We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT ITALIAN RESTAURANT WITH JAPANESE TWIST”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Kawabun Nagoya

The Kawabun Nagoya
Ranked #20 of 15,829 Restaurants in Nagoya
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“GREAT ITALIAN RESTAURANT WITH JAPANESE TWIST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is one of the most value for money high end Italian restaurant using top local ingredients such as Aichi Beef, Geoduck, etc. The brilliance in the cooking shines through in how the various chefs synchronize the Japanese ingredients with Italian cooking. Each course within the set menus are specifically prepared by different chefs. The wine list can be stronger but they have a nice cigar bar. It is wonderfully designed and very comfortable for either dining or drinks and cigar. The service staff were FANTASTIC and we were served very well. Will definitely make an effort to go back again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paullings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
259 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Exquisite Food in a Stunningly Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

I visited here for my cousin's wedding at Nagoya. I really enjoyed the delicious food, gracious service, and beautiful setting. The food decoration is lovely and wonderfully served. Everything was presented exquisitely, and the garden of the restaurant was very beautiful.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie_in_Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
243 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Group dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a business dinner here. The atmosphere was wonderful and the food good. Beautiful setting. We had buffet style food so I can't comment on the menu but the selections we had were good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carync6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, food almost perfect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

The building is just stunning - from the exteriors almost tropical appearance, to the flame lit court yard and the understated but extremely stylish dining room - the whole expereince is fantastic. The food was brilliant and close-but-no-cigar by turns, if you are not careful they'll fill you with bread before you've finished but overall a highly recommended venue. I was with Japanese business colleagues who dont mess about if a place doesnt deliver so I'd happily go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kawabun Nagoya also viewed

Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture
Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture
 
Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture
 
Nagoya, Aichi Prefecture
 

Been to The Kawabun Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing