We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat a 'snack' from the bar balcony which is a very substantial meal at a fraction of the cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

As a hotel I cannot fault it because of the luxury and service. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite on the 6th floor and our three 'growing up' children shared a very comfortable room next door with a third bed added for our daughter. Food was absolutely fantastic but it was a very expensive 2 days for a family of five.

Great to have a snack at the balcony in the bar as this was in fact a very substantial meal with a selection of local and mediterranean cuisine at a fraction of the cost of eating at the main restaurants. Plus on the one night we had a very special view of the unexpected evening's entertainment of belly dancing. Felt like royalty!

Would definitely recommend this hotel but although we did not venture into Aqaba I would not recommend this town as a holiday resort and much prefer a lazy Red Sea beach holiday over the pond in Sharm where it is a fraction of the prize and a lot less flies. However, we were travelling and felt it a part of the country we should visit.

Made friends with DG Osama who offered to copy some tunes for us to take back. Our next stop was the Marriott at the Dead Sea resort and subsequently, I will avoid Marriotts at all costs after spending a night amidst their corporate attitude!

Room Tip: Eat at the balcony in the bar to choose from a great menu at a fraction of the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 1,986 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

The lobby, which you enter first, and the restaurant are a beautiful combination of oriental and occidental luxury. Our room was functional, spacious and clean, but it lacked a real balcony and a nice window view. The bath room and its cosmetics were elegant.
The breakfast was deligious and the service was fast and good. The prices of drinks in restaurant and bar are absurd.
Very positive feature of this hotel, which is situated in the centre of Aqaba, is the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SonataArctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We only stayed one night at the Movenpick - Aqaba so we didn't get to see all aspects and facilities but from what we did see and experience impressed. We were upgraded to a suite on the 5th floor and for the most part we found it very spacious and comfortable with a shared balcony. I did not realise this was the case so when I walked out to check out the view both my neighbour (who was relaxing on a chair just a few feet away) and I both had a shock. The only thing that let down the room was the small bathroom. This is a one person bathroom so allow plenty of time for your ablutions if there are two of you. This may or may not be the case with standard rooms.

The night we stayed was the last day of the Eid holiday so lots of families were there and both pools were pretty busy. We chose to go and sit on the (private) beach which was nicely maintained with lots of loungers and attentive wait staff who frequently came past to see whether you wanted a drink. Only problem here was noise, several jet-skis racing back and forward just of the beach and a party boat cruising not far offshore pumping out techno music which all became a bit wearing after a while.

We ate out in Aqaba on our only night there so am unable to comment on the hotels restaurants, but we did had a great breakfast with multiple choices of hot and cold dishes and the usual omelette station. I must also comment on the staff here, very attentive, used plates whisked away and frequent enquiries of 'would you like a top up of coffee sir?. There seemed to be several supervisors walking about who kept an eye on proceedings and quickly directed staff when they saw a service was required. (There a couple of major hotel chains in Jordan who could learn a thing or here here).

Not sure I will going back to Jordan anytime soon but I would certainly look for a Movenpick hotel at our next international destination.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HawkerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Where do I begin? Our room was dirty and stayed that way for the 4 days we were there. The room had not been serviced properly when we arrived and we had to make repeated requests every day for everything - flannels, mini-bar restock, towels, bathmats, glasses, tea/coffee, etc, etc. Sometimes we got things - mostly we didn't. The hotel was full and could not cope - the buffet breakfast was a nightmare and we could not use the swimming pools as they were heaving. The lap pool was full of children who could not swim. We had an abysmal view from our room. The corridor on our floor (5) was dirty, with rolls of fluff and bits of rubbish. Our sheets were not changed the whole time we were there. Please see boydsmad's report for the rest - it will save me typing it!

Room Tip: Don't have a room on Floor 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daph51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We didn't stay here but at the Tala bay resort and we got to use their facilities. We visited on one day to see what it was like, and were pleasantly surprised by the beach. It was small, but good quality with a nice shallow swimming area with calm seas. This was in complete contrast to the beach at the Tala Bay resort where the sea was rough and the swimming area small.

There is a great kids play area right on the beach as well.

The pools were less impressive and when we visited were quite crowded,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank ajfvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Staff sorted out problem we had with initial room and did free upgrade. Lots of facilities within hotel, shop prices reasonable. Variety of restaurants to choose from. Private beach a bonus but is quite a walk over the bridge and past swimming pools to reach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawsgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was the last of four hotels on our Tour of Jordan and we were looking forward to 4 days chilling out. Unfortunately, we hit the Eid celebrations and it was full and very noisy!

The first thing that we noticed was that no drinks or food can be taken into the hotel – was shocked at this as you are then forced to pay hotel prices. This is the first time we saw this out of all of the hotels we stayed in, including the Movenpick Petra. Now this wouldn’t have been too bad if you were given a large bottle of water in your room (as Movenpick Petra), instead of 2 little ones, and they filled the mini bar with the free drinks (as Movenpick Petra). If you are giving guests a nice touch like free drinks then do it properly - not half hearted. We only got ½ of the drinks listed on the bar menu, assumed that the room attendant hadn't filled up, queried with reception and they sent the room attendants around. Apparently, only floors 2 and 6 get all of the drinks you are entitled to!! Bear in mind it was 30+ degrees here and you can pay a lot of money for drinks at the bar (i.e. £5+ for a coke!) Queried this with reception – hadn’t our whole tour group paid the same to stay here, irrelevant of which floor you are on??!! Eventually we got our drinks, but this was the only day that we did.

Room was a good size, although had to request missing towels and loo roll, good aircon and a small balcony to sit in the evenings listening to the ‘chariots’ racing around the streets with their music blaring – those poor horses needed earmuffs!! Public hotel areas were nice, breakfast was good (very busy around 9am), pools nice (very busy – people were lying on the grass at some points) beach area nice – but we did see lots of litter in the Red Sea just off the beach and also a glass that had been thrown in. Part of the sea is cordoned off so that the boats can’t get too close,not many fish to see unfortunately.

Our main issue with our stay was the noise levels – guests didn’t seem to control their children who were playing trumpets in the corridors at all hours, slamming doors, riding up and down in the lifts (even though the signs said they were supposed to be supervised – no-one stopped them). In busy times like this management need to consider all guests comfort and not just turn a blind eye to guests letting their children run riot.

We did take the free shuttle to the Movenpick Tala Bay, which looked like a gorgeous hotel, until the entertainment girl wheeled out her speaker and spoiled the peace and quiet. You literally couldn’t speak to the person next to you it was so loud. We had to move downwind onto the beach to be able to hold a conversation. Snorkelling was a little better here but again the sea had rubbish floating around – not giving off the best ambiance!! The hotel management need to look into having their own beach/sea areas cleaned more regularly.

After staying in Marriotts and Movenpicks on our tour – I wouldn’t be staying at a Movenpick again – the service standards are just not there for us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boydsmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel by Swiss-Belhotel
0.4 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 41 in Aqaba
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#7 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: £87 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient trading centre of Aqaba. At the Mövenpick Resort Aqaba, on the shores of the Red Sea, business travellers can attend to business and also relax in a perfect cultural and culinary environment. With our Swiss hospitality we will fulfill all your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort And Residence Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort & Residence Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Hotel Residence Aqaba
Movenpick Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing