We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Privat beach and excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Aqaba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Privat beach and excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was a very good hotel and the beach was clean and nice. Near the town and the local restaurants, which were much cheaper. No problem to take some beers to your room or a bottle of wine. It was a sign about that this was not allowed bit nobody said anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedeAqaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

Thank you for your recent stay at the intercontinental and for taking the time to give your lovely feedback.
We are very happy to hear that you had an excellent experience and that you enjoyed the breakfast, hope to welcoming you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    244
    78
    36
    20
See reviews for
338
331
54
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed in the Intercotinental with my girlfriend and parents in law who had booked the hotel. When you arrive at the hotel you immediately notice how immense it is; a very spacious (slightly kitsch) entrance hall, the cosy bar with terrace and the 'corniche' restaurant with delicious breakfast and buffet. Same goes for the rooms which are very spacious with all necessities and comfort one could ask for and kept spotlessly clean on a daily basis. Both at the beach restaurant as well as at the buffet one can choose from a huge variety of food both local and international, included tailored dishes thank to the chefs cooking for you on the spot. The only challenge, obviously, is finding good quality wine (alcohol in general) for a seasonable price. One other point of critique is the beach which could be kept cleaner and also the beach chairs could use an update. Otherwise a good place to stay and enjoy the sun, the beach and a 10 minute drive away from south beach where one can go snorkling and discover the Red Sea underwater world. In general doing excursions from Aqaba to for instance Petra and Wadi Rum can easily be combined with beach and sun. One final tip, try to get a room with sea view, to avoid noise from the construction next door.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea view, to avoid noise from the construction next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrederikB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

First of all I want to thank you for your super detailed review and for your kind comments. I must admit that I was feeling very proud of the service delivered by my colleagues. This is our philosophy to make our guests stay the most comfortable and relaxing one, and our initiatives are genuine and coming from the heart.
Looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

I went there with my family for one nights as we had 3 rooms. The rooms were big & comfortable. The beach was so cleaned and the staff were so kind.we tried one of the restaurants which was a good experience there as well.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jandproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

It is very rewarding for us to know we have met our guests expectations, your feedback is essential in helping us to maintain high quality service, we want to thank you for your kind words and positive feedback and would like to thank you again for sharing your experience with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Did a one night stopover on the way from Saudi to Amman, going the next day to Petra. Coming from Saudi into Aqaba you don't expect much but the hotel is a pleasant surprise. Very nice architecture and the facilities are well maintained. The room I had was incredible - huge bathroom with separate tub and shower, nice balcony view of the Red Sea. Although the room was excellent, and the staff very accomodating, the restaurants were a little disappointing. The main restaurant is a buffet, which is OK but a little pricey and seemed to be understaffed. However, if you're looking for a nice hotel in this area, do consider this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Red Sea, preferably on the north side of the hotel so you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyngengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Greeting from intercontinental Aqaba Resort!

We would like to thank you for your great review. We are always delighted to hear from a happy guest. Your feedback and trust is much appreciated and your comments are of high significance to us, and are taken into great consideration to allow us to have the opportunity to excel in the quality of services we provide.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our accommodation was booked through Jordan Direct Tours as part of a week and a bit long tour. Reception staff were indifferent when checking in and average at other times but at least they didn’t run and hide like the Concierge did on occasions.

Room was nice and spacious and very clean although one phone had lost all its pre-sets. Shower had good pressure and was nice and hot but with a shower curtain. There was also a very good magnifying make up mirror in the clean Ensuite.
The room also comes with two sets of rubber thongs (for use throughout the resort) instead of the usual cheap slippers.
Requesting towels did mean a 22 minute wait for housekeeping to supply.

Beach towels also come with a small esky filled with ice and two small bottles of water.
The resort also has a large beach area (at least three times the amount of beach frontage to the Kempinski hotel (virtually) next door) with lots of covered sun lounges, so finding one shouldn’t be a problem.

The hotel is 10 mins walk (past the Kempinski and Moevenpick hotels respectively) to the centre of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GR8FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you on behalf of Intercontinental Aqaba for your review and for sharing your experience with us whether it’s good or bad enabling us to do better.
Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the Department Heads concerned and corrective action has been implemented immediately to further improve our service. It is only through comments such as yours that we are able to monitor and improve our levels of service.

We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to InterContinental Hotel Aqaba where we commit to displaying the true level of service we aspire to.


Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

I spent only 3 nights in this hotel and everything was well done... Clean and well organized...
I couldn t enjoy the beach because I was there for business and i had no enough time but the view was really awesome... Food is excellent... lobby and rooms as well :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinetal, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

We would like to take the chance to thank you for your positive review, we are extremely happy to hear about your pleasant stay with us, your feedback is much appreciated.
Looking forward to welcoming you back with us once you plan your next vacation to sunny Aqaba.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is clearly more of a resort than just a hotel. Several restaurants, several pools, nice beach..Personnel is super friendly and very helpful. Our room was very nice and the bathroom very good. Everything was clean and well taken care of. We stayed here for two days , three nights. Internet is free. The hotel is situated very near Aqaba center, which is small and friendly. The Spa is excellent and supervised by a super professional and friendly Nathalia. The choices for treatments are ample. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoorLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinetal, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Greetings from InterContinental Aqaba Resort!

First of all I want to thank you for your recent stay at InterContinental Aqaba Resort and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are extremely happy to hear that you had an excellent experience throughout your stay and found the service of our employees exceptional.

Looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Marina Koro
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
8.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.5 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#16 of 40 in Aqaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Aqaba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Property: InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Address: King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aqaba Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVATE PARADISE ON JORDAN’S RED SEA. InterContinental Aqaba Resort combines relaxing atmospheres and welcoming accommodations. This Red Sea beach resort has exceptional views of the Gulf of Aqaba, which is well known for its coral reef scuba diving and water sports. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, where a variety of historical ruins, the aquarium and a taste of Middle Eastern culture can always be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Aqaba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing