We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better options in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had a last-minute opportunity to get away for the weekend, so figured we'd hop the border and get some back to school shopping done for the kids, while also celebrating our anniversary. Our go-to hotel in the area was full for the weekend, so we figured we'd give the Marriott a try. On arrival, the front desk staff wasn't especially friendly. Room was nice enough, but is in need of an update, as are the hallways... lots of marks/scuffs/etc. on the wallpaper. Our room package included a bottle of wine... bonus... it was a great Cabernet Sauvignon (Woodbridge by Robert Mondavi). After a great dinner out, we were excited to come back and relax in the whirlpool. When we got to the pool area, just before 10, it was filthy. Empty glasses, discarded beer cans, and dirty towels all over the place. No clean towels to be found. My husband went to the front desk to ask for some and was told there were some in the dryer and they'd be along shortly. We sat in the hot tub (with no jets... couldn't find the "on" button and there were quite a few young kids swimming in it) for about 1/2 hour and there were still no towels... my husband ended up grabbing a few of the small towels from the workout area so we could at least get back to the room. I noticed quite a few guests bringing their own towels to the pool area so I wonder if this is a common problem? Breakfast buffet was nice, not sure I would have paid $32 if it wasn't included with our room package. All in all, we had an OK stay, but there are better (and less expensive) options close by.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lindseyt213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. If at anytime you have a concern please let us know so we can try and correct for you. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a nice hotel to stay considering other hotels in Niagara buffalo area are not as great, but I only gave it a 4 star because i have been to several Marriots before and the quality i have to say was not inline with their other locations.

Positives, hotel is nice and clean . Foyer looks great, customer service is friendly. Starbucks coffee shop in foyer is full service which is great. Nice bar and restaurant a bit pricey but i guess thats inline with other Marriots. Location is easy to get to close to airport, not too far from shopping or attractions.
Family friendly swimming area - indoor and outdoor pool which was nice. Its a bit small especially when its crowded but its ok. What I didn't like is this is the first time I have seen the towels for the pool were small and most of them were old looking and stained - they were a faded green colour and had funny bleach spots. The chlorine levels were high my nose definitely was burning and i wasnt swimming only my kids were.
The bedrooms were clean. I liked the fact that they left notes saying they cleaned under the beds - but the wallpaper in the rooms were peeling, bathroom was standard tub and tiny hard to manoeuvre around taking shower.
Beds were flimsy too soft. i have stayed at other Marriots where you can adjust the beds they didnt have this type here. Pillows were very flat and only 2 provided - used to seeing pillow shams and quilts on bed they didnt have it. I tried to sleep but it was difficult when the bed was soft and pillow was flat - i thought it was only my complaint but my husband and kids said the same thing too.
The thermostat wasnt working properly - room was too hot throughout the night. We adjusted it to the coldest setting but it was sweltering inside and the night was cool outside so it wasnt a heatwave outside - so that made the stay uncomfortable. our room was on the 7th floor and facing the banquet halls and we could also hear all nice the furnace or boiler room which was loud.
Again the hotel was nice - a bit pricey for what it was worth and i have to say i have been to better Marriots but this is Buffalo/Niagara area - tends to have a high volume of travellers in the area and i dont think many hotels are better so it was nice considering.
oh there was free wifi too which was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firstimersToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. if at anytime you have an issue with your HVAc unit, as sometimes mechanical devices will fail, please let us know so we can address for you. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Top class,great staff,great food,great rooms, everything you need and more. Staff are always ready and able to help, breakfast is amazing, really nice bar area after the upgrades were done, lots of space and a huge lounge area :)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. The Marriott Great Lobby is a wonderful place to relax and enjoy some great food and spirits. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family and I stayed here on Saturday, August 9th. The hotel staff was very friendly and overall the hotel was clean and nice. The kids loved the indoor/outdoor pools which connect so they had fun just swimming inside and out. There's a very nice bar area in the lobby and also a Starbucks/gift shop which was convenient for a quick breakfast in the morning. The hotel is about 15 minutes from Niagara Falls and there's plenty of shopping/restaurants in the area. We were simply staying here a night before heading to Canada but had a good experience and would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 625toddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. There are many great associates that want our guests to have the best experience possible. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I have been staying at this location a couple nights per week for 5 years and have been very happy with the service, staff, and accommodations. The people really make the difference though. The front desk, bar tenders, and restaurant employees are alway pleasant and extremely helpful. Never had a bad stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff and we are glad you had the opportunity to experience e the Buffalo Marriott way. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We came here for a Bengali convention, so our families usually expected the same bland South Asian food that we were so accustomed to. But it was a nice surprise and delight for some of us, and especially me that I was served such delicious dinners and desserts that wasn't rice, rice and more rice. The workers are very nice, kind and patient. The kitchen team serves very good food. I don't know about the hotel itself as a whole, but the ballroom occasions are very good service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Our banquet operation is ranked in the top 50 of all Marriott's in the country and we are glad you had the opportunity to experience it. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The staff here is great. i have been staying at this hotel for over 4 years now. I travel to Buffalo about once a month. The staff is great. Elizabeth in room service is such a wonderful server. Her attitude and friendly outgoing personality makes me want to keep coming back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Elizabeth is a great ambassador for the hotel and Buffalo in general. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: £100 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, a centrally located hotel in Amherst, New York situated off the 290 expressway, within walking distance of the State University of New York at Buffalo North campus. Our Buffalo hotel is also moments from Niagara Falls, Buffalo Niagara International Airport and the waterfront in downtown Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing