We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away.”
Review of Golden Tulip Aqaba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Tulip Aqaba
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed 3 times in the past at this hotel, I see this hotel is going downhill, the location is OK with view of the city. However, the cleaning was horrible and really disgusting, I found a large yellow spots on the bed sheet and pillows, I called the front desk and they sent one of the housekeeper to inspect, he said he has to wash the sheet and bring it back next day, after some argument I got a different one, the pillow was too hard to sleep on, the bath room was dirty and a lot of hair in the sink as you see in the pictures, I spoke with the front desk clerk Ahmed but he was completely useless and unhelpful, I asked for the GM Awni Nobany many times even I called him and I left him a massage but I never heard back from him, the furniture very old. The room was stinky and smiley, the electric lamps in the room broken. The plates and cubs at the restaurant they were very dirty, I can’t understand how this nasty hotel rated 4 stars, in my opinion 1 star it’s enough. Bad value for the money. I WILL NEVER STAY THERE AGAIN

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chicagokev69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Golden Tulip and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The first room we stayed in was a little loud at night due its proximity to 'the main strip' but the owner was incredibly helpful and actually upgraded us free of charge to another room. Berenice beach resort highly recommended for a swim in the gulf!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is an absolutely average hotel, and recommended from my side for shorter stays and for money value.
It's position is very good, it's in the center of the city, less than 10 min walking from the market area. The room we got (maybe we were lucky) was very big, around 30 sq. meters, with a big double bed, a sofa with 2 armchairs and with a sea view. The bathroom was OK, nothing special and nice, but functioning. Bed linen and towels clean, nothing to complain about.
The food was quite OK (we were on a half board), especially the dinner, with a lot of oriental salads, starters, soup and few mains and desserts. The breakfast was not such good, but for two mornings we found enough.
The hotel provides free transfer to the beach, so...
The wifi in the hotel is also OK and free of charge.
There are certainly better hotels around like Movenpick, Hilton,...so who wants to pay their price....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B1714D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Golden Tulip is one of the few mid-range options in Aqaba. That said, you get what you pay for.

The hotel is a decent base for those on a tight budget but not somewhere you'd want to spend much time: the bathroom linens smelled alternately of bleach and must, the sheets were marked with unidentifiable spots and I stepped over a dead cockroach one morning on the stairs. Our room also overlooked a main road (think pumping bass lines from cars cruising the strip late on the weekend) and a school (think screaming school children at 6AM during the week).

We didn't sleep much but our pockets were happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mal275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is a very old hotel. Rooms are small and the bathrooms are very small. You have to shut the door to even get to the sink. We were on the 5th floor and when we went down for breakfast the next morning the hallway was flooded with water. We told the front desk, but when we went back to our rooms after breakfast it was still covered with water. The hotel is right across from a mosque so if you want to sleep past 5AM do not stay here unless you are deaf. The only thing good about this hotel is the airconditioning. I would select another hotel.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve74017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have been going to this hotel on regular basis since 2008 (5-10 times/year). Unfortunately, this hotel is becoming worst with years in terms of conservation, cleanliness and staff quality. It used to be a good option for low price budgets but not anymore. I do not recommend it to anyone.

I have photos upon request that It is a shame to share.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BisharaSayegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

What makes this hotel worth a stay is its location, a block away from the main streets but still in quiet enough side street. Of course, if you are into beaches and diving, this is not for you. But for a visit in the city, the location is perfect.

Hotel itself is another cement block with small rooms and the smallest washroom I have ever experienced. To get into the bathtub (why do hotels have tubs anymore anyway?), you had to squeeze yourself to the furthest corner between the sink and toilet seat and then close the door and only then could step into the shower. The same procedure to get out as well. There was a sign on the wall worth taking a photo.

The breakfast was served in the cellar and was only just worth the effort. The lifts/elevators are few and far apart so a room in the first three floors makes walking a faster option.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jukka1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
Mina Hotel
Mina Hotel
#22 of 41 in Aqaba
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 41 in Aqaba
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aqua Vista Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Bedouin Moon Village
Bedouin Moon Village
#14 of 41 in Aqaba
105 reviews
0 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Aqaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Aqaba

Address: Al Saada Street | PO Box 434, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#10 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range: £34 - £51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Aqaba 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Golden Tulip Aqaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing