We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we reserved”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
College Place, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we reserved”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Not sure where to start--1st off--we did not get the room we reserved. We reserved a 2 bedroom for 5 adults & 2 kids. We were given a loft room & the "living room" downstairs had a Murphy bed (bed comes out of the wall) plus a sofa bed. 2ND - the plunger in the sink in the bathroom upstairs didn't work--was stuck in the "down' position PLUS it was VERY difficult to even use the plunger in both bathrooms--was WAY TOO CLOSE to the backsplash--had to squeeze your fingers to even touch it. 3RD - the "heating" lamp in the bathroom did not work--had a dial & timer but wasn't connected to the light. 4TH--we had 5 adults plus 2 kids right--well our kitchen had only 4 of everything. We called for more, so paper plates & plastic ware was brought to us. (what?) 5TH--the drip pans on the stove were clean but....they didn't fit so the electric plug ins --all the burners were not flat but were sticking upward since they were not the right ones. Pans were all crooked on the burners. Not good. We requested a different room but were told they did not have anymore. They said they sent an email stating what we reserved which supposedly said murphy bed but that email was never received. (our room was ordered ahead in plenty of time.) Not much good parking..Breakfasts were very good. Probably would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergiecpwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    104
    46
    13
    11
See reviews for
120
51
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Nice room, full kitchen. Very clean and spacious. We could hear people walking around upstairs for a while before we fell asleep. Nothing outrageous. Parking was a bit of a problem - they should assign parking as we had to drag all of our bags from near the front of the hotel all the way to another building in the very back. Not convenient - and it was raining.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bindy5London_Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2010

I came across this hotel in 2008 and have stayed there ever since.
We are a family of five - most hotels will only take 4 in a room, but, what makes this hotel special is their 2 level Lofts. In the lower level they have a queen bed and a pullout couch plus a full bathroom. In the upper level they have a queen bed plus another full bathroom. This works out perfectly for us because my husband and I take the upper level and the kids are on the lower level with their own bath and tv and lots of room to move around. A complimentary breakfast is also included. Hotel is clean and staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fontanafratta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2009

The main area of the hotel is being renovated. They are doing a good job keeping things clean as possible but this is an older property. The appliances in the rooms are vintage and some are rusting. The rooms are clean and comfortable but in need of upgrade. Safety could a concern for some because all room have an outside entrance as the hotel has the appearance of an apartment complex. Parking is at a premium and sometimes you may have to park further from your room and in inclement weather this can be uncomforable. Overall, average accomodations but far below the standards of other Residence Inns I've frequented.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shauste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We arrived in Buffalo, and we were looking forward to a quiet evening in a nice suite equipped with a full kitchen. There was some noise from people walking on the floor above, but it was minimal for a time. Then the noise really began. It was as if elephants were pounding on the floor above. The floor lights and windows in our room started to shake. We called the main desk to complain, and were assured that the noise would stop. It did for about one hour. By that time we went to sleep. We awoke two hours later to tremendous thumps and crashes. It sounded like the people above were moving heavy furniture--at three o'clock in the morning. I called again to no avail. The elephants had won. We got up and packed. I gave the night clerk a piece of my mind. At least, she did the right thing. Our stay was free. But I would have preferred the sleep. We had a nine-hour drive ahead of us.

It turned out that the culprits were two teenage girls. Teenagers are not known for their empathy, but the management of this motel did nothing to deal with the situation, and they are just as guilty.

I couldn't get away from this motel fast enough.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank OhioTravelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Like everyone, I must agree this is a nice hotel. It's also one of the only hotels I've found in upstate NY that is not stuck next to the highway. One issue I have with the rooms is that the builders apparently chose not to use particle board between the floors. Instead I'm guessing they used some sort of tin or similar product. There is a very unique metallic sound that resonates into your room from above. In building 13, anytime the person above me would step the sound carried through to our room. My companion, who is a heavy sleeper, even woke up because of the ceiling noise. Having said that, I would stay here again, just never again on the bottom floor. The location to restaurants and as a general launching point to all things in the area is just impossible to pass up.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grif858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

I was pleasantly surprised with the rooms and facility layout. This is an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at UB. The stadium is approximately a 15 minute walking distance. Bring your student's favorite meal. The rooms have full kitchens. Also, bring the pet along! The hotel is pet friendly. :o)

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc_traveler_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Property: Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Address: 100 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14221-2922
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Residence Inn Amherst
Buffalo Residence Inn
Amherst Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing