We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with our stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was the last of four hotels on our Tour of Jordan and we were looking forward to 4 days chilling out. Unfortunately, we hit the Eid celebrations and it was full and very noisy!

The first thing that we noticed was that no drinks or food can be taken into the hotel – was shocked at this as you are then forced to pay hotel prices. This is the first time we saw this out of all of the hotels we stayed in, including the Movenpick Petra. Now this wouldn’t have been too bad if you were given a large bottle of water in your room (as Movenpick Petra), instead of 2 little ones, and they filled the mini bar with the free drinks (as Movenpick Petra). If you are giving guests a nice touch like free drinks then do it properly - not half hearted. We only got ½ of the drinks listed on the bar menu, assumed that the room attendant hadn't filled up, queried with reception and they sent the room attendants around. Apparently, only floors 2 and 6 get all of the drinks you are entitled to!! Bear in mind it was 30+ degrees here and you can pay a lot of money for drinks at the bar (i.e. £5+ for a coke!) Queried this with reception – hadn’t our whole tour group paid the same to stay here, irrelevant of which floor you are on??!! Eventually we got our drinks, but this was the only day that we did.

Room was a good size, although had to request missing towels and loo roll, good aircon and a small balcony to sit in the evenings listening to the ‘chariots’ racing around the streets with their music blaring – those poor horses needed earmuffs!! Public hotel areas were nice, breakfast was good (very busy around 9am), pools nice (very busy – people were lying on the grass at some points) beach area nice – but we did see lots of litter in the Red Sea just off the beach and also a glass that had been thrown in. Part of the sea is cordoned off so that the boats can’t get too close,not many fish to see unfortunately.

Our main issue with our stay was the noise levels – guests didn’t seem to control their children who were playing trumpets in the corridors at all hours, slamming doors, riding up and down in the lifts (even though the signs said they were supposed to be supervised – no-one stopped them). In busy times like this management need to consider all guests comfort and not just turn a blind eye to guests letting their children run riot.

We did take the free shuttle to the Movenpick Tala Bay, which looked like a gorgeous hotel, until the entertainment girl wheeled out her speaker and spoiled the peace and quiet. You literally couldn’t speak to the person next to you it was so loud. We had to move downwind onto the beach to be able to hold a conversation. Snorkelling was a little better here but again the sea had rubbish floating around – not giving off the best ambiance!! The hotel management need to look into having their own beach/sea areas cleaned more regularly.

After staying in Marriotts and Movenpicks on our tour – I wouldn’t be staying at a Movenpick again – the service standards are just not there for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boydsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,871)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Thank you for a wonderfull stay, the staff was wonderfull, friendly and everyhing was very well taken care of and very clean ! Looking forward visting Jordan again and staying with you. The lunch at the beach was lovely and breakfast was amazing with all the choices you had.
The centre of Aqaba is only 5 min walk, very nice lively area where you can scroll about in the evenings, safe and lovely restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

W would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This was a 4 night beach pause in a touring holiday round Jordan.

Hotel is huge - main block with reception etc on the landward side of a busy road, linked by a bridge (with a pool on the roof) to blocks of apartments overlooking some small swimming pools and the hotel's small private beach. Aqaba and the hotel was by some distance the busiest place we came across in our trip.

Our family of 4 (2 adult sons) were upgraded to a large, well appointed apartment which was clean and well equipped though we had to keep asking reception to send up more tea, coffee etc. Daily supply of free soft drinks in fridge was a nice touch.

A/c in bedrooms was noisy so had to switch off at night, that and the coffee etc costs a star.

Its a long walk from here to reception and dining! not a problem for us but might be for some. Stayed B&B, breakfast was probably best we had on holiday, good choice as you should expect in hotel this size, was pleasant out on the terrace but don't leave your food unattended, the crows will have it. Several restaurants, cafes etc on site but we ate in town nearby in the evenings, plenty of good, well priced restaurants there with a lively atmosphere.

Beach was small, clean, swimming area not very big or deep and very boring! You don't get coral in this part of Aqaba, that's all south of the port, 10JD taxi ride to Bernice beach club (15 JD entry, good coral) or Public Beach 3 (ok for western dress at south end, free, good coral). Free shuttle and entry to M'pick Tala Bay, which looks a nicer hotel (why it costs more to stay) but has as much coral as a small tropical fish tank and only other large hotels round about so nowhere to go at night.

This hotel in Aqaba is a better choice, cheaper, still very good, by the town centre so there is more bustle and a good range of restaurants, shops etc.

Good luck to Jordan in the World Cup qualifiers by the way, the town went delightfully mad the first night we were there when they beat Uzbekistan.

Room Tip: Apartments good but be prepared for a walk to reception and main restaurant.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesterimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

apart from a slight mix up with the bill - they don't collect in advance from Hotels.com, as promised - this was more or less the perfect hotel. Great service, great facilities, and easily two notches above the Intercontinental down the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boddice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My girlfriend and I visited the Moevenpick Resort and Residences in Aqaba as our first stop on a 12-day trip to Jordan. We headed there direct on a JETT bus after arriving in Amman since we wanted to unwind immediately on a beach before visiting the rest of the country.

This hotel is stunning. The lobby is grand and luxurious, the outside areas beautifully landscaped and maintained.

The private beach is reached via an access bridge over a main road, but you don't really notice it, and the beach itself is very pleasant, clean and serviced by waiters from one of the hotel's restaurants. The only criticism I have of the beach is that it is not the most peaceful - jet skis and pleasure cruises tend to disturb the calm, and while the waiters are lovely people - they are a bit slow and forgetful. To be honest though, this was a problem we encountered through a lot of Jordan - the service is fine, but not quite up to 5 star standards.

NB - THERE IS NO PROPER SNORKELLING FROM THIS BEACH!

If you want to do some decent reef snorkelling or scuba, then you need to catch a free shuttle bus to the Moevenpick Hotel at Tala Bay. We went there for a day trip. Also a lovely hotel - more secluded, better beaches and water activities, BUT the hotel itself isn't nearly as beautiful as Moevenpick Resort and Residences in Aqaba city centre.

Overall I loved this hotel. It really felt like we were treating ourselves. I liked being in town rather than out at Tala Bay as it enabled us to explore the local culture in the evenings when we strolled into Aqaba to find a restaurant. Upon returning to the hotel in the there was always a pleasant, chilled vibe in the grand courtyard - where we lounged with shisha pipes while being entertained by belly dancers.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MGA1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have been there with my husband and two teenage kids in April when the weather in Aqaba is very nice, because due to its dessert like nature it is a well known fact that the best time to visit Aqaba is in Spring and Autumn.
The pools are really must swim in ... there is the kids pool which is big with warm water, attached to it is an open air Jacuzzi.
Another pool is right across the lane surrounded with beautiful flowers and grass where you can enjoy a sun bath or just a relaxing time.
They also have a roof pool and a very hot Jacuzzi, with fewer people; so more privacy if you are looking for one.
The beach is sandy but to get to the also sandy sea there are some uneven parts in the ground, with big some rocks so watch out.
As for the rooms & bathrooms, they were clean and very comfortable as a five star hotel should be.
The breakfast buffet is outstanding and the staff are extra friendly.
So Yes, I strongly recommend this hotel, in which I like to stay whenever in Aqaba.

Room Tip: If you are a family, ask for one of the small apartments in the second or third floor by the pool w...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayMustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Room booked by travel agent as part of a tour. Very nice room with balcony, king bed. Had 1/2 board, found buffet very nice. Staff behind the line encouraged tasting and questions on local foods. Stayed two nights, all went smoothly. Would stay again.
The hotel seems to be very popular with families. Best to eat early breakfast and late dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanTeaneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.6 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#23 of 40 in Aqaba
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#7 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: £87 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient trading centre of Aqaba. At the Mövenpick Resort Aqaba, on the shores of the Red Sea, business travellers can attend to business and also relax in a perfect cultural and culinary environment. With our Swiss hospitality we will fulfill all your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Residence Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort & Residence Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Hotel Residence Aqaba
Movenpick Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing