We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful view i've ever seen..”
Review of Mount Fuji

Mount Fuji
Book In Advance
More Info
US$87.52*
and up
Mt Fuji, Yamanakako Onsen Experience and Outlets Shopping Day Trip From Tokyo
More Info
US$115.16*
and up
Mt Fuji Day Trip including Lake Ashi Sightseeing Cruise from Tokyo
More Info
US$142.80*
and up
Mt Fuji, Lake Ashi and Bullet Train Day Trip from Tokyo
Ranked #4 of 6,774 things to do in Chubu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Four routes, each divided into ten sections by stopping and refueling stations, lead up to Mt. Fuji's snow-covered tip. You don't have to be a die-hard mountaineer to climb Mt. Fuji; the slopes are full of children and adults of all ages, shapes, and sizes. The official climbing season only runs from the beginning of July to the end of August, but you can take the train from Toyko to the fifth station any season.
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The most beautiful view i've ever seen..”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a tour in this very famous, beautiful mount fuji. We didn't go near the mountain because it's far but even if it's a little far we can see the beauty and nice mountain, Luckily there's a festival there wherein you can see the beautiful flowers at the center the nice mount fuji, we can see it clearly. I want tro go back there again and again..

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank ynez1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    716
    259
    60
    10
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“It's beautiful above the clouds”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I visited the visitor's centre and drove up to 4th station (the road to 5th was closed due to snow) as part of a tour.
The view from the visitor's centre is nice (assuming Fuji isn't obscured by clouds - luckily it wasn't the day I was there), but it's hard to get a nicely composed photo because of the trees in front of Fuji.
4th station is above the clouds, even though I've been to higher mountains I've never seen clouds from above before, that was my favourite part of the trip.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank empress_cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“couldn't view on 1st visit but still feel excited !”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

the day was too cloudy so the top is covered, strong wind cancelled the boat ride and cable car ride, seems like missing all the top attractions in the mount fuji area, then the snow shut the road at level 1. but still had an enjoyable trip. Subsequent days along the highway, mother nature make up for it with clear sky, giving a spectacular snow capped mountain!! breathtaking! watch the video at the information centre to get a better understanding of the mountain. I find it informative. also has a small tourist shop where you can get the rubber stamp with date for your brochures.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jaymalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“The most difficult physical climb I ever did, but well worth the end result”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

There's apparently a Japanese saying that goes, "A wise man climbs Fujisan once, a foolish man does it twice." Well, attempting to do it once was hard enough.

For those who intend only to visit the car and bus-accessible 5th station, about 2300m above sea level, this area contains lodgings, restaurants, souvenir shops, the usual tourist trap staples; plus mountaineering supplies and a temple dedicated to the goddess of Mt Fuji. However, while there are some potential for good views from the carpark, and from the beginning of the mountain trail if you are up for it, it's best to be somewhere far away to fully appreciate Mt Fuji.

For those intending to climb Mt Fuji, there are plenty of good resources on the internet about preparation. Apart from good shoes, warm clothing (as even in summer, it can get bone-chillingly cold towards the top) and food and water supplies, you can also buy walking sticks which you can burn stamps into as you stop at each station on the way to the top (and which you have to pay each time for). Be aware of altitude sickness and its symptoms of headaches, nausea and constant tiredness.

We started climbing around 7:30pm in order to make it to the top before sunrise at around 3 or 4am. Believe it or not, there is heavy human traffic near the summit, and not just of adults but young children as well. There are several buildings at the top, including a temple complex (of course), souvenir and food shops and a meteorological station. There are toilet facilities but they are very grimy and poorly maintained. One can view the Mt Fuji crater (as this is still an active volcano, although the last eruption was in 1707). But undoubtably, the best part of being at the summit, apart from making it, is the sunrise. Absolutely gorgeous as to border on a spiritual experience, if one wasn't so dead from the effort.

In summary, if you're going to climb Mt Fuji, make sure you do your research and be well-prepared. One of the best experiences in my life.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Few Thousand Asians and 10 caucasians”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Climb not that hard if you're in moderate shape
THis is a pilgrimage for Japanese and I loved sharing the experience with them
Very crowded hiking with frequent queues
Extraordinary crowded and sleeping shoulder to shoulder next to dozens of your newest friends for a couple houris quite the experience
hiking with headlights in the pre-dawn darkness sublime
You should make reservations at a lodge at one of the upper stations (winging it you might get lucky but in Japan, they don't understand it)... it is expensive for over $100 for 2' X 7' personal space and a so-so meal

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Itineranttraveler72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Fuji also viewed

Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun
Narusawa-mura, Minamitsuru-gun
 

Been to Mount Fuji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing