We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not good compared to how much we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not good compared to how much we paid”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

No good service
no friendly hospitality.
lack of maintenance (toilet flasher not working and fall- too bad didn't shoot)
stain on the room blanket.
people with their clothes on, inside the pool and jacuzzi

comparing to the hotel money rate, you can try another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    361
    151
    69
    59
See reviews for
577
508
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This was our fourth stay in Aqaba but our first at this hotel.

First the good things. Its central location is great for shops and eating out. The breakfast was good and, unlike some hotels, they do provide small bottles of mineral water, daily and free of charge. The free shuttle to Tala Bay allows a different experience although the beach area in the city centre hotel is surprisingly spacious. Best of all - all the staff we engaged with had "got it". A greeting and a friendly smile and the willingness to do anything to help, if asked.

So why only 3 Stars? Because so many of the standard mechanistic tasks were done poorly. At one point we had seven hand towels and only one bath towel! The minibar was filled sporadically and the tea/coffee was not refilled for two successive days. The presence of cutlery, crockery and napkins was variable at breakfast and, all too often, the tea/coffee would arrive at the end of breakfast. I don't go on holiday to manage the hotel's staff for them or to spend my time at Reception putting things right.

A bit more quality control and this could have been 4 or 5 stars instead of 3.

Room Tip: Most are subject to the expected city noise - avoid the lower floors on the north side as this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_and_Dave265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

After an abysmal check in the remainder of our stay passed in eventfully. The room was spotless and the housekeeping staff very accommodating, ensuring our requests were quickly and efficiently met.
Beautiful beach and great pool areas.
Plenty of choice at breakfast, just remember to ask for tea without mint!
Well located for an easy walk into the town centre for dinner
Lovely place to relax after a couple of busy days in Petra

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Zoe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for four nights at the Moevenpick in Aqaba - Sunday through to Thursday so we missed out on the weekend rush - so we found the hotel very peaceful, breakfast was great with plenty of options for all of us and lots of places to sit etc. We really enjoyed the pools although they were pretty cold when you first got in. We also spent a good amount of time on the beach - again as it was midweek out of holidays we found it peaceful and relaxing. Our son spent a couple of hours in the kids club with a lovely girl who did some drawing - and gave him biscuits so he was happy as can be. I can't remember what we booked in the way of room - but we booked the next level up from the standard double and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite on the 6th floor which was brilliant as it meant our son had his own room - or more to the point - we had our own room. Housekeeping was excellent and our fridge was refilled with 3 x soft drinks and 3 x water and juice every day. My only issue was the sheer size of the hotel meant it was really quite a long walk from our room to the pools/beach - not ideal with a young child or if you forgot something. Also, the swimming towel process is a bit of a pain - if you want a early morning swim in the adult pool then you need to go all the way to the towel stand to get the towel, and then return it.. along corridors/up stairs etc etc. We spent one afternoon in the Tala Bay hotel and the pools there are completely amazing so definitely worth the trip. Also had a very good lunch in the cafe by the beach. We will go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

As a hotel I cannot fault it because of the luxury and service. When we arrived we were upgraded to a suite on the 6th floor and our three 'growing up' children shared a very comfortable room next door with a third bed added for our daughter. Food was absolutely fantastic but it was a very expensive 2 days for a family of five.

Great to have a snack at the balcony in the bar as this was in fact a very substantial meal with a selection of local and mediterranean cuisine at a fraction of the cost of eating at the main restaurants. Plus on the one night we had a very special view of the unexpected evening's entertainment of belly dancing. Felt like royalty!

Would definitely recommend this hotel but although we did not venture into Aqaba I would not recommend this town as a holiday resort and much prefer a lazy Red Sea beach holiday over the pond in Sharm where it is a fraction of the prize and a lot less flies. However, we were travelling and felt it a part of the country we should visit.

Made friends with DG Osama who offered to copy some tunes for us to take back. Our next stop was the Marriott at the Dead Sea resort and subsequently, I will avoid Marriotts at all costs after spending a night amidst their corporate attitude!

Room Tip: Eat at the balcony in the bar to choose from a great menu at a fraction of the cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The lobby, which you enter first, and the restaurant are a beautiful combination of oriental and occidental luxury. Our room was functional, spacious and clean, but it lacked a real balcony and a nice window view. The bath room and its cosmetics were elegant.
The breakfast was deligious and the service was fast and good. The prices of drinks in restaurant and bar are absurd.
Very positive feature of this hotel, which is situated in the centre of Aqaba, is the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonataArctica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We only stayed one night at the Movenpick - Aqaba so we didn't get to see all aspects and facilities but from what we did see and experience impressed. We were upgraded to a suite on the 5th floor and for the most part we found it very spacious and comfortable with a shared balcony. I did not realise this was the case so when I walked out to check out the view both my neighbour (who was relaxing on a chair just a few feet away) and I both had a shock. The only thing that let down the room was the small bathroom. This is a one person bathroom so allow plenty of time for your ablutions if there are two of you. This may or may not be the case with standard rooms.

The night we stayed was the last day of the Eid holiday so lots of families were there and both pools were pretty busy. We chose to go and sit on the (private) beach which was nicely maintained with lots of loungers and attentive wait staff who frequently came past to see whether you wanted a drink. Only problem here was noise, several jet-skis racing back and forward just of the beach and a party boat cruising not far offshore pumping out techno music which all became a bit wearing after a while.

We ate out in Aqaba on our only night there so am unable to comment on the hotels restaurants, but we did had a great breakfast with multiple choices of hot and cold dishes and the usual omelette station. I must also comment on the staff here, very attentive, used plates whisked away and frequent enquiries of 'would you like a top up of coffee sir?. There seemed to be several supervisors walking about who kept an eye on proceedings and quickly directed staff when they saw a service was required. (There a couple of major hotel chains in Jordan who could learn a thing or here here).

Not sure I will going back to Jordan anytime soon but I would certainly look for a Movenpick hotel at our next international destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HawkerAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.2 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Property: Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#7 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient trading centre of Aqaba. At the Mövenpick Resort Aqaba, on the shores of the Red Sea, business travellers can attend to business and also relax in a perfect cultural and culinary environment. With our Swiss hospitality we will fulfill all your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Residence Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort And Residence Aqaba
Moevenpick Hotel Residence Aqaba
Movenpick Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing