We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious room and quality amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Nagoya Cypress

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
Ranked #30 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious room and quality amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel just past noon. The rooms were not ready yet but we left our luggage at the concierge which were already taken to the room we came back. Though not speaking fluend English, all the staff were very courteous and trying their best to help you.

There was about 10 minutes walking from Nagoya Station where you could find large shopping centers including Takashimaya. The underground train stop was just a block away. It also didn't hurt that there was a Lawson right besides the hotel.

We loved our super spacious room. Large beds, large windows, and large bathroom, which is very rare in Japan. The amenities provided were very good brands and definitely high quality products.

As a hotel aimed at business traveler, families may find it a little boring. But it's worth considering even for leisure traverlers thanks to the good things I mentioned above.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill_SS_SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    88
    44
    9
    0
See reviews for
22
37
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Room is bigger than typical Japanese hotel.

Few blocks away from nagoya station.

Lawson (mini market) is just accross the street and few blocks away you can find japanese 24 hour food.

Next door you find Hida Beef Restaurant. Now I dont have to go to Takayama to eat my favorite Hida Beef :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Free Wifi is the best thing when traveling, and this hotel offers it. Although rooms are pretty small - i think i have a Full size bed, luckily it's just me. Bathroom is fairly small but enough for one person. Carpet has some stains on it and needs replaced. I think it's fine for one person, but definitely not 2. Breakfast is meh...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grezyerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

The internet is now FREE....wow...i guess the cost is built into room charges.
Also now breakfats is also included in the hotel room package but unfortunately i only managed to get up once to eat breakfast.
Generally the hotel and staff are good they should introuduce a key drop box for those who just dropping off key in morning as sometimes there is a queue in morning when customers are checkin out and you are in rush to catch train.
I generally find the hotel clean and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel just charges for everything. At check in being a gold member, I asked if I could have an upgrade, they tried to explain to me, since it's a Mercure, they don't give upgrades. Booked a double room, and asked if we could have twin beds, he wanted to charge us extra, which is ok if it's just a bit, but he quoted a price which was the same price as the room! Getting into the room, they charge for coffee!

Pros:
1. Location, is close to the main railway station, but not THAT close to be noisy.
2. Convenience store just in front of it.
3. Metro station a 1 min walk away.
4. The welcome drinks were good.

Cons:
1. The bed is HARD. Haven't they heard of cushions, or mattress pads?
2. Wifi didn't work. Can't connect. When I stayed, the wifi is already free, as what everyone posted below. But then again, it doesn't work.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank vodkacran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This a reasonable hotel located a few minutes walk from Nagoya station, accessible underground during the day to just a half a block away. It is a typical Mercure Hotel, and like every hotel I experienced in Japan, enjoys good service and excellent staff.
Two things amazed me about this hotel; In all my years as a hotelier and a travel agent, and in all the hundreds of hotels I have visited and worked in around the world, this is the first hotel I have stayed in that charges for the in-room coffee. The in-room tea and coffee, so ubiquitous in hotel rooms, seems almost as standard as the bar of soap in the bathroom. To be told, as this Mercure does, that you are required to pay Y420 if you use it, seems an affront. Are hotels chains becoming like German motor cars, where everything but the absolute bare basics is extra?
I am a big fan of Richard Quest, who rallies so strongly against the ludicrous charges levied by hotels for WiFi. I, like him, make a stand by seeking alternatives on principle. At Y1500 a pop, the Mercure Cypress is one of those that helps fuel the furore about overcharging.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikejnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

The hotel is located about 5 mins walk from Nagoya station. Service was good with the manager taking me to the room. The room was a standard class of rooms in Japan. However internet was charged as opposed to being normally free. Breakfast which is included, was a good spread. Convenient store is right across the road. TV provided had one English channel, something not common in Japanese business hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonyrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Inn Nagoya Sakuradori
Nagoya Station
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
#34 of 168 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
#22 of 168 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nagoya Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nagoya Cypress

Property: Mercure Nagoya Cypress
Address: 2-43-6 Meieki, Nakamura-Ku | Aichi, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nagoya Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Nagoya Cypress is conveniently located in the city center, just a short walk from Nagoya railway station (bullet train). The hotel features 115 confortable rooms, 2 restaurants, a bar and conference facilities for up to 100 delegates. The Nagoya Congress Centre, Citizens Auditorium and Nagoya Dome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Rakuten so you can book your Mercure Nagoya Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Nagoya
Accor The Cypress Nagoya
Nagoya Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing