assistance, but if and when I did they were great. The "Social hours" they have during the week are decent, with a variety of food and drink. Wine and beer if the mood strikes.

For a no frills, exactly what you need place to stay, you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed here with my family of 5 in one of their Suites at back, on a second floor. It was a day before Thanksgiving when we need to get together and reunite with some family members coming from Toronto. We love their Suites, with mini kitchen and its complete kitchen tools ... great for big family like ours. Very friendly Staff at front desk, they anticipated our needs. We called for some ice and it was delivered very promptly. Breakfast is included and the assortments of hot waffles and fresh fruits just to name a few, are quite satisfying.

Kids love the LOFT upstairs, it gives us privacy on master bedroom downstairs. We love the set up, their upgraded flat screened TV, and huge bathrooms. WIFI is free. Beddings and pillows are
clean. We had a very comfortable experience in this hotel.

Overall, we love to stay here again when visiting friends from Toronto. And we'll highly recommend to friends and other family members.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N122198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Ages: 26-64
Date: August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night while in Buffalo. We chose it because we had stayed at the Residence Inn Buffalo Cheektowaga last summer and it was really nice.

Room: We booked the two bedroom loft. It was nice to have the two washrooms, two seperate sleep areas and a kitchen all in one room but I think it's time for them to update the space.

Service: So SLOW!! Our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 2:45pm and we had to wait an additional 45 minutes for it...along with two other families who's rooms were not ready either. I guess I would expect that if check-in is 3pm then the rooms should be available.

Food: Great...very good breakfast selection!

Pool: Small but served it's purpose...it was refreshing to take a dip in the afternoon! :)

I would not stay at this hotel again...it was convenient but honetly the Residence Inn Buffalo Cheektowaga was fully booked so this was our back-up.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. Our first stay was in June and the second in July.

On our first stay, we had a unit on the street level and it had been renovated. The sofa bed was the best I have come across at any hotel. Firm and no squeaks. The unit was fresh and clean. The kitchen was well-equipped. The only downside was that the guests on the upper level were extremely noisy and were dragging their things on the floor late into the night (around midnight) and first thing in the morning (around 5 a.m.) so we did not have a restful sleep.

Breakfast was complimentary and had a ample, if not good, selection. The breakfast area was crowded as the hotel was full that weekend but things moved around fairly quickly.

There were other amenities at the hotel - a pool, a basketball court, BBQ, none of which we used, but looked to be in good condition.

Internet (wired and wireless) in the room was complimentary but was painfully S-L-O-W.

On our follow-up stay, I booked a unit on the upper level which came with a "loft bedroom" but it was open (with a "balcony" type setting). There was also a Murphy bed and a sofa bed. The kitchen was similarly well-equipped.

The unit obviously had not been renovated, so everything looked a little worn and tired. The floor on the upper, upper level (there are two bathrooms) had what appeared to be linoleum flooring and a shower that would wake up your neighbors down the street.

The Murphy bed had an old and lumpy mattress and the sofa bed sagged and squeaked.

We chose the hotel because of its location that was very close to where we needed to be. We would stay there again and but would ask for an upper level unit that has been renovated.

Staff try hard - on both our stays, the front desk called within minutes of our getting to our units to see if everything was fine. Management, though, needs to be increase their presence. There have been a couple of not so good reviews on TripAdvisor and I have yet to see a response from management.

Room Tip: Upper level units cost more but are a better choice if you want a restful sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank udomeidouwedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Overall,a nice stay. I would recommend asking for a second floor room. The hotel is based on the old layout of an apartment feel. I was able to hear the people walking above me, but after a while is more like white noise.

The check in was very quick. The room was a good size room - I had a queen size bed with one flat screen TV. The bathroom had a tub and a shower combo, though the bath would not hold water. There was also a fireplace, though it was the summer months, so I did not try it. The heating and cooling is controlled by a wall thermostat.

Housekeeping came very late on my stay, so I ended up canceling housekeeping, but not a big deal - did not need new towels. One phone call to the front desk was all it took.

The check out, due to error at check in was longer than expected. The clerk had to remove the tax and there was no bill under the door, so I could not take care of it during breakfast.

The have their social hour Monday to Thursday. I found getting there early ensures that you will be sure to have seconds or you would have to wait for them to bring out more, though that only happened on Monday night. Breakfast was good as well - standard Residence Inn breakfast - bacon (Canadian), eggs, breakfast sandwhiches, ceral and juice.

Room Tip: I would say request a second level floor - if you do not mind bring up your luggage. Based on old s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwilli5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarya78
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

To begin with, we are Marriott rewards and credit card members. The room was fine, suite, so that was nice but its the basic things that were bad. Huge property but just one elliptical rider in the gym? In the morning, we called housekeeping for a toothpaste, they said it won't be very fast but he will send someone. We checked out of the hotel and still didn't get one. The breakfast options were very limited. Also, we asked for a plastic cup for ice in 90 deg weather, they came back with a plastic shot glass. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarya78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.5 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Property: Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Address: 100 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14221
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Residence Inn Amherst
Buffalo Residence Inn
Amherst Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing