We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Toronto, Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 25 April 2009

While some past reviews on this site are on the negative side, I must admit that I was a little apprehensive in staying here as well. My stay was by far one of the most comfortable, enjoyable and in direct proximity to a plethora of shopping malls. The main purpose of our stay was shopping, and it truly was a treat to come back to a modern, comfortable, spacious and clean room after a long day on our feet. The rooms have clearly been updated and reflect a modern, cozy feel with flat-screen televisions, granite entryway flooring and beautiful bedding. The gym is beautiful, as is the pool. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowangel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    326
    133
    37
    40
See reviews for
273
164
35
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2009

So I checked in here and was expecting something pretty bad. I was blown away by the attentive staff. The hotel seems entirely updated. I checked in early and got a great room on the 10th floor. The lounge was clean and bright. The Hotel is right off the expressway and although it's not so pretty it is very easy to connect to points within Buffalo and also the NYS Thruway to get over to Rochester or points further East.
I spent 4 nights here and thought it was a great property.
I ate at the Houligans? resturant twice and was satisfied with the meal and the service both times.
My only criticism was that gap under the room door seemed a bit large, and at times the hallway noise would come into the room. Being on the 10th floor seemed to limit the traffic and noise, but I wonder how it would be on busier floors.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windsor999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marriott-Mgt, Hotel Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, 6 April 2009
Thanks for taking the time to write a response regarding your stay in Buffalo. We appreciate your kind words about our attentive staff as Four Star service is one of our goals. Like most hotels the gap under the door helps with air flow in your guest room as well as in the guest corridors. The goal is to keep the air flowing all around the building to provide the best air quality for both customers and employees.
Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2009

Rooms were upgraded with a flat screen and modernly decorated. Beds were very comfortable and room was very clean.

Would definitely stay here again.

Location was close to shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We are regular visitors to Buffalo, and this is usually one of our favorite places to stay. It's a nice hotel, with nice amenities, and it's in a great location. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and remodeling has spruced up the property.

Unfortunately, on a visit over the Christmas holidays, we had a serious problem.

On Christmas night, thieves broke into our vehicle, stealing about $500 in items. The staff was sympathetic when we reported the incident, but their initial responses were disturbing: one clerk immediately asked, "You were parked in the Red Roof Inn lot, right?" (Red Roof is next door to the Marriott, but it would be quite a hike to park in that lot instead of the Marriott lot). After we asked him to contact the police, another clerk said, "They should be here in a couple of minutes. They usually respond quickly when we call them about stuff like this."

The cops told us that vehicle break-ins are common in and around the University at Buffalo campus, which is a block away from the Marriott. They also said that the Marriott lot is easy prey for theives, because the hotel has no cameras in the lot, little overnight security, and the guest parking area is tucked behind the hotel, at least a hundred yards from the front desk.

The hotel is not designed for guest security. The guest rooms are located in a tower at the back of the complex, separated from the front desk by ballrooms, restaurants, courtyards, and exercise area. Doors at the back of the complex, convenient to the elevators and the guest rooms, are not secure: anyone can wander in.

I really like this hotel. It's a nice place to stay. But it really stinks to have your car burglarized on Christmas Day, and it really stinks that a big corporation like Marriott doesn't do more to ensure the safety of its guests.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Getting Robbed
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CortMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

First, I would like to mention that I am a Platinum with Marriott hotels. They did upgrade me to the concierge floor....unfortunately, it seems that every one else was upgraded also. I was there on business and the check-in was fast and efficient. The room itself was standard marriott. The bathroom was microscopic in size. I had to change my room 2 times because of hallway noise the first time and my "neighbor" attempting to break in to my room through the locked adjoining door the second time. The other downside is that the front desk people were hesitant of moving me until they saw I was a platinum member. Then their attitude changed. The food in the restaurant was very good and was the location. Overall, this was an OK hotel but be aware that the walls are paper thin and you can hear your neighbors conversation and snoring.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rentadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

This is a nice clean hotel. We stayed for two nights during a shopping weekend, and the renovated room was very nice and very clean. Also, we heard absolutely no construction noise.

The restaurant off the lobby also had great food at reasonable prices.

Only two complaints; upon returning to our room one day, the cleaning staff had not pulled the door closed, so it was not "latched" and left unlocked. Also, the heater in the room may well have been the noisiest I have ever had; actually woke us up when it came on.

Other than those two issues, it was a good stay.

  • Liked — Clean, large room
  • Disliked — Noisy Heating System
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToSquareBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night to visit Niagara Falls. The hotel was under construction, however we weren't affected by noise at all. The staff were friendly and helpful about local restaurants to eat nearby in walking distance, and even offered to drive us anyway we wanted to go in the area. The room was a good size, bathroom on the small side but not a problem.

  • Liked — free internet
  • Disliked — Difficlt parking due to construction vehicles
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iantess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Property: Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Address: 1340 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14221-2992
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing