We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its very good but could have been better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

its stylish Poor room lightning) lovely staff and lovely beach and generous give aways such as free minibar (non alc ) so yes go there.
however; rooms not super clean (tell the manager to check under sofas in suites she may be surprised.
breakfast menu never changes and in 8 days it can become tiresome.
food service haphazard and friendly but sometimes inept.
all food we had overpriced and either over or under spiced
the chicken and veg soup with noodles
was a disaster no veg at all, that's 0 veg. the chicken was not cooked in soup. it was grilled chicken breast added after the fact to a non descript stock.
in town I would have walked away
still lovely resort and stay

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashtori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

As for the shortfalls you encountered, we would like to apologize for not being able to meet your expectation. Moreover, your comments have been shared with our concerned team members to ensure such incident do not occur in the future.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

My trip to Aqaba could have starter better, since my suitcase did not arrive with me in Aqaba (nothing to do with either Jordan or Aqaba but with my airline)
However the staff at Kempinsky helped me more then I ever could dream about! They cave me a clean T-shirt to wear, dental kit, shaving kit, comb, luffa kit and always with a smile and encouragement that my suitcase will turn up! Well, it did not and after two days I had to get a bathing suite (I had booked a trip to the Dead Sea) and the staff showed me where to go.
On New Years Day I was informed that my suitcase should turn up at Aqaba airport with Royal Jordanian and right away Kempinsky fixed a hotelcar and together with a bell boy we went there.
Without him I wouldn't have made it through the red tape at the airport.
The next day we were relaxing at the hotel beach and my "bad karma" continued....
My two goldenrings were missing in the sand, but thanks to a quickthinking security man they were found!

Hotel Kempinsky is the best hotel ever - and then I have not yet said anything about the room, breakfast or about the hotel in general.
Stay at Kempinsky Aqaba and you will met people who likes their job in an environment that is all luxurious! Stylish rooms where you can see the sea from the bathroom tub. A big variety for breakfast and a grand and welcoming lobby!
I would like to return tomorrow!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Karin,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A really luxurious hotel without being pretentious. Beautiful views from the rooms and the bathroom was a delight with the big window. The staff were extremely helpful without being overbearing or in your face. The beach area was lovely and clean with sand racked and rolled each night. The location is good being a few minutes walk from Aqaba. I was really impressed with the hotel. Staff managed to remember you name which given the size of the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Resovoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Resovoir,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Me and my family stayed here from 23rd to 25th December.

The hotel has a beautiful architecture both exterior and interior. The rooms are good too. But we found the rooms quite bland and the lighting was very bad.

The breakfast lacks variety. The chef making the eggs at the station takes a long time to make a simple omelette. On the first day , he sent me a burnt omelette ( it both , smelt and tasted , ash like ) , but it had already taken so much time and I was in a hurry , that I did not raise this issue up with the senior staff there.

Another flaw is the delay in response to simple requests made over the phone. We had to call multiple times for anything we wanted be it from the housekeeping or any other department.

The concierge is very efficient and the car from the Europcar office below , that dropped us to the Kempinski Ishtar Dead Sea was fabulous and the driver was very courteous.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puhup_Verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Puhup,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

For your comment regarding the orders via the telephone, we have raised this issue with our team to ensure better efficiency in handling guests requests.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We had a delightful 3 night stay at this brand new hotel. Our (standard) room was pretty large, with a balcony overlooking the sea. The bathroom had a separate shower cubicle, which is something I always lay great store by. The internet connection in the room was via cable, but it was very fast. Toilettries were the Kempinski own brand (ok). Breakfast deserves a special mention as it was extremely comprehensive, offering all sorts of cold cuts, pastries, an omelette station, different kinds of bread, etc. Freshly made orange, pineapple and grapefruit juices were also available. The service at the hotel was just perfect. We would like to mention the kindness and attentiveness of Lucia, at the concierge's desk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Simult,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I came for a business visit to Aqaba and the hotel was very good - nice clean room, sea view, free wifi worked well, and a great restaurant on site. I plan to come back for a visit with my wife some day and use as a base to visit Petra and Jerusalem. Hotel is very new and staff were very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank 369GerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear 369 Gerry,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

On behalf of the entire team of our hotel, we would like to thank you for the nice words you have described our hotel with in your review on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate such feedback which allows us to maintain our standard of excellence and most importantly, our guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for sharing you feedback about your stay in the Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards
The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We went to Jordan for 8 days in November 2013 and visited few popular cities including Amman, Petra, and Aqaba. Everything we experienced in Jordan was generally good, except one thing in Kempinski Hotel in Aqaba. We were trying to mail few postcards back to the U.S. before we checked out and went to the souvenir shop for stamps. Believe it or not, the guy running the souvenir overcharged us the postage since he thought we couldn't read the alphabets on Jordanian stamps. Of course we couldn't but, when we overpaid the postage and brought the postcards to the front desk at Kempinski, one clerk accidentally counted the postage in front of us. Once we realized we were overcharged by a dishonest businessman, we reported to the hotel right away. The front desk clerk went back to the souvenir shop with us and questioned the guy. Then the guy replied by a terrible lie, saying that he has to charge his "service fees" on the stamps. Come on! We went to more than 27 countries around the world, never ran into situations like this before. The guy said if we don't like him to charge service fees on our stamps, he could refund us. But we were about to check out in ten minutes and had no time to find another place for stamps (the front desk at Kempinski didn't sell any stamps at all!) So we paid the overpriced stamps anyway. After officially making the complaint to the manager at Kempinski, he said he will get back to our complaint soon, but he never did.

Lesson learned; if you ever plan to stay in Kempinski at Aqaba, don't trust the guy running the souvenir shop. He doesn't put the price tag on everything in his store, neither does he even tell you the truth value of stamps in his store. (Cheating on postage? Really?)

Also, the quality of custom service at Kempinski in Aqaba is very questionable to us. How come a 5-star hotel handles customer's complaints like this? Only sweet-talking such that you can leave their hotel? Jordan is losing tourists every year, and experiences like this in a 5-star hotel will certainly not help their reputation.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank 2013Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kempinski Aqaba R, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear 2013 Michele,

Sunny Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea,

We are disappointed to hear that you have encountered an unpleanted experience at the hotel with one of the souvenir shops that are rented at the hotel. Rest assured that your comment has been raised with the concerned people to ensure such behavior is properly corrected to provide our guests with the services they expect when they visit a lovely country like Jordan.

Once again, please accept our apologies and we look forward to keep welcoming you always in our beloved country, Jordan!

regards
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
8.3 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel by Swiss-Belhotel
0.6 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#18 of 41 in Aqaba
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: £126 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracefully situated on the white sandy beaches and azure waters of the Red Sea, The Kempinski Hotel Aqaba offers a transcendent sensory experience. With an array of culinary options, leisure activities, and top-tier pampering and perfectly at home within its picturesque surroundings, this resort is heaven to explorers and leisure seekers alike. Set against a stunning backdrop, the hotel combines the warmth of the Jordanians with the highest standards of a luxury European resort. Style is contemporary chic and the resort’s fascinating tear drop design guarantees sea views from every room, complemented by luxurious facilities and state-of-the-art technology. There are three lounges and three eateries to choose from serving everything from extensive gourmet buffets, delicious fresh seafood and an assortment of tantalizing treats. At night the hotel blossoms with wondrous facade lighting, paving the way for an unforgettable evening of cocktails and malts, around the sunken pool or at Aqua Lounge, a favourite with romantics due to its gorgeous views of the Red Sea. For pampering and healing both inside and out, Kempinski The Spa offers a journey of tranquility with treatments using an assortment of luxurious elixirs and ingredients. With a fully equipped gym overlooking the ocean, the resort offers everything your body needs to unwind and rejuvenate. It goes without saying that the diving here is incredible and guests can explore the largest collection of natural soft corals in the world when delving into the glittery, calm waters. Aqaba is a warm and inviting city, fringed with palm trees, shopping and a vast array of leisure, sporting and entertainment facilities. Ideal for year round sunshine, Kempinski Aqaba is the perfect location to explore all the delights that Jordan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing