We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”
Review of Al Zaitouna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Zaitouna
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We stayed here as part of the Exodus - A Week in Jordan tour. It was basic, a little shabby but fine. The location was good, just a short distance to the sea, the roman ruins and the ruins of an old church. The breakfast was limited but fine for a couple of nights.

Two nights in Aqaba is long enough as it isn't a particularly attractive place.

We had a good meal at Ali Ba Ba's on the corner of the main road.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALH57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2009

Stayed at this hotel 5 yrs ago in August 2004. The hotel was very basic. Clean, rooms had all necessities, a/c worked well, washroom, hair dryer. Room service available, reasonably priced. Hotel was a good location, not a far walk from the souk or even restaurants. Room rates were very reasonable as well. All in all, a basic hotel, that met all our required needs.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_mhammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

When I saw the outside of the hotel, I was concerned, but inside the hotel was much nicer. We had bright spacious rooms in a new section. The rooms were clean and everything including the fridge worked (not like all the hotels I stayed at in Jordan). The breakfast was fine although you had to make toast on a panini grill. The location was fine, in walking distance of shops and restaurants, and the water if you knew which way to go.
Overall the hotel was O.K. I would recommend this hotel to someone looking for a budget hotel in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Stayed here as part of a tour group. Clean room, but basic and towels had seen better days. Window looked out on internal landing, so a bit dark and dingy. Breakfast fine.

Agree with other reviewers about the nearby felafel shop - very good.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2008

This has quite a grand reception and 2 lifts which is quite different from the fairly basic rooms. The room and ensuite were fine with slightly dated decor. The main drawback was the beds. I have no idea what the mattress,duvet and pillow were stuffed with but it felt like small bits of ripped up foam and were very uncomfortable to sleep on.

On the plus side the staff were friendly and it was just around the corner from a fantastic falafel shop where you could get a large pitta with falafel and salad for the equivalent of 25p!

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cachagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2008

I had searched for so long to find a hotel in Aqaba and they were all either really expensive or had terrible reviews, sometimes both. I booked at the Al Zaitouna for my family of 4, but still a bit wary of the low price we looked at 4 other hotels in the area before we checked in.
I was so relieved when we walked into the Zaitouna. It has a fresh clean white marble effect lobby and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our family room with ensuite was enormous and spotlessly clean. My only niggle would be that the carpet was a little stained. It also had TV and fridge for your use.
Breakfast was good and all the staff were fantastic and lovely with my 2 sons. We stayed for 3 nights and loved it.
After seeing the other hotels in the area, this is definitely the best choice, by a long, long way.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrot02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2007

Quite a grand reception which belies the basic but clean nature of the rooms. Breakfasts were limited in terms of the types of food on offer. We needed medical advice and help getting taxis, finding a good diving school and a few other bits - the reception staff bent over backwards to help us at all hours of the day/night. The service and the location would take us back to the hotel again. Great falafel sandwich shop a few metres from the hotel - about 15 pence (UK) each! So, even if the breakfasts weren't up to much, you can afford to go there!

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haggis07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 41 in Aqaba
224 reviews
0 mi away
Dweik 2
Dweik 2
#24 of 41 in Aqaba
25 reviews
0 mi away
Baraka Al Aqaba Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amir Palace Hotel
Amir Palace Hotel
#12 of 41 in Aqaba
17 reviews
0 mi away
Dweik Hotel 3
Dweik Hotel 3
#11 of 41 in Aqaba
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 41 in Aqaba
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Zaitouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Zaitouna

Address: Hahmammat Street, Aqaba, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range: £39 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Zaitouna 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaitouna Hotel is a 3 star hotel which was opened in 1994, located in the heart of Aqaba and just a 5 minute walk from the beautiful Red Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Al Zaitouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing