We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare Basic - all you can expect from a typical business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Ranked #15 of 167 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Bare Basic - all you can expect from a typical business hotel”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 via mobile

To be honest, it was a bit disappointing especially after a stay in the nice Kyoto Shijo-Karasuma branch. The Daiwa Roynet Nagoya Ekimae hotel is indeed a typical Japanese business hotel which you will find the bare basics and good only if you look for a cheap quick overnight stay. This did serve our purpose as it was only a stay of less than 12 hours before we departed Japan via Nagoya.

Room is very small (we had twin rooms) and the beds are right next to each other. Amenities are not offered inside hotel room. Instead you pick it up during your check-in at the reception. Both payment and checkout are done using the automatic machines just like other Daiwa Roynet hotels. Washroom is also tiny.

As other people commented, the hotel is not exactly close to railway station despite its name as Ekimae (in front of station). You need to cross at least two roads before you get there and I would say about 5-8 minute walk. At the station, you will find big department stores like Meitetsu and Takashimaya. A good thing is there is a Lawson convenience store right outside the hotel.

Also a car park next to hotel and overnight parking is 1,500 yen per car.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmomimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    214
    46
    14
    5
See reviews for
57
64
93
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Yes, there are two Daiwa Roynet hotels near the Nagoya station! One is near the Fast train exit with the name Shingansan and the other is near the Highway Bus center and the subway line with the name Ekimae meaning in front of station - which is this one.

I have stayed on both sides before and knew of their locations well. The former is of a large and bright lobby and is much more expensive than this one, around HK$1,300 where Ekimae is only HK$810.

If you look at the map, there are numerous hotels within 1-2 minutes walk around the Shingansan exit. This one is comparatively a bit far away with at least 6-7 minutes walk to the station.

Room is a little bit spacious when compared to other bugde hotels. For ladies, they provide additional amenities when check-in, including bath powder, hair clips, shower caps and hair bands. The two coffee drips are also interesting particularly when you have nothing to do in the room!

Automatic check-out process is implemented where you only need to insert your room key to the machine and when it shows 0 dollars to pay, you can leave. It is not miserable to leave as the staff in the counter will also say goodbye and thank you to you when they saw you. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucerneSau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights.
Booked a deluxe double room for myself and my daughter.
I studied the map on the hotel's website the night before.
Once you get your bearings, the location is fairly easy.
You want to look for the spiral towers and head towards that. The hotel is an easy walk from that.
If you are coming from Nagoya Station, do not exit on the Shinkansen side, the hotel is on the Sakura Dori exit direction.

My double room is an fairly good size at 18sq metres.
The bed is a proper double bed, not the semi doubles that a lot of chain Japanese hotels provides and my daughter and I could fit quite comfortably in it.
Bed is firm but comfortable. I understand that the hotel was recently refurbished in 2011 so everything is new and clean.
There is a clothes rack right by the entrance where you can also stow your luggage there.
The bathroom is large by Japanese hotels standards. The usual amenities like shampoo, foam bath, conditioner, toothbrushes, combs, shavers etc are provided.

You can set the temperature in your room to either heater mode or aircon mode. I find this feature impressive because Japanese hotels tend to turn up their heating in winter which can get fairly oppressive sometime. This feature allows you to select a temperature you are comfortable with.

Hotel has three washer/dryer machines in the laundry room on the 6th floor.
Cost 200yen to wash only and up to 400yen if you choose the wash and dry function.
Detergent is automatically dispensed into the machine. No need to purchase or add your own.

There is a Moringa coffee shop right next to the hotel and a Japanese food joint next to Moringa.
The Lawson minimart is located right next to the Japanese food joint, good for late night snacks and drinks although the hotel also provides a kettle and tea, coffee packages if you'll rather make
your own.

I would stay in this hotel again, it's location is really good and the hotel staff very polite and friendly, especially the lady working the late afternoon, evening shift.

Room Tip: The standard doubles and the deluxe doubles are actually the same size, just that the standard doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
292 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I stayed in the Daiwa Roynet Ekimae for business for 3 nights. Overall, I was really happy with the choice. The hotel is relatively new and rooms are in good condition. The A/C works great (once you figure out which mode is Air Conditioning!) It isn't self explanatory and only is in Japanese, so I had to ask the front desk clerk who happily explained which mode was A/C and not just fan.
The bed was comfortable, they have actual Wireless internet (a rare treat in Japan), the breakfast is basic, but good with a choice of western or japanese in adjacent coffee shops and the room was clean (expected in Japan). Overall, it was a great choice and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, even though the rooms face a busy street. I always like upper floors to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechMarauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
308 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Having travelled around Japan for three weeks and having some notion of what business hotels are like, I found this just average. Perhaps I hit a busy couple of days for Nagoya since I paid about double what I had been paying for similar places in other large cities (Y13,000 versus 6-8,000 otherwise). Room was slightly larger than average but faced an internal wall. Typical for Japanese business hotels, the instructions for using it were mor copious than the offering of ten Japanese-language channels. Internet was wired...I have learned to hate these short blue LAN cords. They did offer some free coffee and there is a fridge and pants press in the room. The bathroom cubical is basic and there was a long black hair stuck to the shower wall. In Japan this must be a criminal offense considering how spotless even low-priced hotels usually are. Good location just five minutes walk from the sprawling train station complex if you exit the correct (main) entrance.

Room Tip: The internal wall is rather ugly...try for something outside facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

- within 5 minutes walk to main railway stations
- comfortable room (more than what I expect from a basic business hotel)
- minimal staff at reception -- the staff seems to be friendly but are there mainly/only to show you how to check-in and check-out using the machine
- no wifi at lobby and guest room

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineTsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

First off, there are TWO of these Daiwa Roynet Hotels in Nagoya near the train station. Make sure you pick the right one. The one I stayed at is the Nagoya Ekimae which is on the Southeast side of the main train station (the more "popular" side). The other one is on the Northwest side of the train station just about the same distance away (both are about a 5-8 minute walk from the station). If you get turned around at the station (like I did), you can easily end up at the wrong hotel and if you don't speak Japanese (like me), it can be "frustrating" trying to figure out why they don't have your reservation (and why they seem to be telling you that you are at the wrong hotel).
The hotel itself is very nice, clean, and efficient. The beds are hard, but every bed I had in Japan was hard, so that is evidently the norm. The room was small, but very efficient and clean. Everything worked well, including the wired internet (no wireless). There is a coffee shop that serves breakfast for a reasonable price (500 yen) on the ground floor. There is a convenience store right at the corner, the underground shopping complex (with almost limitless food and shopping choices) is just a block away, and if you must have American junk food, McD's is just across the street. You are near the main train station, so transportation options are almost limitless. The hotel lobby is on the second floor, but there is an elevator if you are too tired (like I was) to take the stairs. Overall, it was a good value for a hotel that close to the center of Nagoya. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae

Property: Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Address: 1-23-20 Meieki-minami, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0003, Aichi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#8 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, JAPANiCAN, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing