We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an amazing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Such an amazing weekend”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Yet another weekend in Aqaba... to choose a hotel in Aqaba its easy knowing Intercon is one of the options. it was very easy to book the room, arriving to hotel was very easy, and we were welcomed by the door employees, then we were seated with fresh juice to complete our booking,khaled was very nice and welcoming and extremely helpful. while checking in, Manager in duty, Mr Laith Hmoud, welcomed us, and ask if we needed anything, such a great welcome, felt like queen :)
room was great,, what a sea view,,, clean room with all needed. just wonderful.
pool was also great, staff were friendly and helpful. DJ Beso was amazing with the great choices of songs.
iftar and breakfast choices were great,,, all in place,
i can say,,, strongly, Intercon Aqaba is the best in the middle east. great job,,, keep it up.
i will sure come again soon.

Room Tip: Just inform the staff what you need, they are very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ms. DinaAT
First of all let me thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at InterContinental Aqaba , I am glad to hear it from that you had AMAZING WEEKEND , We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make InterContinental Aqaba Resort a leader in excellence. Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to welcome you soon in your second Home in Aqaba.
Mazen Abu Sakha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    245
    78
    36
    20
See reviews for
339
331
55
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

nice hotel, Quit beach wonderful staff, amazing seat on the beach , very good service.
The food fresh and in good quality. mainly 2 sizes of rooms ( regular rooms) choose the big one it have biggest bathroom.

Room Tip: overlooking sea view or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Feras J

First of all let me thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, and to thank you for your kind words about the hotel staff and facilities , I Hope that you had enjoyable and memorable stay with us . Once again thank for kind comments and hope to welcome you soon in your second home in Aqaba.
Mazen Abu Sakha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heilbronn, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

When my dad came to visit me in Jordan in January, we stayed a couple of days at the InterContinental in Aqaba. I was really impressed by the hotel, it was even more than a luxury hotel and way better than I expected! Off season, the hotel was not full, so it was quite calm and we had the beach and pools nearly for ourselves :) We also tried the spa, which was really great (sauna, steam bath and whirlpool are included in the room rate)! The room was amazing, we had a nice view to the sea. The bathroom was double the size than mine at home :) We had both, a tub and a shower, and the bathroom was full of cosmetic products, two bathrobes and nice flip-flops I even took home. The breakfast was a variety of Jordanian and international food, as I like sweets and a lot of fruits for breakfast, they definitely met my taste. We also tried the restaurants, there is a Lebanese restaurant and a buffet restaurant. Both were really good, but for the Lebanese restaurant I can say it was too expensive, even considering that it is in the InterContinental, for the same food or of even better taste I pay a tenth of the price in Amman! But the buffet restaurant was really good, had Traditional and International food and I think it was only 25JD per person. All in all the InterContinental will surprise you and its worth its price!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlenaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear AlenaJames
We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay at InterContinental Aqaba resort, We are so glad to hear that you had AMAZING stay and it our core business to provide the service that our guests love. Your comments about Burj Al Hamam restaurant prices will be taken in consideration, Once again thank you for your thoughtful comments and hope to welcome your again in your second home in Aqaba.
Mazen Abu Sakha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was a beautiful, luxurious hotel. The food was good, the staff were friendly, the pool was amazing. Only stayed a couple of nights as part of Sagas Treasures of Jordan Trip, which was fantastic by the way. Wished I could have stayed much longer. One of my very favourite hotels of all time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbieb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Barbieb2,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
What a lovely review!Allow me first to thank you for your positive feedback about our resort facilities and staff which was,one of your very favorite hotels of all time, as per your review, It is very much appreciated. And you pay us the highest compliment when you say “Wanted to stay forever”.
Thank you for your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back at your home away from home, Intercontinental Aqaba Resort.
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed there in Ramadan and had nice and relaxing time. Room was nice, central AC a bit noisy, but otherwise it was good. Martini's lounge was showing football on big TVs but for such big space they very actually small and not of real use. For some reason they also needed 45 min to bring our order and finally couldn't use my privilege card. Comparing to this Deli Cafe was very fast in serving and food was really good. Spa is worn and especially sauna and steam room need urgent repair. Staff was very kind and helpful and they made me feeling really good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasarbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear sasarbg,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
Thank you very much for your feedback and for your kind words about our resort,food and staff, your nice complements are a great motivation for our team to deliver a great service.
On the other hand, I am obviously disappointed to read that you experienced certain shortcomings during your stay which, therefore, has not been up to “Intercontinental Aqaba Resort standard”. For that, I would like to apologize. I will discuss with my team on how we can prevent those points to happen in the future.
Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Aqaba Resort in the near future.
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the InterContinental for 7 nights and realy enjoyed it! The food was from average quality but it was good! A very nice and clean beach. The staf was friendly and helpful. The only thing we missed was a good looking restaurant with excellent food wich most InterContinentals have. The breakfast was good but not from very high quality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MGourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear MGourman,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
Thank you for the nice words about our staff and facilities, as well for taking your time to share your feedback of your stay at our Resort.
Regarding the quality of food at the restaurant we do welcome constructive comments; our executive chef is handling the issue seriously for further improvement, we do have proven records of our quality standards. At the same time we wish to apologize for any shortcomings.
We take your feedback very seriously and want nothing more than to show you the sort of experience upon which we've built our reputation.
We hope to see you again soon, and look forward to the opportunity to make your next stay even better than your first.
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

the facilities of the hotel were in line with the 5 stars standard I expected so, in that regard, the hotel, is perfect.
I couldn't help noticing, however, that while the local staff was sometimes cold, unfriendly and inexperienced in customer service, the Filipino staff brought smiles, warmth and kindness to an environment which would be sterile and cold otherwise.

Room Tip: take a sea view. the rear view is horrible !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mazen-AbuSakha, General Manager at InterContinental Aqaba Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear eddie2208,
Warm greetings from Intercontinental Aqaba Resort!
We were very delighted for welcoming you in Intercontinental Aqaba Resort, and we would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your stay as well for taking the time advising us of you experience.
We are delighted to know that our Resort’s facilities and services were up to your expectations.
Your constructive comments are highly appreciated; regarding the Local staff, a continues training program are conducting to staff to fulfill guests needs and satisfaction .
Once again, many thanks for sharing your feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Intercontinental Aqaba Resort in the near future.
Sincerely Mazen Abu Sakha General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.2 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
8.4 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
0.5 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
Oryx Hotel Aqaba
#15 of 40 in Aqaba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Aqaba Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Aqaba Resort

Property: InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Address: King Hussain Street | Sweimah, Aqaba 77110, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aqaba
#1 Family Hotel in Aqaba
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aqaba
#2 Spa Hotel in Aqaba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Aqaba Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A PRIVATE PARADISE ON JORDAN’S RED SEA. InterContinental Aqaba Resort combines relaxing atmospheres and welcoming accommodations. This Red Sea beach resort has exceptional views of the Gulf of Aqaba, which is well known for its coral reef scuba diving and water sports. The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre, where a variety of historical ruins, the aquarium and a taste of Middle Eastern culture can always be found. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Aqaba Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Aqaba Hotel Aqaba
Aqaba Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing