We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel has great service, clean comfortable rooms, and great views of the Red Sea. The location was easy to walk to restaurants and scuba diving shops. I had a traditional pedicure in the spa and was a little underwhelmed. They had me sitting in just a hotel room type chair with a portable type water thing to soak my feet in. Not exactly what I expected from Kempinski but the girl who did the pedicure was great.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventuresabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
There are newer reviews for Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed at the Kempinski for 10 nights in a Panoramic Room. The room was great with a large bed, flat screen TV, a bathroom with a large glass wall adjacent the bath and a separate shower cubical with a large shower head which had plenty of power. There was even a volume dial in the bathroom so you could listen to the TV. There was a small fridge that contained complimentary drinks such as orange juice, Pepsi, 7 up and beer. The cupboard adjacent had a small tube of crisps.

The room was cleared twice a day and the drinks for the fridge were top up everyday, although we had to phone reception a couple of days to inform them our fridge had not been restocked.
Whilst we stayed at the hotel we did some scuba diving with Sinai Divers, who were based in Tala Bay, which is a 20 minute drive away – but only had to go to Tala Bay the first day to sign paperwork etc. The dive boat is docked at the Marina 5 minute drive from the Kempinski Hotel.
There is a main pool which is narrow but very long and a large Jacuzzi. We never got to sit around the pool area as the beds always had towels/books on them from the early hours of the day, so we resorted to the beach area, which was still very nice, plenty of clean beach towels were available. The pool/beach staff were very helpful.

Breakfast was very good and after a couple of visits the staff remembered our names as we entered.

We did have a meal at the Fish In, which was very good food (although expensive) just over 100 dinar for two main courses and three cocktails, but unfortunately our candle lit dinner was not very relaxing as we had a table next to us with a couple of kids that had noisy electronic games and crying half the time. The room service food was very good.

Overall I was very impressed with the service, staff and quality of the hotel would definitely recommend the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Distant_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

After doing the sights of Jordan, we decided to stay 3 days relaxing in Aqaba. We arrived after a 4 hour jeep tour of Wadi Rum, so our clothing was a bit grubby and covered in desert sand. On arrival we was offered a refreshing lemon drink and a cold face towel. We were then taken to our room by the receptionist and she explained to us how to work things in our room.

The room is big and spacious, with a free minibar consisting of a number of soft drinks and 2 cans of Amstel (no wine) which is replenished daily. Balcony is of a good size and nice view of the sea (which is spoilt by the cargo ships in the working port). There is even scales in the bathroom for those watching their weight. As mentioned in previous reviews, there is a large window separating the bathroom and bedroom and although there is a blind, when the lights are on you can still see into the bathroom. This was not a problem for us, but it will be for people who like their privacy.

Drinks were pricey (but the best mojito I have tasted) and we only had lunch at the beach, which was very tasty. For cheaper drinks head to Rovers Return which is just past the Movenpick. There is a huge variety for breakfast with something for everyone.

The Kempinski is the best hotel I have stayed in and was the 5 star luxury we were looking for at the end of our trip. Wish we could have stayed for longer!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I travel to Aqaba frequently for work and always choose the Kempinski. The service is excellent and attentive. The breakfast buffet is truly top notch. The baked goods are all fresh and taste like you're in Europe. The beds and pillows are by far the most comfortable I've experienced to date. The food is consistent and exceeds expectations! The Pizza by the beach and the light fare menu are also very impressive. We also enjoyed a movie night one summer on the beach. The hotel manages to host creative and well coordinated events.

The view of the ocean and palm trees while getting your spa treatment is a nice touch.

This hotel has set the standard for excellence. I'll always recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carnaj2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We travelled with our 16 month old son. The first days it was great. On the third day it suddenly was forbidden to take our son to the Jacuzzi and after asking the pool manager we were told it was all for our safety, but finally he made it our decision. Next thing we were not allowed to use the umbrella on the beach because of the wind, even tough a couple of other umbrellas were in use... of course for our safety. The last thing was about food we brought with us and wanted to eat on our balcony... We didn't want to order from "in room dining" because our son was already sleeping and it would have been too loud, so we decided to get some food from outside (and we didn't want to eat the same thing three days in a row). When my husband was about to enter the hotel he was told that he had to go to the reception with the food. They tried to tell him that it was not allowed and he had to get pretty impolite, which was very annoying during vacation. After that he was told that it was no problem to get food from outside but it was of course only for our safety. Overall we had a nice stay till thursday, then lots of very loud arabic guests came and spoilt the fantastic breakfast buffet, occupied the pool area and the shouting in the hallways and unfortunately in the neighbor room made our son wake up several times.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

On arrival, discovered that our booked Panoramic room had an adjoining door to the room next door! We could hear every sound from our neighbours room, even though the door was locked. Having booked 3 nights here, we went to complain to reception. We were informed all Panoramic rooms are like this for families etc. We were a couple, so didn't need that facility. After some discussion we were given alternative accomodation and had a fantastic time at this wonderful resort.

Room Tip: Already mentioned above.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nenims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Overall, a very good hotel, quick check in, clean, good service mainly because of the aziatic staff who are a real credit to the hotel, but we found the buffet in the evening not of a 5* standard. The food was cold, tasteless and dry. We went once to the buffet on our arrival and decided to eat somewhere else for the rest of our week. The fish inn a la carte restaurant at kempinski is great and recommended. Glad we didnt book half board..... We also found the beach rather small and not very attractive concerning the view and wather hygiene, the view is a harbor with giant oiltankers only a few 100 meters away from the beach. I would recomend the hotel if you like to visit some places like petra or wadi rum, but not for a beach holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelgiumReiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
8.3 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.4 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#23 of 40 in Aqaba
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: £138 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully situated on the white sandy beaches and azure waters of the Red Sea, The Kempinski Hotel Aqaba offers a transcendent sensory experience. With an array of culinary options, leisure activities, and top-tier pampering and perfectly at home within its picturesque surroundings, this resort is heaven to explorers and leisure seekers alike. Set against a stunning backdrop, the hotel combines the warmth of the Jordanians with the highest standards of a luxury European resort. Style is contemporary chic and the resort’s fascinating tear drop design guarantees sea views from every room, complemented by luxurious facilities and state-of-the-art technology. There are three lounges and three eateries to choose from serving everything fromextensive gourmet buffets, delicious fresh seafood and an assortment of tantalising treats. At night the hotel blossoms with wondrous façade lighting, paving the way for an unforgettable evening of cocktails and malts, around the sunken pool or at Aqua Lounge, a favourite with romantics due to its gorgeous views of the Red Sea.For pampering and healing both inside and out, Kempinski The Spa offers a journey of tranquility with treatments using an assortment of luxurious elixirs and ingredients. With a fully equipped gym overlooking the ocean, the resort offers everything your body needs to unwind and rejuvenate. It goes without saying that the diving here is incredible and guests can explore the largest collection of natural soft corals in the world when delving into the glittery, calm waters. Aqaba is a warm and inviting city, fringed with palm trees, shopping and a vast array of leisure, sporting and entertainment facilities. Ideal for year round sunshine, Kempinski Aqaba is the perfect location to explore all the delights that Jordan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing