We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not a 4 star”
Review of Captains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Captains Hotel
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Definitely not a 4 star”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel looked nice at night with all the lights on and candles but during the day it lost most of it charm.

It definitely is not the one and only boutique hotel in Aqaba (as their claim on their web); there are plenty of those in the vicinity. The rooms were far from deluxe and spacious. The décor might have been stylish but back in the late 70s/ early 80s and it has not been changed since then. The furniture looked used. The room size (3 people) was OK but bathroom was extremely tiny, uncomfortable and it was even difficult to turn around (we are normal size people:). There was a strong smell of cigarettes in the room and due to it it was difficult to sleep. There was no free wi fi – they only gave us a free voucher for 1,5 hrs. (after that you need to pay for the wi fi). I would expect much more for the price they charge.

Staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast selection was OK, but other meals I preferred to eat in town. Also, they had a very nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margareta X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    91
    38
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
81
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our stay here was just fine, but not luxurious . The room was clean, fresh towels every day. The breakfast buffet was good. The hotel has a nicer lobby than its peers. The staff was helpful. It is centrally located. In the evenings we walked to several of the 5-star hotels for drinks and then local restaurants for dinner. There are also several restaurants associated with the hotel. Wifi was available but at times slow. We bought our tickets for the Berenice beach club through the hotel and think we got a discount that way. There is no parking available through the hotel, so we had to park on the street.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aqaba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2014

no service, no guest handling, no managers available after midnight, very bad, the stuff does not care of the guest.. the guest and hotel's reputation are not valuable to the team, the hotel's classificaton does not deserve the four stars symbol

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hussamjamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A nice experience. It is not the most luxurious hotel, but it is perfectly nice. The real strength is the service and welcome - the guys behind reception were the most helpful I have ever encountered and responded to every query with courtesy and good advice. I would advise anyone visting Jordan to stay at this welcoming family run business. Breakfast is ok, nothing special, but the range of food in the evening is really strong. They should consider free wifi for all residents througout the hotel as confining it just to the coffee shop is a bit of a pain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daran71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

an excellent location, in the heart of Aqaba
they said 4 stars hotel, I think it is not
clean and good owner
the food quality is not good, althaugh the hotel has a big fancy and well known resturant; the food quality is bad.
it is good for business and not for a family stay
pool is very small
internet connectivity is bad

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nilhan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The first thing that attracts is the shape of the hotel itself,as it looks like a big ship, that is very likely for a city located on the seaside…as you are coming to enjoy the sea, so its nice to stay in a BIG SHIP :)…the location of the hotel is also amazingly practical, as everything u might need, u can find right next to you(pharmacy,souvenir shops,supermarkets ...etc )…the atmosphere inside the hotel is very loving and caring, it feels like everyone belong to one big family …the hotel is decorated appropriate to its name ,everywhere you can see that cute little stuff of the sea life :)…and after the day full of different adventures and activities its so pleasant to enter the room that feels like home,so clean and tidy…great housekeeping…the breakfast buffet has good variety of traditional and international choices that would charge full of powers to enjoy the day…also its so handy to have a restaurant that is a part of the hotel on the ground floor, and the camping in wadi rum that carries same name and all the comfort while it is made in a real Bedouin style …and the creators of all that is an amazing family who made sure that their visitor will find peace, rest, privacy, relaxation in a best way of Jordanian hospitality …they are always there for u…I would advice to stay in Captains hotel ,same as I do myself each time I come to Aqaba

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatalieIziumenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
305 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel is a good opportunity to be in the center of Aqaba. Nice and clean rooms. Towels changed everyday. Toilet courtesy items. Breakfast very delicious and various. Accurate and efficient staff. The restaurant in the same building is a must in Aqaba.
A special thanks to Adli Sammar at the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosaneranera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#7 of 40 in Aqaba
470 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
0.2 mi away
Cedar Hotel
Cedar Hotel
#6 of 40 in Aqaba
205 reviews
8.3 mi away
Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay, Aqaba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Hotel

Property: Captains Hotel
Address: Aqaba, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captains Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Captains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing