We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but extremely overpriced for what it offers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but extremely overpriced for what it offers”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

nice location, and above average service, but it was basic. The pricing level was not matching the services offered. You had to purchase breakfast separately which will add about $16 per person. The room had no microwave for heating baby food, and the room was at the end of the hall. I just feel that the price was NOT right. If location if not a must, I would have stayed by the hotels next to the airport or Galleria Mall.

Room Tip: Search for better pricing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimashqi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    75
    27
    2
    7
See reviews for
63
34
10
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had to come to Buffalo in a hurry for a family emergency and wanted a clean, decent place to stay. The Courtyard was the place – it was very clean and obviously had a major renovation as the facility was absolutely beautiful. The condition of the parking lot gave away that this is an older property - but once inside - wow!

The location is also great – right on Sheridan near Harlem and the Youngman is right there. If the traffic is kind you can even make a left turn out of the property – the entrance seems like an afterthought based on the location of the property – so watch out for the small Courtyard sign that tells you where to enter.

The courtyard is focused on the business traveler – you can tell by the boarding pass printing station by the elevators as well as - besides the standard USA Today newspapers - the stack of Wall Street Journals!

Being used to properties that supply breakfast it was a mild shock to see that the breakfast and dinner options were an additional charge! Families may find this prohibitive as the cost of the room is up there and coupled with the local taxes (that we’re all stuck with) and meal costs – a multiday stay can get up there quickly.

But if you are on business (with a per diem) – this would be a great place to stay. The lobby is amazing and the rooms are well appointed.

The “standard” King room we stayed in was quirky in the sense that the room itself was oversized – very nice – but you could not stand in the bathroom without the door being in the way – it opened just barely touching the toilet to open it to the bathtub. If you want to access the bathtub - you'll need to close the door. Not a showstopper but odd that the room was so spacious and the bath a bit shortchanged on space.

There was also a little area by the entrance to the bathroom where the refrigerator (no freezer and no microwave in our room - but some have them) was under a convenient counter – across from the closet. The Wi-Fi worked well even being at the end of the building on the top floor.

As a last minute traveler it was just the upbeat kind of place we needed – this is a beautiful place to stay if you have the budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Estaltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senoia, Georgia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as overnight as a flight crew. Wonderful room, looked like just recently updated. Staff was friendly and very helpful ! Wish I could have stayed longer ! Very comfortable bed !!! Shuttle drivers were very polite and friendly. Will definitely stay here if I ever get to Buffalo on personal travel. Beautiful decor in all aspects.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeidiandCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Excellent Marriott Courtyard. Very well operated, very clean, friendly staff. As much as I prefer to stay at Courtyard, this unit is one of the best I have visited. My only gripe is that I preferred the older style of Courtyard breakfast with the custom omelets. However, the new bistro style facility is attractive, provides evening service, and seems popular. You will need a car or taxi. No nearby restaurants if you want to dine out. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quality_Evaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I tried to arrange a park, fly, and stay at this hotel and they were difficult to deal with. Spoke to 2 people at front desk and said it wouldn't be a problem. When I went to book, the manager said I had to stay at the hotel on outward leg of trip or else couldn't park there. Manager was unhelpful, difficult and unapologetic. Suggested I stay somewhere else! Last time I checked, hotels are in the hospitality industry and most successful businesses will accommodate their guests especially when they are reward loyalty members. Can't believe how much time I wasted dealing with this hotel. Will not book Marriot again,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccameron333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, CT, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Location, location, location! This hotel is close to Buffalo and Niagara Falls, and that is what made it so attractive.

We stayed on the top floor (4th) and it was very quiet, even though the hotel is just off I-290. We arrived a bit earlier, but a room was made available to us. Very, very, clean, and welcoming. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

Even though there is nothing of interest in the immediate area surrounding the hotel (some car dealerships) it is on Sheridan Avenue, just a few minutes from a Mall, and lots of restaurants. Again, great location: 15 minutes to downtown Buffalo, and 15 minutes to Niagara Falls.

Our only issue was with the toilet: It is of the type where you must hold the lever down until it is done flushing.

There is a gym, an indoor pool, a patio with tables, and other amenities that we did not use because of our schedule.

If I plan a trip in that area, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evaristo_Lobato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamesville, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently stayed here while attending a softball tournament in the area. We tend to stay with the Marriott name, but we were a little disappointed this time in the overall value of this hotel. We stayed here because we got a group rate and it kept the team together. The group rate was the most expensive we have paid all year, but with the proximity to the fields where the tournament was being held and the number of teams attending, we don't expect to find any great rates. What made this more disappointing was that breakfast is not included. There is a "bistro" in the hotel where you can get food, but the it was pricey and not open until 7am. The area around this bistro was very nice and a great place to gather at night. Additonally, there was a nice area to sit outside that had a fire pit. The rooms were clean and decent sized. One of the things I did like about this hotel is that the hair dryer is NOT attached to the wall in the bathroom. It sounds silly, but it is much nicer to have the flexibility to dry one's hair some place other than in the bathroom thus allowing someone else access to the bathroom. It was nice to have a refrigerator in the room which was good sized, but no microwave (not the end of the world). We would probably stay here again if we couldn't get a better rate at another nearby hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckoranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.9 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University

Property: Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Address: 4100 Sheridan Drive, Amherst, NY 14221 (Formerly Courtyard Buffalo Amherst)
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and recharge when you reserve a room at Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University. To make your travels more convenient, our hotel provides complimentary airport transportation to and from Buffalo Niagara International Airport (BUF), located only 5 miles away. Once you arrive, grab a table and delight your taste buds at The Bistro, our in-house restaurant serving savory breakfast and dinner choices, as well as specialty Starbucks beverages and evening beer and wine. Relieve your stresses in casually cool guest rooms and suites, where you can comfortably dream on thick mattresses, fluffy pillows and luxurious linens. Business and leisure travelers alike will value free Wi-Fi to stay connected with family or co-workers. While on the road, keep active at our on-site fitness center and indoor pool. Just minutes away from our hotel, roam around the beautiful University at Buffalo campus, or head north and witness the iconic landmark of Niagara Falls. Book a stay now at our Courtyard hotel near Amherst, NY! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Buffalo Courtyard
Buffalo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing