We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Smelly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty and Smelly”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

After checking in we left for other activities without really doing a good room inspection. Upon return we found hair all over the blanket on the bed. Front desk provided "clean" linens if we changed them. These seemed like they were not really clean either, but thought we'd give it a try. After stripping the bed, found more hair and dried body fluids on the sheets and mattress pad. Demanded our money back and left immediately. Don't stay here if you have a choice and check everything if you do.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BfloJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    18
    10
    14
See reviews for
30
18
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I booked this hotel through priceline express deals and got it for around 70 bucks during peak summer season. So we didn't have much expectations to begin with and actually was surprised it came with a Kitchen. Location wise, not bad, the hotel is just off the highway and is 30 mins from the falls. Internet was free and pretty faster than most of the hotels i had stayed so far. Breakfast is ok, just few muffin varieties and oatmeal packs, with coffee and tea. Now for the bad part - Vessels in the kitchen were not clean. And also the rooms looked quite old and the carpets were dirty. Considering that it was shown as a 2 star hotel, it more than matched our expecations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamilPayani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

First time staying in this hotel chain. We had a queen room - bed seemed smaller than a queen. We liked the kitchen and there was room enough. The price was right - we usually stay at a Days Inn - this was less expensive by $100 for this trip. We would try this again another time.
Access is a little difficult as there is no light for a left hand turn

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you liked appreciated your kitchen. I'm also glad to hear that you were able to save money on your trip by staying with us. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for sharing. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

First let me start out by saying that the staff here is very good, nice and friendly overall, I just think there needs to be a review of the cleaning policies, both of the towels and linens themselves as well as the bathroom and other areas of the actual room. Upon checking in we always inspect the room first for cleanliness, we found feces on the left side of the toilet-on the bowl, next to the seat. Rather than calling the front desk or after hours person (as there is no front desk person after 11 p.m. here) I decided to take some Clorox wipes I had with me and clean it up myself. I didn't want to have to wait until someone could come to the room and clean it, it was already 11 p.m.

We then found spots of varying colors on the towels-black, blue and some red. They did smell washed (you could smell the bleach), but why not toss them if they have stains on them??? So we requested additional towels from the front desk the next morning, which we were given, and we found some with more spots on them. So we just used the ones that looked clean during our stay.

On the blanket on our bed (the mattress of which was very firm by the way, a bit too firm for us) we found what looked to be like body hairs, of different colors. Needless to say, we threw that on the floor and never used it during our 3 night visit.

We had another guest with us that was sleeping on the pull out sofa bed. The bed itself wasn't too bad, not great, but hey, it's a sofa bed right, but we had another issue with the blanket. This time it was the odor, it smelled like someone had just used it to wipe themselves with, very bad. It was fresh out of a tied, clear bag from the cleaning lady, meaning just washed!! So, we took it down to the front desk and requested another one. They told us they didn't have any more at this time and to check back in the morning. We did do that and were given another one that looked and smelled fine.

This was a lot to put up with during a 3 night stay, and believe me, we tried to go somewhere else, but everything in the area was booked solid, so we put up with it because we had to. But given the chance, we would have been out of there after the first night. So, just make sure to inspect everything upon your arrival.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryaneoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about the friendliness of our staff; however, we would like to apologize for the cleanliness issues you have brought to our attention. Your comments were reviewed by our staff, and we will refocus our efforts on these key areas to ensure that your experience is not repeated.

We are grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to us at ahm@extendedstay.com. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
463 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Not worth the full price they charge. I booked this hotel through priceline Express Deals so didn't know which hotel will I be getting. Overall hotel was Ok some pros and some cons but not worth the $100 a night rate.

Location: The hotel is located in a nice area having restaurants, Walmart and Boulevard Mall close by.

Room: The room is of decent size with a small kitchen and a small washroom. They do not provide shampoo and only Bar soap is available. Also room service does not come until you leave, as they didn't show up on my 3 day stay. There is no proper closet just merely a space in the wall with a curtain. They also do not have a safe in the room. They also don't have any Kind beds but I was told they have queen which felt more like a double, was ok to sleep in but not the best.

Reception: the folks at the reception were good and friendly. but there are always people just sitting around the reception lobby area for no good reason.

Breakfast: Don't expect anything much on breakfast as its grab and go. They have tea, Coffee, packet oatmeal, few bars, some apples and oranges. Usually its pretty much done if you are not really early.

Wifi: The wifi was really good in the room and didn't have any problem.

Parking: There was enough parking around the hotel for guest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We appreciate the kind comments about our friendly staff and our free Wi-Fi; however, we apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We will be working to improve our hotel to ensure we are always meeting our guests' expectations.

We really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, at ahm@extendedstay.com, should you wish to discuss this further. We do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Hotels location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

For the price, the motel was fine. There was a very nice kitchenette with full fridge, toaster but the room itself was basically just room enough for two beds. no sitting chair etc. There are no amenities like shampoo and the towels were a bit dull. It did seem like there were lots of families staying here and possibly people living there but they all seemed polite enough and not loud. There is also no place to sit either in the lobby area or outside the main doors which seemed odd. not a bid deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your fully equipped kitchen; however, I do apologize that the room did not fully meet your expectations. Your feedback will be helpful to us as we continually work to improve our hotel. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay America location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stayed along with my family and another friends family in two seperate rooms.
overall the stay was OK, for that cost we had invested. Rooms were good and well maintained.
The receptionist was not very helpful. we had toilet overflow problem, for which the receptionist said, they dont have a maintenance person available immediately, we had to wait for some time (delaying our travel to niagara falls) before it got fixed ultimately.
Breakfast is pathetic. dont count on it.

Room Tip: if you can spare some more money, then choose better hotels nearer to Niagara falls (if you are visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surya c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Your comments in regards to the value of your guestroom are much appreciated; however, we were disheartened to read that our staff did not provide you with the quality service that you deserve. We discussed your comments with our staff to ensure that we are always providing our guests with the best service possible.

Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. Should you wish to discuss this further, please contact us directly, at ahm@extendedstay.com. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 16 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
1.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst

Property: Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst
Address: 125 Inn Keepers Ln, Amherst, NY 14228-3531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Extended Stay America Amherst
Extended Stay Amherst
Amherst Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing