We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider yourself lucky to have found Abdullah at The Red Sea Dive Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Sea Dive Center
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Aqaba
Reviewed 17 July 2010

There are many dive companies in Aqaba. This one is owned and operated by the family who first started diving in Aqaba back in the 1960's. There may be a few other good dive companies in Aqaba, but there are none better than this group of divers. From introductory diver to experienced professional they make everything, safe, fun, fulfilling and most of all easy. Abdullah is a marine biologist, his brother, Omar, a computer engineer (good internet connection) they see to it that whatever it is you want, they do their best to deliver. I had a lot of fun diving in Aqaba. I've been there three times and hope to go back.

The new hotel is super clean, very comfortable, great pool, budget priced with easy access to the dive sites. You can either stay with them or at one of the fancier hotels of Tala Bay, just a few minutes away, they will pick up for diving.

I found the diving to be very interesting with many species of fish and invertebrates that are endemic to the Red Sea. On occasion odd things come up to the shallow reef flat from deep water. Big fish are mostly absent, but there are lots of other interesting things to look for and see.

The prices are reasonable (low), the equipment is very good. I dove at different times of the year, summer a 2m suit is fine, winter......time for a hood and thicker suit...they have them....They appear to get a lot of repeat business from expats and locals in Amman. On my last trip, the evenings were a united nations experience, an American (me), Dutch, Irish, Jordanian, German, Italian, Japanese, French, English and Spanish...lots of fun and great stories.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank animonious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

We spend 4 nights at the Red Sea Dive Center and loved it. The room was clean, spacious and air-conditioned (essential!). All the rooms open out onto the pool which was great for relaxing in. The hotel is about 15km from Aqaba town centre. It isn't too difficult to take a taxi there but it soon gets expensive (5JD) so I'd recommend hiring a car. The hotel is located at the top of a hill about 500m from the beach. There are some hotels nearer the beach in the complex but having met their very unfriendly staff (that take swigs of your drinks before serving!) I wouldn't recommend them. In contrast the owner of the Red Sea Dive Center went out of his way to help us and was really friendly. The breakfasts were big and delicious, and just the overall atmosphere was very relaxed. Hints: Although there is a beach at the bottom of the road from the hotel, walking about 750m along the beach towards Aqaba brings you to a more managed area with changing facilities, snorkel hire, a restaurant, and a cordoned off area in the water containing the amazing Japanese Garden coral reef.

The only place to groceries is in Aqaba - try the fruit and vegetable market and the bakery for cheap and nice food.
Ali Baba's restaurant in Aqaba also does nice food.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjdelves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. All the staff are very friendly and the service is very good. The hotel and pool area are really clean and relaxing. The diving was good and we were pleasantly surprised that it was not pushed upon us, which unfortunately is quite unusual for Egypt. The hotel is roughly 15km from the city but in our view it is easy to get a cheap taxi in to the city and avoid the city heat. Also has a nice view.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We stayed at the Red Sea Dive Center for two nights on our way to Egypt. Abdullah and his family provide affordable lodging for serious divers, as well as dive courses and full dive services. The hotel is basic but has satellite tv and wifi, and breakfast is included in the room rates. A little known fact: Abdullah's father was the first PADI instructor in Jordan and trained the late King Hussein how to scuba dive! Diving runs in this family, and is evident in the details divers want in a good, low-key facility.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyzengrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I stayed here for two nights as a solo woman traveller. I felt really comfortable here alone and the staff are really friendly. You really get what you pay for: spotless modern rooms with tv, comfortable beds, clean swimming pool, great breakfast in the morning etc. I didn't mind paying more to stay here, because the other places around looked a bit rundown and I was getting to the end of my trip and wasn't keen on sleeping in a dorm. The only downside, and it didn't even really bother me THAT much, is the place is at the top of the hill - about a 5-10min walk down to the beach.
I'd definitely recommend Red Sea Dive Centre to others.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We had a great time at this place. The owners were so kind and made our stay a real pleasant one. Thereby they are professional, enthousiast (and patient!) dive instructors.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boukje79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2009

The instructors are very professional. Very hospitable environment to spend ur diving vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nqubain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
7.4 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
7.4 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#6 of 41 in Aqaba
492 reviews
7.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
7.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.0 mi away
Arab Divers
Arab Divers
#1 of 23 in Aqaba
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Sea Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Sea Dive Center

Address: South Beach Road | next to Aqaba Marine Park, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Aqaba
Price Range: £39 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Sea Dive Center 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RED SEA DIVE CENTER has been formed to offer this alternative since its establishment in 1992 and continued to provide a unique diving & accommodation activities and now we are proud that we opened the New Red Sea Dive Center on the South Beach of Aqaba where we offer a full range of services like accommodation, swimming pool, kids pool, restaurant and diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Red Sea Dive Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Sea Dive Hotel Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing