We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average: nothing really bad, nothing super good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights, on a business trip. This is a standard business-oriented hotel, on the older side, and with typical amenities such as swimming pool and gym (but, if you are on a business trip, you may not care about swimming pool and gym).

Standard rooms, nothing really fancy, nothing really bad. Something really nice is that the air conditioning is not noisy, so you can sleep well. My room did not have a fridge with beverages to buy. There was a vending machine on the floor, but with a very limited choice. They may consider putting a better vending machine on each floor.

The hotel has a restaurant and a coffee place next to the lobby: I did not try the food, so I cannot judge.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are quieter. Make sure you ask the price before diving into the breakfast buffet (can b...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DallaBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, Front Office Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay. I"m happy to hear that you slept well. All of the mini-bars in the guest rooms were taken out a few years ago. There are vending machines on several of the floors, and well as a lobby store which sell snacks & beverages.

We appreciate your time and comments. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Marriott Niagara
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 829 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

The hotel is pretty good and has great staff. The breakfast crew is friendly, warm and professional but the really big surprise was the dinner that eight of us had at The Blue Flame restaurant. The meal was fabulous; three of us had the pan sautéed chicken which was one of the best chicken dishes ever. The other guests were equally blown away by their entrees.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank PigeonCove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are so glad you had the opportunity to experience the Blue Fire bar and grille. Make sure you try the sweet potato tater tots! Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

On my last stay, a prostitute knocked on my door and when I told her to go away, she -- or her pimp started pounding. When I complained to the manager, his response was, "there is prostitution at every hotel and we had 3 prostitution visits that night." So I am staying elsewhere in Buffalo. On a side note, the staff is super friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Winelover0714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, Front Office Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Mr.Lang. Thank you for your feedback which I will be sharing with our staff. We apologize for any inconvenience that you were caused. After speaking with the General Manager regarding this situation we offered to compensate you on your next visit. This offer still stands. Please contact me prior to your next arrival. Have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stay at Marriotts every week. This was my first time to Buffalo, and I will stay here again.

The front desk staff was so friendly and helpful, as was the concierge lounge staff and bell desk.

The hotel has a nice layout, with a big indoor/outdoor pool and good fitness center, and an expansive lobby bar with good food.

I was given a suite on the 8th floor, and the room was so spacious and airy, with a beautiful view.

The ONLY downside - the rooms seem a little dated, maybe in need of a refresh.
I would heartily recommend it if you plan to stay in Buffalo anytime soon!

Ed

Room Tip: park in the back of the hotel - closest to the elevators
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed there for a day for trip to Niagara Falls, Overall the hotel was good one and the rooms were good and I had a good stay with family and the restaurants were quite good. It was in a drivable distance to Niagara Falls. I booked in this hotel for a day as I couldnt able to get a hotel near Niagara falls for that day. but the stay was quite good

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuraimuruganTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for the first time at the Buffalo Marriott on Millersport Highway, not far from SUNY Buffalo's campus. We were very impressed with the facilities. The room was comfortable, with a nice view of the surrounding area. The gym was fantastic, with multiple machines and apples in a refrigerator. Our AAA rate was $116 per night. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your time and your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed for two nights, Friday and Saturday, while visiting friends in the Buffalo area. Very big hotel and a bit of a walk to get to the elevators to take you to the guest rooms. First night there nice with a free dessert (a promotion) in the Blue Fire Lobby Bar. Brian, our bartender, did a great job. Went to the Sea Pac Theatre for Brian Regan Show. Great theatre and awesome show!! The cabbie, not sure of the company ripped us off on a ride back. Should not have been $40 from downtown area. Went to a great bar on Pearl Street, Century Grille. Wait staff was very good, decent drink at a fair price. Good food.
Day two was wine tasting in the Buffalo Wine Country. Great time, but, the Hotel seemed to be the place for a ton of kids with parents that were not keeping a close eye on them. Kids running up and down the halls, yelling, doors slamming. A call down to the desk did bring security and a closer scrutiny of my floor #9, but did not stop the parents from having prolong conversation outside my door at 1030 at night.
Workout room was good and well maintained. The location off I 290 is very convenient. A little pizza place, next door to the hotel, seemed like a cool neighborhood sports bar and the takeout pizza, CheeseBurger Pizza, was very good.

Room Tip: If quite is what you want, inquire about a room away from families with kids.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ynot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, the hotel is surrounded by places to eat, shop or experience. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: £107 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, a centrally located hotel in Amherst, New York situated off the 290 expressway, within walking distance of the State University of New York at Buffalo North campus. Our Buffalo hotel is also moments from Niagara Falls, Buffalo Niagara International Airport and the waterfront in downtown Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing