We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your hotel in Aqaba for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Captains Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captains Hotel
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Your hotel in Aqaba for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

We stayed at Captain’s Hotel for two nights in may 2010.

Upon arrival we were told that the hotel was overbooked and they gave us a suite instead of a standard double room for the same price, can’t complain about that, but it was a pity that we had to move to a standard room the next night. The suite we stayed in the first night was great, the room we got the second night was below our expectations, however they only charged 50 JD’s for the second night and I believe the room we got was not representative for the general standard of the hotel.

The hotel has a pool, it is however small and at the ground floor. Breakfast buffet was good. Staff was helpful. For a couple of nights in Aqaba, we would definitely recommend Captain’s Hotel. If you plan to stay longer, choose a hotel with a private beach.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olsusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    89
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
43
79
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

although not located at the beach, the hotel is a nice place to stay while in Aqaba. It is clean, cool, staff is friendly and breakfast is good.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalindaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

Check-in was quick but the room they initially gave us was a twin (we booked a double). When we asked for a double, the porter rolled his eyes and huffed & puffed a bit. We then got our double room with no questions asked.

Bed was huge and comfortable & the hotel was generally quiet & easy to sleep in. TV was small but had english channels. Bathroom tiny and poorly finished (grout splattered all over the place) which is a shame as the rest of the hotel is quite well built. Apparently there's a minibar but we didn't even see it so not sure if it stocks alcohol.

Breakfast was very average - croissants were just doughy bread in the shape of a croissant, sausages out of a tin. however the freshly cooked omlettes were very good.

There is a pool but it was very small and had a group of men hanging out there all afternoon - my wife didn't feel comfortable lying there so we gave it a miss.

The hotel is 10 mins walk from the beach but please note that the beach is private. As far as we're aware, you have to enter the beach via a 5* hotel (Kempinksi / Movenpick / Intercontinental). We ate at these hotels in the evening. Captains Hotel restaurant seemed to be full of coach-loads of tourists, packed in like sardines so we didn't eat there.

We arranged for a return taxi to Petra (1.5 hrs each way & he waited 4 hrs for us) costing 50JOD (he originally asked for 70 JOD, so theres definitely room for bartering).

This hotel is good as a 'budget' option but we used it as a base to explore Petra. I almost wish we'd spent more to stay at one of the beach hotels instead however it was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jingleybells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2010

The hotel has an excellent location, the rooms are clean and the food is very nice. The pool is small, but adequate as not that many of the guests seemed to use it when we were there. The water in the pool is freezing though!

One negative was that the wi-fi was not free and the cost to use it was very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterc243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

We had a great time at the Captains. It's at a good location (walkind distance from all kind of nice restaurants, the yachtclub, the beach etc). There was a free shuttle bus that went every day to south beach were snorkling was great! Staffa was really friendly, they have a nice swimminpool where you can relax in really nice chairs and enjoy one of the amazing fresh fruit juices. Rooms were modern, clean, breakfast was good. We booked through 'above and below' (www.aboveandbelow.info) which is a bureau just across the street that can also arrange al kinds of excursions for you, they were really nice!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelmavdBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2010

We didn't stay here, we were just down the road at hte Movenpick but we ate here one night and the food was really good. Really helpful staff who explained the dishes to us. Probably our best meal in Jordan and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

We agree with the positive reviews already posted. We would add that the TV was a flat screen LCD and the pool, smallish and unheated, was well maintained. The wifi and internet service cost 2 dinar/hour, the usual rate in the area. The restaurant had a moderately priced menu in its main floor venue and a buffet in a very attractive second floor open air lounge overlooking the street (with a camel being paraded back and forth for short rides). The aircon has a remote control without instructions, so check with the desk.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aqaba hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Aqaba
0.1 mi away
Al Qidra Hotel
Al Qidra Hotel
#6 of 40 in Aqaba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Aqaba Red Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Aqaba Resort
8.3 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belresort Tala Bay Aqaba
8.5 mi away
Marina Plaza Hotel Tala Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Hotel

Property: Captains Hotel
Address: Aqaba, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Aqaba
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Aqaba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captains Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing