We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location makes it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Nagoya
Ranked #36 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The great location makes up for what some would consider a tired room. Wonderfully soft bed compared to the typical Japanese bed. Clean and consistent standard from international Best Western properties. No real breakfast options in-house other than Starbucks on the first floor. Free wired internet at a reasonable speed is nice; pay wifi.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid street nosie.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Nagoya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

This hotel was not very nice. Only stayed one night for a Sumo Tournament and glad it wasnt any longer.

Location was okay in the Sakae area which I'm told is fairly central.

The room is dark, the furniture probably hadnt been changed since the 80s. The clock seriously looked like the 80s idea of futuristic.

It was reasonably clean enough but for Japan's standards, it was probably the worst out of everywhere we stayed.

When I booked, I was also told there would be free wifi. However when we got there the staff had very limited english and told us that internet was only available for Japanese users. They could not explain anymore than that.

Also when we asked for an English map, they dug up a French one, handed it to us and pretty much sent us on our way. In terms of service, particularly in Japan which is usually really good, it was not great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbearsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Best Western Nagoya while traveling with my family and working at Nagoya University for a few days. I chose this place based on good TripAdvisor reviews, a central location, and a good price for the 3 of us found through BW's own website. We were a bit disappointed in the room for a family of 3, though it would have been better for an individual. We were quite happy with the location. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from Sakae, which is perhaps the central point in Nagoya (note: use subway exit #12 for easiest access). This makes it easy to get to most places in Nagoya. The hotel rooms are ok, but a little worn. The main double bed was comfortable enough. The sofabed couch filled most of the rest of the room when extended. The rules were that there was no extra charge for a child if using existing bedding. But there was no additional bedding (that we could find). So we gave our daughter one of our pillows, and a sheet that we took from our bed, and found that one of the adult-sized yukatas (robes) in the room made a more-or-less functional set of covers. But we did at least appreciate that the extra bed could pack away during the day. The fridge in the room was much appreciated, as was the kettle. Internet is free - a good thing - but it is wired only, so no possibility of multiple users on-line at the same time, at least not without additional paraphernalia. The wired internet necessitated the use of the desk chair, which was surprisingly uncomfortable, at least for American-sized bodies (I'm tall, but quite thin). The A/C works great. We did not use the hotel breakfast most days, instead relying on the vast number of convenience stores to be found within a 2-block radius (the Japanese ones are much better than their American counterparts, in my opinion). We did try the breakfast buffet one day. It was ok, but not great. A reasonable selection of items in a pleasant enough setting, but not on the level that I've encountered at other Japanese hotels, and the food was of medium quality. The Starbucks in the lobby was appreciated. For the price that we got for the 3 of us, I was happy enough with this hotel, but it wasn't anything to write home about. If staying in Nagoya, I'd certainly be happy to stay at Sakae again, though. For exercise I enjoyed being able to run up to Nagoya Castle each morning. One can follow the "Central Park" past Nagoya Tower, and then jog across about a quarter mile to the path around the castle perimeter and adjoining park. Very pleasant, and even peaceful early in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CPtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This is purely a utilitarian hotel. Not bad, just not a lot amenities. There was free wired Internet in the room, and a computer in the lobby. There was a frig in the room. Although, it was half stocked with items the hotel wanted you to pay for. However, there was enough room to store things purchased from the convenience store located close by.

It was centrally located. Close to plenty of restaurants and bars, as well as a subway stop.

The room sizes were "average" for Japanese hotel rooms (i.e. small compare to most US hotel rooms). The rooms were very clean, also something very common in Japan (unfortunately, not as common the US). The staff did speak English well enough to check in and get general directions.

The bed was a bit hard, and pillow lumpy, but we made due.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed for 4 nights over the Japanese F1 Grand Prix weekend, but even so the price was still very reasonable. Close to Sakae Subway station and lots of Japanese and fast food dining options, 2 Lawson's, a 7/11 and a Circle K all within 3 minutes walk. Check-in was a breeze. For those travelling without a laptop, you can hire a laptop to access the free in-room LAN service for 1000Y a night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

we stayed for 3 nights. the location isn`t too bad at all. about 3 minutes walk from Sakae station (subway).there`s many restaurants and clubs around. the staff speak fluent English and they were very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestjar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

hotel with chapel specializing in weddings. comfortably-sized rooms (queen double) by japanese standards with free wired internet. what distinguishes this hotel is the very friendly & helpful, english-speakng concierge. invaluable to first time visitors to a japanese city. amongst others, recommended excellent restaurants and stayed overtime to make the bookings on short notice. interesting breakfast that includes a vitamin and health supplement buffet. walking distance to the sakae subway station and sakae shopping district. phone hotel directly with exact travel dates to check their best direct rates vs online offers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tripsjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 171 in Nagoya
714 reviews
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
the b nagoya
the b nagoya
#10 of 171 in Nagoya
513 reviews
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Hotel MyStays Nagoya Sakae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Trusty Nagoya Sakae
#26 of 171 in Nagoya
195 reviews
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Nagoya

Address: 4-6-1 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Precede Nagoya)
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range: £46 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Nagoya 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Fastbooking, Expedia, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing