We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleaning not done & constant disturbance by the housekeeper” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Toronto, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cleaning not done & constant disturbance by the housekeeper”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

I checked into this hotel with my family on December 23, 2013 and was surprised that there was absolutely no cleaning of the rooms that was done on December 24, 2013. When I complained to the front desk lady, I was told that the house person could clean it later. But, that was already 6:30 p.m. The front desk lady told me that the cleaning persons had knocked off from work at 12 noon. We were not notified about this prior to our leaving the room at around 12 noon on December 24, 2013.

On December 25, 2013 which was our checking out day, we had four door knocks starting from around 8 a.m. We told the lady that we were checking out and she could come after our checking out, however, she knocked on our door two more times; at around 9:30 and 11:09 a.m. This was in spite of that the cleaner's manager had also knocked on our door at around 10:30 a.m. Common sense would indicate that the front desk lady would know if the people have checked out or not. It was unbearable disturbance and that coming from personnel who hadn't cleaned the room when they were supposed to do so. This was appalling and a nightmare. Ridiculous. Insensitive, inconsiderate personnel and Hotel staff.

Room Tip: The personnel should notify guests about the cleaning schedule if there are days that they would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    75
    27
    2
    6
See reviews for
63
33
9
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The Courtyard Buffalo Amherst is a good hotel in an incredibly convenient area. The property is clean and quiet located on a main thoroughfare just outside of Buffalo, and a short trip to Niagara.

The two downfalls to this hotel are that it is difficult to find the entrance as the sign is small and the hotel is set quite far back from the road, the second is being on a main thoroughfare it can be busy and difficult to get in or out.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

we stayed in october to visit Niagara Falls, very convenient location, close to the park and the interstate. Very clean rooms, pleasant staff, reasonable price. Would stay there again. There is also Denny's very close to have a breakfast as it is a little overpriced in the hotel.

Room Tip: I was on the top 4th floor and it was very quite. Loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamforfuture79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Like all Courtyards, the place was spotless. Every single staff member was very friendly and helpful. Jess in the restaurant very helpful and the young woman that checked us on 10.12.13 around 7 pm. We were in town for the Bills game, don't ask. The hotel is less then 30 mins to the Ralph.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuffaloDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Me and family were there in July 2013, The rooms are extremely clean and very beautifully decorated. I only found it little expensive. I would have given it 5 star rating if they provide with breakfast also. But the staff and management everything was superb!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank guptanupama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stay here regularly when we visit Buffalo. They have recently renovated and redecorated. Everything is clean and modern. Rooms are large and nicely appointed. Wifi works well everywhere. Room rates have gone up substantially after the renovations. The complimentary morning coffee in the lobby has disappeared which is a disappointment. There is a coffee shop but if you arrive after 11am looking for coffee or muffins, they have shut down. Staff are always pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the entrance are quieter than overlooking the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OskieTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We had a large block of rooms for our son's wedding and could not have asked for more accommodating staff. Kathy Ramos was a joy to work with throughout our stay and the receptionists at the desk were professional and worked with our many requests. The location was extremely convenient to get to different areas in Buffalo.
The rooms were large, clean and very nicely decorated. Although the hotel was very near the freeway we did not hear any highway noise.
Being able to print out last minute addresses, boarding passes, and items relating to the wedding was great. Free Wi-Fi was also very helpful.
Although we did not take advantage of the outdoor space (beautiful) or the pool they both were very attractive.
The only minus was the lack of an included breakfast at the prices we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University

Property: Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Address: 4100 Sheridan Drive, Amherst, NY 14221 (Formerly Courtyard Buffalo Amherst)
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Buffalo Courtyard
Buffalo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing