We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nine day rest in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Granville Ferry
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a nine day rest in Paradise”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

After five weeks of intensive touring we needed a break. It had been planned to spend nine days of R&R in Luxor, but we changed our plans to nine days in Aqaba. At first we were disappointed not to be spending any time in Luxor, a spot we loved six years ago. However, as it turned out, we could not have done better. The Moevenpick was sublime and the weather was equally sublime. The hotel was great and Aqaba was a treat. Great restaurants everywhere and reasonable prices. The days on the beach or at the pool were RELAXING. And breakfast was super. We always ate outside and despite those nasty crows who would attempt to fly away with your breakfast, it was once again relaxing. Great service at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony on the fifth or six floor overlooking the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthonyo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Mr, Anthonio,

Greetings from Aqaba,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we're so glad you had a great experience!

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    366
    159
    70
    61
See reviews for
618
523
71
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a great time here. The staff was extremely friendly. No one looked as if they didn't like job. Breakfast was very good and not too crowded. Diner was also very good. As for the facilities: they have three pools and we never had a hard time finding a nice spot to lay down. One thing we didn't like was the wi-fi: you only get to connect to their wi-fi with one device per room. If you want to connect more devices it costs about ten dinars per day: ridiculous. Aside from that: we had an amazing stay here (also thanks to their kind upgrade to a suite) and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Greetings from Aqaba,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us - we're so glad you had a great experience!

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the apartments near the beach and the pool, which was very convenient. They have two bedrooms and two baths so great of a family of five with three kids. Kitchen and living room came in handy. Beach is very clean and pool great for all. Lifeguards were very attentive and the waiters very friendly. Especially courteous was a waiter named Ahmad at the restaurant by the pool. Breakfast is very varied with all tastes covered. Will recommend to friends and family.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here R&R after Petra. Rooms ok though a little outdated. We were there for Easter weekend so it was extremely busy. Nice little beach and a good collection of swimming pools which the kids loved. Breakfast buffet was good and plentiful, however the service in the Al Shatt Restaurant by the beach at lunchtime was horrendous. It has been a long time since I have had to spend 2 hours having a drink and a simple main course for lunch. The first time was Good Friday and there was a large influx of day guests so lunch took ages. The next day with fewer guests we thought we would give it another try, however, this was even longer. In the end as a way of an apology they didn't charge us for the meal but this is still not acceptable for a 4/5* hotel. The other disappointing element was the complete lack drinks or snack food service by the pools, first time ever in a hotel of this standard. Overall a lovely hotel with poor food and beverage service!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would like to take this opportunity, in order to apologize for any inconvenience caused on our behalf, as mentioned in your letter. Nevertheless, we do hope that these incidents did not mar your opinion about our services and would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distance future.

Meanwhile, we thank you for having brought this matter to our attention. Only comments such as yours are helping us to improve our services and enhance, guarantee full satisfaction of our guests accordingly.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at 3 different Movenpick hotels in Jordan and this one we would rate as third. The hotel building and facilities are very promising and could be so much more enjoyable if more attention was paid to optimising the use of them by the staff. There is access to the beach. We used the swimming pool at the top of the hotel which is supposed to be for adults only. We were hoping for a relaxing morning. Sadly, this did not happen. There was a steady stream of guests with children in tow, pool toys and other equipment, all trying to use this pool. There was only the pool attendant to stop them and, although he was making a valiant effort, the noise of the arguments and the length of time these people took to accept that they couldn't use this pool, spoiled the peace and quiet. This could have been avoided if there had been a member of staff at the entrance to the pool area to inform these people at an earlier stage that this was an adult only area.

We tried calling housekeeping but the phone went unanswered during the afternoon. It is a great idea to provide free soft drinks in the minibar in the room, but these were not refilled on the second day. The service at the poolside bar was very slow and made us late for a trip we had planned. (I would however recommend the Lebanese restaurant not far from the hotel).

The layout of the food in the self-service area of the restaurant made it difficult to enjoy the breakfast experience. All the food was laid out in a long line, instead of some being put in different locations to avoid crowds forming at busy times. Consequently, queues formed and it took quite a while to get the required breakfast items. With a little more attention to detail this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would like to take this opportunity, in order to apologize for any inconvenience caused on our behalf, as mentioned in your letter. Nevertheless, we do hope that these incidents did not mar your opinion about our services and would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distance future.

Meanwhile, we thank you for having brought this matter to our attention. Only comments such as yours are helping us to improve our services and enhance, guarantee full satisfaction of our guests accordingly.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as part of a Grand Tour of Jordan (Jules Verne). As my wife has many allergies including all dairy products, she asked at the reception desk if soya milk was available. The abrupt reply was "No"! I came to the desk with her & was told to call housekeeping, their reply by telephone was also "No"! At this stage my raised voice back at the reception desk brought a manger who apologised once he understood her request & promised to send out for some soya milk.
Ten minutes later he together with another senior colleague were at our room door with a carton of organic soya & mentioned that there would be another kept in the breakfast buffet area for her.

Subsequently we were given excellent service by the staff in the Palm Court Restaurant as I guess the management obviously had mentioned my wife's allergies to the restaurant manager Moneer Jamahneh who went out of his way each time he saw us to ensure all was well---excellent service --- including a chef who upon hearing my wife couldn't take soup with cream went a made her a bowl of delicious tomato soup without the cream! The waiter who discretely watched over us should also be complimented on his service he was Mohammed Majed.

Not sure why the house keeping staff do not complete the clean at one go. They seemed to clean, replace towels & replenish the mini bar as 3 separate acts thus disturbing a guest 3 times.

All in all our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

We all at Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba were very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have been satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Aqaba at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba in a not too distant future and assure you of our best care and attention at all times.

Thanking you for your continued loyalty, we remain,

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is far away from 5-star, maximum 3-star. Full of children knowing the doors, slapping the doors and playing football at the corridor. We were not able to sleep even one night as the walls are extremely thin and you can hear every step at the corridor. Meal at the hotel is pretty basic. The funniest thing was absence of robes in the rooms and when we asked why we don't have it there the personal answered 'politely' that we need to ask them about this. It was impossible to have a rest at the beach as a 'kinder garden' was destroyed all the beauty. Definitely not romantic place.

So don't waste your money and nervous choosing this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeelStefan, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Greetings from Aqaba,

We refer to your recent stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba and thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor.

Careful note has been taken of your comments, which you have encountered during your stay at our resort. It goes without saying that we have discussed this matter with the concerned Executives, who will look into this matter and take immediate actions.

We would like to take this opportunity, in order to apologize for any inconvenience caused on our behalf, as mentioned in your letter. Nevertheless, we do hope that these incidents did not mar your opinion about our services and would be delighted to welcome you back in the not too distance future.

Meanwhile, we thank you for having brought this matter to our attention. Only comments such as yours are helping us to improve our services and enhance, guarantee full satisfaction of our guests accordingly.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.2 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba

Property: Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba
Address: King Hussein Street, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
#7 Business Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba 5*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the ancient trading centre of Aqaba. At the Mövenpick Resort Aqaba, on the shores of the Red Sea, business travellers can attend to business and also relax in a perfect cultural and culinary environment. With our Swiss hospitality we will fulfill all your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort & Residences Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort & Residence Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Moevenpick Resort And Residence Aqaba
Moevenpick Hotel Residence Aqaba
Movenpick Aqaba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing