We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disgrace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bedouin Moon Village
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A disgrace”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I would like to start saying that I have been in many hostels before and therefore I knew what to expect when booking the Bedouin Moon Village, well I was wrong!
Staying in a hostel does not mean you have to put up with complete disorganization, dirt, unbelievably small rooms and a horrible breakfast.
We arrived in the hostel at 5 a.m. and despite having agreed the late arrival by e-mail, and having paid also for the day before to make sure we had the room on early arrival, nobody was waiting for us. The room was really small and the air conditioning was so noisy that it sounded like a plane taking off in the room, but we had the pleasure to share the room with several kind of spiders and bugs.
The breakfast consist in half apple (turned brown), few wrapped snacks that you can buy in any petrol station, and a cup of coffee that made us sick on our very first morning in Aqaba. We decided to spend the day in a private beach (the Bernice Beach club) quite close to the hostel. You pay 15JD to get in, but at least you can wear a bikini and take a decent shower (as the one we had in the hostel could not be considered as one).
On our second morning we had to skip breakfast, as at 9 am there was still nobody up to serve it (although there was not really much to prepare) and we had to leave for our Wadi Rum tour. Also paying the bill was a challenge… we had to wait for the owner to get up, credit card machine was not working, and when we gave him the cash we gave us bottles of water back instead of change as he did not have any.
Overall a very bad experience, I would definitely not recommend this hotel, even to the ones travelling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lallina1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    35
    8
    4
    19
See reviews for
19
33
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Be careful of the Nemo Dive Aqaba dive center located at Bedouin Moon Village. The hotel is good and has great food but the dive center is NOT an official PADI dive shop even if they claim they are :( Unfortunately I can not recommend the dive shop but the hotel is nice. Dive shop gets 1 star, the hotel 3.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aqaba hotels

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Hotel is situated 50 m from the beach. They have nice rooms, staff is friendly and especially Ronnie the manager will try to help you with everything. Food is ok but prices are a bit higher than in Aqaba restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grega s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulhouse, Alsace, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Room ok
Bathroom ok
Staff very nice
The car park is big
The swimming pool is perfect

near two of the more beautiful diving spot of the world: Japanese garden and tank site (see on google)

Corals Creek at 150 meters

Diving center

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

First thing that must be said- it is not a hotel. It is a hostel. Therefore you must match your expectations.You have to realize it is not a fancy place, but a nice quite little hostel that cost accordingly. Rooms are basic and clean. there is an Air conditioner that works good. the shower and toilet are no more than ok, but for us it was enough just to wash ourself quickly before going to sleep. The place is full of charm, it has many cool communal ares where one can relax, read a book and party at nights without disturbing the other guest who wants to sleep. There is a small pool that served us even more than the beach because of the strong winds that were blowing when we were there. the staff were very nice (Ronnie and Liz!) and helpful when we needed them. One night we had a problem with the A/C so the suggested to move us to another room but eventually they managed to fix it. the breakfast is just fine, you get an omelet, some veggies, tahini and bread, do the job but no more.
I would defiantly recommend this place for couples and families who want to have good and relaxing time without spending a lot of money. No doubt you get good value for money and I'm sure i will get back there soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eran t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

It is good located, just 2 minutes from red sea beach; 12 km from Aqaba centre hostel.Good money for value before you make agreement (receptionist Ronnie was very pleasant and smart to make you like him and hostel and book the place); after you come to check out- your bill for the stay becomes much bigger!!!We started to remind Ronnie that we stayed in this place only because the stay price we agreed was 25 per night...we even cancelled another place in Aqaba for this reason...he made a scene, started to shout trying to accuse me and my friend of cheating , although it was another way round.
In the end, the owner of the place made final decision - 25.Other bills - like dinner and lunch, we have noticed some JD has been added to each, but did not want to argue anymore and end our holiday with so much drama.For example, the price for scuba diving lesson - 30, on the bill 35:)
Don't be surprised if breakfast is not served starting from 8:30, it starts when the guy who is responsible wakes up and comes to hostel.You could wait for him around one hour or more and if you ask the owner then you can expect your breakfast - you will get rude :SOON!

This place has a lot of charm and cosines and it's a shame staff just simply trying to rip you off and has no genuine willing to make your stay pleasant.If they would have another attitude towards costumers, I would come back to this place again, unfortunately - never ever again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MoonLight999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

NE CONFONDEZ PAS LE "Bédouin MOON Village" ET LE "Bédouin GARDEN Village" !
Ils sont l'un en face de l'autre ! Le "Moon" est gardé par une famille complète de Jordanien, le "Village" a une équipe Internationale (surtout au clud de plongée).

L'ambiance est familiale, et la chaleur des Jordaniens était exceptionnel (mais nous étions avec une petite fille donc c'est peut-être pour cela) ! La chambre est propre (la tv ne marche pas), la salle de bain était basique mais propre ! Le filet d'eau de la douche était très court (mais c'est un classique dans le désert).
Le patron, l'homme au chapeau, nous a vraiment très bien reçu - quelques membres de sa famille travaille pour lui, ambiance familiale apprécié.
Nous avons été vraiment super bien reçu, moi, ma fille (3 ans) et sa maman. Le club de plongée est très bien (équipement très correct). Un bémol pour la cuisine (long à attendre, et une carte pas très intéressante), le petit déjeuner est relativement correct.
La plage publique est en face, de l'autre coté de la nationale, c'est une plage publique donc pas très propre et elle est très ventée. Pour les femmes, très difficile de s'y prélasser en maillot 2 pièces et seule ! Préférez d'aller à la piscine !

DON'T CONFUSE THE "MOON Bedouin Village" AND "Bedouin Village GARDEN!"
They are opposite each other! The "Moon" is managed by a complete family of Jordanian, the "Village" has an international team (especially in clud diving).

We were really really well hosted, me, my daughter (3 years old) and his mother. The family atmosphere is exceptional! The room was clean (the tv doesn't work), the bathroom was basic but clean! The trickle of water in the shower was very short (but it's a classic in the desert).
We really very well hosted by the boss (the man with the hat) - some family members of him work for him -> family atmosphere appreciated.
The diving-club is ok (equipment clean). The kitchen (long to wait, and the menu was not very interesting), the breakfast is very correct !
The public beach is across the other side of the main road, it's a public beach so not very clean and it's very windy. For women, it's very difficult to be in a swimsuit! Prefer to go to the pool!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stayfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.0 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#6 of 40 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.0 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.0 mi away
Amir Palace Hotel
Amir Palace Hotel
#13 of 40 in Aqaba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedouin Moon Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Moon Village

Property: Bedouin Moon Village
Address: South Beach, Aqaba, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedouin Moon Village 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bedouin Moon Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedouin Moon Village Hotel Aqaba
Bedouin Moon Village Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing