We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandparents visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn University
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
“Grandparents visit”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were very good at recommending restaurants and giving directions. The room was well decorated and clean. The maid repaired the air directional device on the heating unit without being asked.

We will stay at the inn again when in Buffalo.

Room Tip: Book on line and book early. The rooms are taken quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for the review! I'm glad to know that everything during your stay from our friendly and helpful staff to our well-appointed, recently renovated rooms were up to and exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you as a guest again in the future and appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    120
    58
    18
    11
See reviews for
162
72
30
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I found the room clean enough and the bed comfortable. I appreciated having a fridge and mini coffee pot. The toilet was making weird noises but seemed to function fine. I recommend staying off the first floor since they had some kind of a flood and had a horrible musty smell. The hotel staff were doing the best they could with fans to air it out. A few days and its probably fine.
Their breakfast was good but that morning there was an Asian Bus Tour group that wiped the place out. There was no seating left, there was lots of pushing and shoving. I decided to just have coffee in my room. I felt bad for the staff because these people were rude. I watched as an older man emptied yogurts from the fridge into his wife's backpack until the entire shelf was bare. I do plan to stay again while in the area for business but the rates jump up $57 during University of Buffalo's move in & out days. Also, when you read the reviews, keep in mind that choice hotels gives 10,000 extra points for a positive review.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurnFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize that our breakfast area was so busy the morning you were here. We are in a great location so we are usually quite busy with all types of visitors to the area. I'm glad that you enjoyed your room and that everything including cleanliness met your expectations. We did have a small issue with a leak the day you stayed and has since been taken care of. I believe the promotion you are speaking of is Choice Hotels will reward Choice Privilege members enough points (8,000) to redeem for a free night stay upon staying 2 separate times during the time period of February 27 - May 14th. I do hope that you were able to take advantage of this great promotion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed for three nights. Great breakfast buffet, and welcoming reception with pizza and drinks on Tuesday night. A little noisy in the late morning/early afternoon because of the remodeling, but overall highly recommended. For UB visitors, it's a great location, with better rates than nearby hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PB20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for your review! So glad that you were able to enjoy our "guest appreciation" night that we have on Tuesday nights September through May. I apologize for any noise you may have experienced due to our renovations, however, I'm glad to know that it wasn't too intrusive and won't make you hesitate to come back to stay with us on your next visit to the University at Buffalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Allegany, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

we stayed for two nights and it was the quietest place ever. the staff was friendly and courteous. the breakfast was all you would ever need. will stay again. the place is being remodeled but it does not interfere with anything. looking good!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kabu04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for the review of your recent stay. I'm happy that you noticed all of the great work we are doing at the hotel and that it did not interfere with your stay. We should be wrapping up the renovations very soon and all of the staff here are excited to show off our beautiful new rooms to our guests. We hope you come back to see us the next time you are in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

I was here during Spring break to go on a tour at the University at Buffalo and i needed to stay overnight! This hotel had a great rate and looked very clean :) it was near UB too so the location was good enough for me

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very convenient to the UB north campus so I'm glad that our hotel worked out so well for you during your tour of the campus. We hope you will stay with us again should your travels bring you back to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here 2 nights in April on business. Highly recommend the property. The rooms are clean and recently remodeled. Great breakfast buffet and very courteous staff. Convenient location right off the internet. Manager Sue was extremely helpful and welcoming at check-in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_J_PGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for your great review of our hotel! We are happy to hear that we are a great value to you as a business traveler and we look forward to having you stay with us the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hotel is really convenient for SUNY Buffalo and has gone through major face lift. Great value! It's my first choice when I'm in the area. Very clean, HD Flat screen tv, fridge/microwave and free breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Glad to know that we are your first choice when in our area to visit the University at Buffalo. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.2 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Property: Comfort Inn University
Address: 1 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amherst
#2 Business Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located to both Downtown Buffalo and Niagara Falls and directly adjacent to the University at Buffalo North Campus, the Comfort Inn University is the place to stay when visiting the Amherst/Buffalo, NY area. All of our rooms include flat screen televisions, refrigerators, coffee makers, iron/boards and hairdryers. Our guests enjoy the Comfort Inn signature breakfast "Your Morning Breakfast" that includes...hot eggs, sausage and/or bacon, make your own fresh waffles, yogurts, fruit, breads, bagels, muffins/danish, cereals and more! Take a soak in our indoor heated pool, workout in our fitness room and surf the web with our fast high speed wireless internet. We look forward to your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Amherst
Comfort Inn Amherst
Amherst Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing