We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location”
Review of Aqaba Gulf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aqaba Gulf Hotel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I like the hotel. It is really nice place with a very helpfull staff. Good breakfast which can be eaten outside near the pool. The location close to everything in Aqaba almost in the center of the town. I really like the carpets saying the day of the week in the elevators :-)

Room Tip: Don't worry if you can not get sea-view room, mountain view is even better :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2013

Thank you Sir for your valid comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
We are happy that you've enjoyed your stay and be sure that we will keep also improving our services for a better and comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board for another exceptional experiences and comfortable stay; Good luck and Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed in Aqaba for one week. The hotel was very good, its close to a lot of things. Perfect walking distance 5-10 minutes.

The staff were extremely helpful, they gave us loads of information about things to do around the city and the region, were to find specific shops and dine at good restaurants.
Everyone working at the hotel where very friendly and very polite.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel was very good, lots to choose from. There was something for everyone.
The lunch and dinner buffet was very good too. Lots of fresh vegetables to choose from and they all tasted fabulous. Between 4-5 hot meals, like ris, pasta, cooked veggies and stew or casserole with meat or fish. Some of the times there was also a chef there, who prepared on order an other type of stew/casserole or wok.

The rooms were a good size, and clean. The only bad thing about the room was the light fixture in the bathroom, the light from the fluorescent lights was not faltering. Otherwise the bathroom was clean as well.

If I in the future go back to Aqaba I will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMilan0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Thank you Ms.Milano for your valid comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
We are happy that you've enjoyed your stay and be sure that we will keep also improving our services for a better and comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board for another exceptional experiences and comfortable stay; Good luck and Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed at this hotel one week in December 2012. The hotel is offered by Apollo charter travel, which we went with. Rooms can also be booked at other booking sites.

Location: Aqaba Gulf Hotel is situated centrally in the center of Aqaba. Small shops, a gym, a local travel agency, McDonald's and some local bars are very close to the hotel. Mövenpick Hotel is the nearest neighbor. No need for transportation around in Aqaba center as it's pretty small. But if you want a taxi there are hundreds of them circulating around all the time.

Beach & pool conditions: the public beach in Aqaba didn't seem very tempting during night time when we went there, so we never checked it out during daytime. But Aqaba Gulf Hotel has good corporation agreement with a new beach club facility 20 minutes drive away (Berenice Beach). A bus arrives outside the hotel three times a day (09:20, 10:20 & 11:20 a.m) to pick up guests, and takes you back in the afternoon (03:00, 04:00 & 05:00 p.m.). The cost is 7 JOD ($ 10 USD) for transportation, entrance and towels (sun beds are free of charge). The beach club is stunning, and offers drinks, affordable pizzas and other snacks. Several pools and a nice beach with good snorkeling conditions. Absolutely recommendable!

Back at the hotel there is one pool. During our stay (in December) the water was too cold for us to swim in, but some guests used it occasionally. The sun hits the pool side between around 10 a.m. To 4 p.m.

During our stay there weren't so many guests at the hotel, so there was never a problem to find available sun beds at the pool.

The rooms: At first we were given to single beds, but after complaining we got an other room with double bed the day after. The rooms are spacious, and contains of a small bathroom with a bath tub with shower, a closet, mini safe, flat screen with about 20 channels (some in English), air condition, a table and a couple of chairs. Some noise from the street if you choose to have the window open instead of using the AC. Some of the rooms are allowed for smoking, ask for a non-smoking room if you don't smoke! The rooms are cleaned every day.

The staff/service: Most of the staff are polite, helpful and keep a high class of service. We had a semi inclusive-package where drinks and food where supposed to be included at certain times during the day. This caused some trouble with especially one of the managing staff at the bar which refused to serve us local drinks (just wine and beer) until the two last days of our stay after several complaints to her and the travel agency (Apollo). This was a big disappointment, and caused us quite an extra cost as we had to pay about 4 - 5 JOD for the local drinks during most of our stay. They also closed the “open bar” half an hour before the time which was stated at Apollo’s home page.

The food: the hotel offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. The buffets were OK, but with limited variation. Some of the guests complained to Apollo about the variation of the food at the dinner, which contained of either fish or meat. The buffet did always offered a good choice of fruit or vegetables.

Wi-Fi: The hotel offers high speed internet for an expensive charge: 3 JOD for one hour and 10 JOD ($14 USD) for 24 hours. Should have been free or at least cheaper! No computers to rent, so you have use your own devices.

Conclusion: This “4 star” hotel is a good and cheap choice when staying in Aqaba, but has some issues with their all inclusive-deal that need to be fixed.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a bit bigger. Ask for non-smoking rooms. Ask for rooms not facing the road if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sigurd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHotel, General Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2012

Thank you Sir for your valid comments and notes and for choosing staying at AGH
We are happy that you've enjoyed your stay and be sure that we will keep also improving our services for a better and comfortable stay
Wish to see you again on board for another exceptional experiences and comfortable stay; Good luck and Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We found this hotel by just driving are Aqaba. Good find. Great staff and very helpful. Short walk to town. Swimming pool excellent, especially after you have spent two days in the desert. Room was clean and spacious with good internet. Lunch by the pool excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Firstly, our thanks to Rowena (bar/restaurant) and Lina (front desk) for excellent service. I ordered a fresh lemon juice but Rowena recommended a fresh lemon juice with mint - where else would you see the staff pick fresh mint from the garden for your drink?! It was absolutely wonderful! Tourist numbers are down in Jordan and this was apparent with guest numbers in the hotel. Although there appeared to be a reduction in staff numbers, they did well to cover all duties. Whilst by the pool, I did have to go in search of someone so that I could order a drink or snack but this was really no problem. The sandwiches were absolutely excellent! The bedroom/bathroom were a little small but typical for an hotel of this age. Everywhere was very clean, including the pool area. The breakfast selection covered all tastes and certainly set us up for the day. The location of the hotel was excellent for getting into the downtown area and please, don't resist the temptation to wander off the the main roads to get a feel for the local area and people. Personally, we enjoyed Aqaba and the local people the most about Jordan.

Room Tip: The higher the better and facing east so you can see the neighbouring countries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastalchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AGHotel, Front Office Manager at Aqaba Gulf Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2012

Greeting from AQABA GULF HOTEL
We do appreciate that you have taken the time to write this wonderful review about your stay in October. Thank you very much indeed for the positive comments on our property and in particular your kind words about our employees. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel has an excellent location, almost right in Aqaba downtown. It is put very close to the shore what makes it a good point for sea trips. The pool feels a little too small, but for a refresh swim is, in my opinion, sufficient. Food could be in a bigger choice, but is always fresh and no complaint on its taste. The staff is very, very, helpful, kind, and ready to provide any kind of support.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the corners feel more open and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmmSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

the rooms are ok, big and confortable. the bathroom is dated but the shower was ok and everything was clean. Good breakfast .very helpful staff
the location is very good, close to the old town shops and restaurants.
they sell, 7 euro, the entrance to berenice beach and swimming pool. beach towel and free shuttle to the beach are included.
internet is not free: 3 euro 1 hour, 10 euro 1 day

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sardegnabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Aqaba
Golden Tulip Aqaba
#32 of 40 in Aqaba
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Hotel Aqaba
Days Hotel Aqaba
#18 of 40 in Aqaba
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mina Hotel
Mina Hotel
#25 of 40 in Aqaba
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqaba Gulf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqaba Gulf Hotel

Address: King Hussein Street | P.O Box 1312, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Hotel Class:4 star — Aqaba Gulf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glad you are here! This is what we want to say to all our guests from the distant corners of the universe. The Aqaba Gulf Hotel, an auspiciously stinging-white edifice represents all that is exciting in this beach-front city, rejuvenating your body and soul through the freshness of the deep blue sea. The stylish hospitality of Aqaba Gulf Hotel is truly original, mellowing local flavors and high international service, with its extremely-conscious staff creating comfort, happiness and belonging for our guests to reflect on their Aqaba holiday long after they’ve gone home. The ticking improvements at the Aqaba Gulf Hotel adds to our standards and reputation whether in reception, lobby, culinary, cuisine or in good housekeeping. Our rooms are designed to suit your every taste. Our trained staff are at your beck-and-call, 24-hours-a day, offering advice and recommend where-to-go in Aqaba, whether it’s on the beach for swimming, sun-bathing, diving and snorkeling, or to the quaint shops for your mementos, souvenirs and duty-free goods. At the Aqaba Gulf Hotel, guests are at a happy medium experiencing a cozy diversity and an aroma of delicacies in the background of towering pink mountains that you can breathtakingly climb if you wish. Enjoy your holiday in the comfort of our hotel and experience the scenery and action in Aqaba. Wish you were here... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aqaba Gulf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing