We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing spectacular but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
Ranked #32 of 177 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Stayed at the Nagoya Sofitel because we were looking for a hotel with easy access to Nagoya Station. Sofitel was a great choice because it was about 5 minutes walk from Nagoya Station. Service and rooms were ok, nothing spectacular but nothing to complain about either...

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgpoonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2010

This was a business segment of a larger trip; otherwise we might have missed Nagoya (which is a nice city). The Sofitel had a very nice staff, who were always exceptionally helpful. The furniture in the rooms could use an upgrade in my opinion, although my partner did not feel that was an issue. The furniture wasn't obviously old in any way, but the style was looking tired. (There were a few small circles in the carpet where they must have cut out some stained spots, and replaced it.) Everything was perfectly clean of course. The bed was comfortable, with new linen, and the room was pleasantly warm (we are both often cold), with an easily adjustable thermostat. Our visit was in a cold snap in December. Although there was a couple with kids next door, we never heard them at all. I don't know if that was due to excellent sound-insulation, or a very unusual set of kids/parents. The bath had a Western/European style shower-bath combination. The sink/vanity was more or less in the main room (in that 70's apartment style). The main area where the hotel was not up to snuff was the breakfast. The breakfast had both Western and Japanese dishes. However, the Western component (at least) was not up to the quality of the other aspects of the restaurant. The cereal selection was very limited (with no meusli or granola - only some standard big-name cereals) . Also, the (scrambled) eggs were cold every morning, regardless of the time we came down. The coffee wasn't really worth bothering with. However, there is a coffee shop (a Doutor) a block or so away. Aside from the breakfast, we were perfectly happy here. The room wasn't exciting, but it was completely comfortable, relatively large for Japan, and had a nice view. I think we were on the top floor. There were some other Western guests at the hotel - presumably because of the chain. Oh, I think the only English-language station was CNN (and maybe BBC).

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 4 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 December 2009

All the while I thought “Sofitel” is a 5 star hotel, to my surprised, Sofitel Nagoya really disappoint me. It’s only a 3 star standard to me! I’ve stayed in Sofitel Macau (Superb!!) , Sofitel HCM & Sofitel in Bangkok before, they are relatively good hotels & carry the brand “Sofitel” well.
The room in Sofitel Nagoya is so small, the bed is small too.Lucky it was jus a 1 nite stay else I’ll have nightmare.
The only advantage abt this hotel is the location, very convenient & near to the Nagoya station, jus 5 mins walk. It makes going to the airport by train so easy, even connecting to the Bullet train also easy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vijmrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 19 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 19 June 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 April 2009

An excellent choice for JR Pass travellers as is easy walking distance to Nagoya Station. As already stated the hotel's exterior is unprepossessing but the rooms are spacious and well appointed by Japanese standards and the area is quiet. The lobby is a little smoke-filled from time to time so we were not inclined to linger. Staff are extremely courteous and attentive. Many excellent eating options are within strolling distanceof the hotel. The 24hour Lawson's on the opposite corner to the Sofitel is great for snacks, drinks and those forgotten items.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pmariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 177 in Nagoya
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Nagoya
#1 of 177 in Nagoya
1,523 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nagoya Cypress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nagoya Cypress

Address: 2-43-6 Meieki, Nakamura-Ku | Aichi, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range: £74 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nagoya Cypress 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Nagoya Cypress is conveniently located in the city center, just a short walk from Nagoya railway station (bullet train). The hotel features 115 confortable rooms, 2 restaurants, a bar and conference facilities for up to 100 delegates. The Nagoya Congress Centre, Citizens Auditorium and Nagoya Dome are also nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Nagoya Cypress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Nagoya
Accor The Cypress Nagoya
Nagoya Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing