We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here as overnight as a flight crew. Wonderful room, looked like just recently updated. Staff was friendly and very helpful ! Wish I could have stayed longer ! Very comfortable bed !!! Shuttle drivers were very polite and friendly. Will definitely stay here if I ever get to Buffalo on personal travel. Beautiful decor in all aspects.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank HeidiandCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

Excellent Marriott Courtyard. Very well operated, very clean, friendly staff. As much as I prefer to stay at Courtyard, this unit is one of the best I have visited. My only gripe is that I preferred the older style of Courtyard breakfast with the custom omelets. However, the new bistro style facility is attractive, provides evening service, and seems popular. You will need a car or taxi. No nearby restaurants if you want to dine out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quality_Evaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I tried to arrange a park, fly, and stay at this hotel and they were difficult to deal with. Spoke to 2 people at front desk and said it wouldn't be a problem. When I went to book, the manager said I had to stay at the hotel on outward leg of trip or else couldn't park there. Manager was unhelpful, difficult and unapologetic. Suggested I stay somewhere else! Last time I checked, hotels are in the hospitality industry and most successful businesses will accommodate their guests especially when they are reward loyalty members. Can't believe how much time I wasted dealing with this hotel. Will not book Marriot again,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Location, location, location! This hotel is close to Buffalo and Niagara Falls, and that is what made it so attractive.

We stayed on the top floor (4th) and it was very quiet, even though the hotel is just off I-290. We arrived a bit earlier, but a room was made available to us. Very, very, clean, and welcoming. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

Even though there is nothing of interest in the immediate area surrounding the hotel (some car dealerships) it is on Sheridan Avenue, just a few minutes from a Mall, and lots of restaurants. Again, great location: 15 minutes to downtown Buffalo, and 15 minutes to Niagara Falls.

Our only issue was with the toilet: It is of the type where you must hold the lever down until it is done flushing.

There is a gym, an indoor pool, a patio with tables, and other amenities that we did not use because of our schedule.

If I plan a trip in that area, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evaristo_Lobato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently stayed here while attending a softball tournament in the area. We tend to stay with the Marriott name, but we were a little disappointed this time in the overall value of this hotel. We stayed here because we got a group rate and it kept the team together. The group rate was the most expensive we have paid all year, but with the proximity to the fields where the tournament was being held and the number of teams attending, we don't expect to find any great rates. What made this more disappointing was that breakfast is not included. There is a "bistro" in the hotel where you can get food, but the it was pricey and not open until 7am. The area around this bistro was very nice and a great place to gather at night. Additonally, there was a nice area to sit outside that had a fire pit. The rooms were clean and decent sized. One of the things I did like about this hotel is that the hair dryer is NOT attached to the wall in the bathroom. It sounds silly, but it is much nicer to have the flexibility to dry one's hair some place other than in the bathroom thus allowing someone else access to the bathroom. It was nice to have a refrigerator in the room which was good sized, but no microwave (not the end of the world). We would probably stay here again if we couldn't get a better rate at another nearby hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckoranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Having flown in from Fort Lauderdale via Detroit, experienced mis connections and delays at Detroit, this was a welcome stop for the end of a long day.
Rooms were large enough for us, had an on site laundry and meals/bar area.
Saturday night was very noisy due to a girls soccer team staying in house, but being on the top floor sorted this out.
An airport shuttle is provided but you need to call the hotel to arrange this.
Free in room wifi is available along with local TV channels.

It is a little out of town, so to do the Falls you will need a rental car.
Enterprise Rentals is next door but not open on Sundays, so I used the shuttle back to the airport and got a rental from Dollar Rentals who I have used previously.

Good drive to Niagara Falls, the Canadian side, the roads are a nightmare, signage back to US border is non existent and many detours in place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We booked here with a hockey team; original booking was for 2 rooms with 2 double beds and a cot; cancelled one room but needed 2 double beds; what we got was one king with a pull out sofa. For $152+ a night, this was NOT acceptable! They could not accomodate our needs but did give us 2 breakfasts and 2 free starbucks coffees for 1 morning; The onsite staff were great (error was at the booking department); they also allowed us late checkout. House keeping were great! Pool/spa way too small but outdoor patio area was nice. On site dinner and mini store was VERY $$$. We usually stay at the Marriott on Millersport and that is where we will go back to next time, team or not! much bigger pool area and outdoor deck; better restuarants, etc

Room Tip: rooms a decent size and come with mini fridge; could hear the people above us running so i would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deneenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
1.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden Buffalo Williamsville
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University

Address: 4100 Sheridan Drive, Amherst, NY 14221 (Formerly Courtyard Buffalo Amherst)
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: £85 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Buffalo Amherst/University lets you relax and recharge while on the road. Our hotel in Buffalo, New York features spacious guest rooms and suites equipped with the perfect amenities for a pleasant stay like fluffy pillows, thick mattresses and luxurious linens. In our public spaces, enjoy morning and evening dining at The Bistro restaurant, swim in our indoor pool and hold meetings and conferences in our event spaces. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout our hotel, which sits conveniently close to University at Buffalo and even Niagara Falls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Buffalo Marriott
Buffalo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing