We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring the Aqaba area”
Review of Arab Divers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arab Divers
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring the Aqaba area”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I wish all mid-range hotels would offer the value and quality of stay that this place does! Very clean, functional (both a fan and aircon in the room), with personal touch, decent food, really nice and helpfull staff. In addition, there is a small clean pool with a few sunbeds that is great option for relaxing at the hotel an afternoon or so. If you're not diving - the beach is about 15 min walk (which I believe is perfectly OK), but it is the public beach, i.e. not the cleanest and not the most tourist-women friendly, however, it does host the snorkeling sights (you can rent snorkeling equipment at the hotel). Just 3km south (cab should be cheap if you won't rent a car), you'll find the private beaches of the resorts where you can buy a 1-day pass (Moevenpick 21 JOD and Radisson 30 JOD). We were very happy with our day at Moevenpick and thought it was a great value to pay just for the fun stuff of the resort yet staying at a nice place much cheaper close by. Furthermore, I believe that the location of the hotel is better than the crowded center of Aqaba. All in all, if you're not looking for a fancy resort, just book this. :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsAdventurista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    100
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
46
115
54
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We went to Aqaba largely to learn to dive, and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay than International Arab Divers Village. The location was excellent, the staff absolutely brilliant, and the overall value unbeatable.

Angela was permanently approachable, and she and her colleagues did everything to make our stay a memorable one. Whether it was fresh towels, an extra pillow, or just a good chat and a laugh, Angie was a delight. Obada made us feel completely welcome, and Morad's knowledge of the area, its attractions, and diving in particular were all terrific.

And, as novice divers, we really couldn't have hoped for a friendlier, more knowledgeable or professional instructor than Paul. From the second he introduced himself to the moment he handed me my completed PADI Open Water certification, Paul made us feel safe, confident and permanently looked-after. Diving can be unsettling at times, especially when you've never tried it before, but Paul's impeccable personal skills meant that we were continually reassured and looking forward to the next challenge. He has vast experience, endless knowledge of the technical requirements of diving, and plenty of information about the diverse and delightful species the Red Sea has to offer, too.

International Arab Divers Village is not a 5-star hotel, and doesn't pretend to be one. It's a little rough around the edges, but its imperfections make it all the more charming. And you don't need a spa or haute cuisine when you're relaxing by the Red Sea, anyway. We found the accommodation itself basic but more than sufficient - the beds were comfortable, the air conditioning reliable, the food varied and tasty, and the shower hot and powerful.

If you want to learn to dive, this really is a fantastic option. It's well-located, good value, and comfortable - but the brilliant staff are what really make the difference. Thanks for everything, guys!

Andrew and Natalia

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southease78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Just stayed for a few nights - nice, clean room, friendly helpful staff. Good laid-back vibe, but nonetheless well run establishment. Great snorkelling and diving within easy reach. For the price, it was the best place we stayed in Jordan.
Make sure you bring beer with you - they don't sell it, but there's a fridge in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zer0_Gravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We really enjoyed our time there. The room was comfortable, clean and very peaceful at night. Staff was really friendly and food was good. The beach was 10 min away and we did not dive but really had a great time snorkelling. If like us you are not experienced snorkellers, do not hesitate to ask Khaled at the stall on the beach near Japanese Gardens to show you around.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amman
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I live in amman. I have tried about all the 25/45 euro hotels in the talal bay area: this is the one i go back to every time ! calm, clean, and really nice guys in charge. Obada and his father and brother are experienced and qualified divers, and most of all, available and always ready to adapt to your needs. The diving prices are practically the same all over Talal bay, which means relatively cheap. But the equipment available is the finest around ( and they have their own equipment, which is not the case in all hostels in the area). From snorkling to mixed oxygen ! The pool is recent and large, and the rooms are far more comfortable than any other equivalent hostel in the area. I walk to the beach in 10 minutes ( and not 20 !), and the food is good enough.
It is not as cosy as the Bedouin garden village, but it is cleaner, more quiet , and the rooms are far, far better for the same price !!! and the pool is a real pool, not a pond ! The bottom line is: if you are a diver, or a quiet guy or couple or family, go here. If you are a young, single, player, go to Bedouin garden village. I give it a 5 star grading in the 25/45 euro-a-room range.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh of the Seven Seas
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Most reviews are absolutely right to mention that this hotel is great!

First, don't forget that it is a 2-star hotel, but it goes much further!

Simple, but nice and spacious room! The bathroom is large, good shower, hot water!

We had dinner in the hotel every night we stayed in Aqaba, once we spent all day long with the tours to Petra, Wadi Rum and the city itself, so we were tired and wanted something at the hotel, no more drives or so. The menu is varied and we tried a lot of different dishes and we did enjoy them! Fresh, tasty and decently priced! During my first breakfast (simple, but good!) I mentioned that I liked to put mint leaves in my teas. From next morning on, there were mint leaves in every breaksfast, which was very kind of the staff, mostly Zaman! He works at the front desk, prepares the meals for dinner, gets a taxi, everything you need - by the way, Zaman, you do make a difference at the hotel! You are a great guy! Very polite, hard worker and kind! Thank you very much indeed for everything! - and by speaking of staff, that's another very positive detail about Intl Arab Divers Village! Everyone is always ready to help and try their best! - Angela, thanks so much for your attention and promptness about every request we had! Always a pleasure to talk to you!

The room cleaning may be done anytime upon your request, so no worries about that!

We stayed in the apartment #3, close to the front desk, so we had no problem with the internet in our room. And if you want to get a full signal, just go to the restaurant area and you'll get it! Very fast wi-fi signal!

Beach...you'll get to it after a 10-minute walking, no longer than that at all! Crystal water, colorful and big fishes, a few steps away from the sand! Amazing! We didn't dive, but we did some snorkelling and we took fantastic photos underwater.

Downtown...about 10-minute driving by taxi, but the hotel staff knows some taxi-drivers and they will charge you honestly (JD$ 10 round-drive).

Aqaba is beautiful! I do recommend a visit to that city as well as stay at Intl Arab Divers Village!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekkingGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The atmosphere at this place is fantastic. Relaxed and cosy. You feel the hospitality from when you enter the gate till you pack your car. The staff is excellent and throws whatever they have in their hands to help you with the luggauge, bring a cup of tea or whatever you need. Rooms are clean and nice, there is a desk for your laptop (but shy of powerplugs, so you have to unplug TV/SAT/Fridge), although they need a repeater for the WIFI as it only reaches the rooms closest to the reception. WIFI is very fast for Jordan standard, but dont expect to watch movies streamed from iTunes. The food that we had from the resturant was good (order well in advance as it is not too quick), be sure to ask the staff what is fresh on the menu, as the menu is very large for the volume of people (Gordon Ramsy would reduce it to 1/10). We had the fish, squid and Mezze, all very good. A fellow traveller had the chicked curry,but that was a pre made and not recormmended. Food is somewhat expensive, compared to town, but convinient and served with a big smile. Bring alcohol from the city, they dont mind that you BYO if at a low level. Fridge in room will keep the beer nice and cold.
We went for the Discover Scuba Diving expirience (ask for a discount), it was excellent. The British Instructor was extremely good and very very professional. We felt extremely safe and he took all the time needed. Snorkeling is also EXCELLENT although the beach is a 10 min walk downhill. They have all the equipment needed.
Only bad expirience was when we returned from a couple of days in the country and had made reservations from the road, one of the rooms was not avaiable although reserved. The single room was then replaced with a staff room with no window and no bath. An accepteble room sice we arrived late, but the price of this replacemet was unacceptble high. We negotiated it and found an ok level (although in my mind it should have been free since their mistake), after checking in the new price was suddenly without breakfast. This became somewhat of a discussion when checking out, but ended up with no charge. Seems like in that situation they did not look at us as long term investment. Too bad as this became a negative end to an excellent stay. And all over 3JD!!!

Room Tip: Close to reception to get WIFI, far from reception for privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TueDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morad_diver, Front Office Manager at Arab Divers, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thanks very much for the positive feedback,
However it’s very disappointing to receive some of the comments as we work hard to offer good food and friendly services,we will investigate the corners you have raised. we hope to see you in the future

Regards
Morad Almaitah
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
7.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Spa Tala Bay Aqaba
7.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arab Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arab Divers

Property: Arab Divers
Address: South Beach | near Marina Park, Aqaba 77110, Jordan (Formerly International Arab Divers Village)
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arab Divers 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located beside the Red Sea, Arab Divers is a family-run Dive Center and Bedouin Resort surrounded by mountains. It features free Wi-Fi in reception and chill out areas. Rooms at Arab Divers are simply furnished with an en suite bathroom. Guests can relax in a sun lounger by the deep outdoor pool. Continental breakfast, soft drinks, snacks and evening dinner are served at the dive center's snack bar. Arab Divers offers diving courses, guided dives from shore and boat and rental dive and snorkeling gear. Hotel staff can also help arrange Petra and Wadi Rum trips. Arab Divers is a 25-minute drive from the airport or border. Aqaba South Beach (public beach) is 800 metres away and Aqaba City Center is 15 minutes' drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Arab Divers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing