We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so, but stuff is very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Nagoya Castle
Ranked #21 of 176 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I have conflicting impressions about this hotel. On the one hand - cramped room, no wi-fi in the room and in the lobby (although in my voucher was written, that there is wi-fi), without the wardrobe, far from the center but close to the Nagoya Castle. Is two times more expensive than hotel with better quality in the center of Nagoya. On the other hand - the affable and friendly staff. And also do not charge a deposit.

Room Tip: No wi-fi, no wardrobe in standart room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxim77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

If you like castles. you wouldnt want to miss staying in this hotel as it wowed me by its night view of the famous nagoya castle. We went there with a tour group and as usual the hotel is not near to many amenities but the moment we look through the window of our hotel room, we were amazed to see a very good front view of the castle lighted up at night. We managed to took a few shots of the castle before its lights went out. The facilities seem really new and i supposed its is pretty new hotel in the location and it seems to be encircled within the parameters of the nagoya castle. The service crew were pretty polite but they were all japanese and most of them are not english speaking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frossiebombom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Note: I am SPG Platinum.
Upgraded to the 9th floor.
Free breakfast.
Free drinks in the lounge.
Free Wifi.
Great service...everyone is so nice.
So the rooms are a bit dated....the beds are great and the castle view is really cool (I've stayed here at least 30 nights).
There are newer hotels in Nagoya, but for the price, IMHO none of them beat this hotel.

Room Tip: Castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexInJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

booked a nonsmoking double room, but got a stinking smoking one instead. no more double nosmokingrooms available, so they downgraded me to a tiny single nosmoking room instead of upgrading me. 80's decor. no water. stains on the sheets. great service. not.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel is lovely
It might not be near all the buzz at the station area n business district but the 1500-2000¥ cab ride is affordable or free shuttles works well

From the bellboy to front reception to concierge, they are extremely cheerful helpful and their sincerity in making guests feel at home was amazing.

Information about restaurants n recreation out of hotel was very well organized from pictures to address and pricing.

I will definitely return to find out more about this city n stay with the Westin again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeVirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Thought that all Westin hotels have certain standards, but there is an exception to everything and I learned this the hard way. Was here on business and stayed at this hotel because it is a corporate preferred hotel. Was very surprised to learn how small the room was (literally can fit one single bed and a bathroom) and the dodgy bathroom was unbearable (decor and faucet date back to the 80's). Worst of all was completely caught off guard about the fact that the hotel does not supply bottled water to all hotel guests. You have to go to a convenience store 5-10min away to purchase them unless you want to waste money on the mini-bar. Gym opens at 11am for god knows what reason. Overall a very disappointing experience and definitely falls short of the basic requirements of a business hotel. Not even sure why it is part of Westin. Starwood should really look at the service and amenity standards of this hotel. Would suggest all travellers to stay away. A complete waste of money.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Asiabizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was my second time staying at the Westin, Nagoya ... the last time was when Expo was in Nagoya in 2005 ... I suppose what struck me most was I think the hotel was identical ... and it still looked fresh and new ... I suppose this says consistency and reliability which I guess is a good thing in a hotel.

The room was good, but more or less what you would expect ... service was very good, as you would expect ... food was good, as you would expect ...

I suppose the highlight is the proximity to Nagoya castle and the stunning view (our room faced the castle, which we would recommend) - especially at night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breakingoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Hilton Nagoya
#1 of 176 in Nagoya
1,492 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
#10 of 176 in Nagoya
445 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 176 in Nagoya
738 reviews
Nagoya Station
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
Mercure Nagoya Cypress
#31 of 176 in Nagoya
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nagoya Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nagoya Castle

Address: 3-19 Hinokuchicho, Nishi-ku, Nagoya 451-8551, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range: £107 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nagoya Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Nagoya Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Nagoya Castle Hotel Nagoya
Nagoya Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing