We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room size; good place for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya
Ranked #23 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice room size; good place for a night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed on a night when accommodation was hard to find in Nagoya and this was one of the only Western-style hotels available. Very happy with our "choice" though as though it was an older, smaller property, it had large sized rooms by Japanese standards. The location was easy enough to reach via subway from Nagoya Station. Of Japanese hotels I've been do it had by far the most English on signs and papers, and the check in staff spoke adequate English too, though we didn't have any special requests.

Did not try the breakfast or the Starbucks. Hooked on 7/11 / conbini breakfasts in Japan :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    164
    77
    10
    7
See reviews for
73
73
55
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend.
The room is large enough and the bathroom is a very nice size. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed December 2013

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varies all the time
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

The hotel is rather near to the Sakae subway station (Higashiyama line, trains towards Fujigaoka).The hotel itself is average-sized, rooms are nicely large (at least when rated with Japanese standards). This is not a very modern hotel, and there are a minor signs of wear & tear. Still, everything worked and our room was clean. There are many fast food stalls and coffee shops near the hotel (including Starbucks in the 1st floor).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SneakerGeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwakuni, Japan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I booked this hotel because Starbucks was in the lobby, and thought that would make our stay more convenient, because a decent cup of coffee would be right downstairs.

We arrived by car and as fate would have it, there was no courtesy parking area for the hotel, not even a drop off area. My husband literally, pulled over on the main road so that I could jump out and run in to find out where to park, then run back out to find him and go park the car. We were told that there was only one parking garage big enough for our rented Voxy, which was a five minute walk away, and the discounted price (because we were guests of the hotel) was 2,100 yen per day.

The man who assisted us checking in spoke little to no English and was very frustrating because he kept repeating the only English words that he knew and took 30 seconds to think about the words or process his next set.

Smoking is allowed in the hotel, so naturally, we had just got into an elevator that smelled like someone had just got off with a cigarette in hand.

The room was tinier than any other Japanese room we've stayed in here in Japan, so was the restroom, and the toilet. The shower curtain smelled like it was washed and not dried properly, so it had an odor to it, on top of needing replacing all together. Other than the shower curtain, the bathroom had good amenities and it was clean. On the plus side, the pillows and the bed were not traditional Japanese style, so it was a comfortable night of rest.

We had an unenjoyable breakfast here as well. We figured that we would at least try it. I lost my interest when I saw the french fries as part of the buffet. We ate a round, no refills, and off to Starbucks we went. We didn't have breakfast there the next day.

The walls are thin, so you can hear conversations in the other rooms.

In all honesty, Starbucks was the best part of this hotel. If you can deal with that, then stay here because the location is convenient. We learned that it was a good idea to rent a car as opposed to taking the bullet train. The train station is a short distance away, but certainly a long enough distance in this cold weather. It might've ended up being at least a 1,000 yen taxi ride to the station, maybe at least 1,500 is closer to the truth.

Room Tip: Hit or miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exquisitektc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

5 mins walk from Sakae Subway Station (use Exit 12). There are plenty of foods and many different types of store in the subway and along the street.

Hotel is small but reasonably clean. The room size is about average but a little oldish. Air conditioning is my primary complain. The ventilation is quite poor and warm (Probably switched to heater during December) and unable to open the window. That really makes my sleep uncomfortable. Hotel does provide portable air humidifier and it does help a little. . Another issue was the room power amp seems to be lower than usual, it takes much longer to charge small electronics devices like phone, camera battery and tablet.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DesmondLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night. The room was clean and about same size an American 1 bed hotel room. Which I think is big for Japan. The wifi works great. I believe my cost was $68 for the night which is a good deal.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jamcanbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This hotel is near the nagoya downtown sakae, very nice place and a lot of fun. The hotel is clean and the service is excellent. The breakfast is also great. There is a starbucks on the first floor of the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Tian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Hotel MyStays Nagoya Sakae
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#7 of 168 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
the b nagoya
the b nagoya
#9 of 168 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Nagoya Station
Nishitetsu Inn Nagoyanishiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya
Address: 4-6-1 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Precede Nagoya)
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Rakuten, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing