We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay away from this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

On my last stay, a prostitute knocked on my door and when I told her to go away, she -- or her pimp started pounding. When I complained to the manager, his response was, "there is prostitution at every hotel and we had 3 prostitution visits that night." So I am staying elsewhere in Buffalo. On a side note, the staff is super friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winelover0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, Front Office Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Mr.Lang. Thank you for your feedback which I will be sharing with our staff. We apologize for any inconvenience that you were caused. After speaking with the General Manager regarding this situation we offered to compensate you on your next visit. This offer still stands. Please contact me prior to your next arrival. Have a good day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    310
    127
    35
    37
See reviews for
265
159
31
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stay at Marriotts every week. This was my first time to Buffalo, and I will stay here again.

The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful, as was the concierge lounge staff and bell desk.

The hotel has a nice layout, with a big indoor/outdoor pool and good fitness center, and an expansive lobby bar with good food.

I was given a suite on the 8th floor, and the room was so spacious and airy, with a beautiful view.

The ONLY downside - the rooms seem a little dated, maybe in need of a refresh.
I would heartily recommend it if you plan to stay in Buffalo anytime soon!

Ed

Room Tip: park in the back of the hotel - closest to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed there for a day for trip to Niagara Falls, Overall the hotel was good one and the rooms were good and I had a good stay with family and the restaurants were quite good. It was in a drivable distance to Niagara Falls. I booked in this hotel for a day as I couldnt able to get a hotel near Niagara falls for that day. but the stay was quite good

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuraimuruganTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for the first time at the Buffalo Marriott on Millersport Highway, not far from SUNY Buffalo's campus. We were very impressed with the facilities. The room was comfortable, with a nice view of the surrounding area. The gym was fantastic, with multiple machines and apples in a refrigerator. Our AAA rate was $116 per night. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your time and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed for two nights, Friday and Saturday, while visiting friends in the Buffalo area. Very big hotel and a bit of a walk to get to the elevators to take you to the guest rooms. First night there nice with a free dessert (a promotion) in the Blue Fire Lobby Bar. Brian, our bartender, did a great job. Went to the Sea Pac Theatre for Brian Regan Show. Great theatre and awesome show!! The cabbie, not sure of the company ripped us off on a ride back. Should not have been $40 from downtown area. Went to a great bar on Pearl Street, Century Grille. Wait staff was very good, decent drink at a fair price. Good food.
Day two was wine tasting in the Buffalo Wine Country. Great time, but, the Hotel seemed to be the place for a ton of kids with parents that were not keeping a close eye on them. Kids running up and down the halls, yelling, doors slamming. A call down to the desk did bring security and a closer scrutiny of my floor #9, but did not stop the parents from having prolong conversation outside my door at 1030 at night.
Workout room was good and well maintained. The location off I 290 is very convenient. A little pizza place, next door to the hotel, seemed like a cool neighborhood sports bar and the takeout pizza, CheeseBurger Pizza, was very good.

Room Tip: If quite is what you want, inquire about a room away from families with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ynot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, the hotel is surrounded by places to eat, shop or experience. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed at Marriott at NY Niagara fall in mid November for one day. There was a horrible hair oil smell on the pillow and the bedsheet. I suspect the pillow case and the bedsheets have not been changed after the previous guest checked out. I have stayed in a number of Marriott chains in different states in US and other parts of the world and this is the worst Marriott experience that I ever had. The only redeeming factor as the assistant manager at the front office and the bell staff were really helpful and friendly. Moved to Hyatt hotel the next day. The rooms at Hyatt was so much cleaner and the finishing was and rate was lower than Marriott. .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. If at anytime there may be an concern with your room please let us know so we can rectify the situation for you. We apologize for your concern. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Just a quick overnight to visit friends. The desk staff was very friendly. Our room on the 5th floor was clean and neat. Down at the end of the hall...biggest draw back was we were near where housekeeping stores stuff, so we heard the banging around for a few minutes. The bar in the hotel was fine. We got a night cap before turning in. A bit expensive for drinks..not much munchie food on the menu, so we ordered a basket of fries...omg they were so salty. A simple plate of nachos on the menu would prolly be a hit. if we ever found ourselves in Buffalo overnight again, we would go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorroth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Property: Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Address: 1340 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14221-2992
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing