We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd expect better from a Westin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Westin Nagoya Castle
Ranked #18 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I'd expect better from a Westin”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I spent here 2 night on a business trip. I had Castle view, which was amazing - especially at night. First I received a smoking room, however non-smoking was booked - the staff was really helpful and I received a new, non-smoking room. The gym is only opens at 11am and closes at 10pm. Really disappointing, could not use it. The room was ok, the bed is really comfortable, the breakfast is not a Westin standard. I love Westin's, but this is below my expectations - especially, that Nagoya Westin is even more expensive, than much better Westin's in Japan...

Room Tip: Castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biguss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, マネージャー at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you very much for your stay at The Westin Nagoya Castle.
We value your feedback and aim to provide the best possible service to our customers to be a better hotel.
We are sincerely looking forward to your visiting our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    238
    123
    25
    15
See reviews for
107
92
97
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights.

LOCATION - about 6-10 min walk to the nearest metro station. Still ok but become an hassle arriving and departing from the hotel. They have a hourly shuttle bus from hotel to Nagoya Station and we used that upon our departure which is convenient. We could not use the shuttle when we arrive as we arrived late at past 9pm (service stops at around 8pm I think) and had to use the taxi which is about 1500JPY. If you intend to use the shuttle upon arrival, be sure to check on the timing and location to board the bus.

ROOM - big for Japan standard. Good value. We had the Nagoya Castle view room and was nice.

FOOD - breakfast in hotel is pretty good. Maybe it is not the peak period so we did not experience the crowd that some reviewers mentioned.

SERVICE - not as efficient as Tokyo's (we cannot help making the comparison having arriving in Nagoya from Tokyo) but this is the general pace in Nagoya I guess. However, they do go all out to make sure you are comfortable and happy. Staff are very humble and courteous.

Room Tip: Go for the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcheng1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, マネージャー at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your staying at The Westin Nagoya Castle. As our hotel is a little far away from the center of city and Nagoya Station,
we are sorry to have given our guests the trouble of coming over to and going out from our hotel.
Instead, we can deliver the calm and quiet environment for guests to have their hotel experiences.
We aim to make our best effort to deliver the personalized guest experience for their satisfaction.
We look forward to your visiting our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and always found tge staff very respectful and couteous. It was a pleasure to be served by them. The breakfasts were exellent with a wide choice of food styles. Dinner in the la boulongne restaurant was bordering on poor. A kind description would be bland.

My bedroom was a little cold and a bit noisy. It appeared to be single glazed which would explain this. Noise also came in from the corridor.

The bed was really comfortable. TV is very limited if you are looking for English speaking channels - BBC or CNN. If you were looking for any other European language then you will be disappointed.


Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your staying at The Westin Nagoya Castle.
We are utmost pleased to learn that you had a good impression on the service and attitude of our associates.

At the same time, we deeply apologize for the inconvenience and trouble your had during your stay this time.

In the futurer, we are truly committed to ensuring that we can deliver the best possible level of service and so really value your feedback.

We sincerely hope you will visit our hotel again in the near future.


With our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

You can expect the consistent high standard from Westin. This location is about a 7-10 min cab ride away from train station. Service is very good, rooms well set out, well designed. A quite location that provides an opportunity to soak up everything the Castle has to offer.

Was a bit surprised to be told the gym was not open until 11am on Saturday mornings....? Perhaps a one off situation...hotel staff can hopefully clarify.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room facing the castle. The Castle is lit up at night and provides a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braveheart1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your staying at The Westin Nagoya Castle.
We are very pleased to know that you are satisfied with our service and location.

Our fitness club usually opens at 11:00. We hope your understanding and cooperation on this matter.

We look forward to your next visit in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
969 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Grand lobby and a nice bar on the ground floor. We had an SGP upgrade to a junior suite with a magnificent view of the castle. The room was spacious by Japanese standards, with a very nice bathroom (with a separate floor level shower). Wi-Fi reception in the room was perfect. They have a free shuttle bus from/to Nagoya JR Station but we never used it as it did not suit our schedule. Getting there by subway takes 15 minutes with a transfer and a 20-minute walk from the City Hall subway station, so one might as well take a walk of 25-30 minutes. They have the most attentive front desk staff. We had to leave early before they open for breakfast, so upon hearing this, the concierge offered to pack something edible for us to eat on the train. When we asked to get us some Japanese fare instead of continental breakfast items next time they called us a few times to make sure we like whatever limited supplies they had left at night allowed them to prepare for us. And we tried to be as polite with them as they were with us. Of course, if you have an attitude they wouldn't let you take your coffee with you back to your room. Nobody would.

Room Tip: Except for the castle there's not much to do in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for you staying at The Westin Nagoya Castle.

We truly appreciate for your positive feedback.

Guest satisfaction and positive comment such as yours always encourage our hotel associates.
We aim to make our best effort to deliver the personalized guest experience for their satisfaction.

We look forward to you visiting our hotel again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

first time stay in this hotel with platinum member and didn't expect no executive lounge in this hotel. You can see the castle view easiler from your room window. Probably the best season to visit is Sakura season. Nearby is easy for jogging. The experience this time is the executive floor not sold, so let group tour to stay there. So noisy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you very much for your stay at The Westin Nagoya Castle.
It is a rare case but a group sometimes stays in the executive floor. We are sorry for the noise, which annoyed you this time.
It would be superb if you look at Nagoya Castle surrounded by cherry blossom. It would be also fresh if you jog around the castle in the spring season. We hope you will have a chance to visit our hotel in such a wonderful season next time.
Looking forward to your visit again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I loved this hotel, from the staff to the room everything was well thought out.. the hotel was being upgraded whilst I was staying there but I would have never known! The staff were so lovely and those who could not speak english very well would refer you to someone who could straight away (mostly the concierge) who went above and beyond the call of duty to help me book various trips. The castle view room was just lovely and my bed was facing the castle so at night you would have a full view of it. The club room was good (not that I have much experience with club rooms) but the breakfast was amazing with healthy food options (try the blueberry pancakes and smoothies).. overall I was very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the castle - the higher the better! And join starwoods club too, you get h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live2Love2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for staying at The Westin Nagoya Castle.

We are most pleased to learn that you have satisfied with our services this time. As you pointed out, we should make our best effort to improve our associates’ language abilities in order to understand the needs of our important guests though the abilities vary from individuals. The view of castle differs between day and night. It has also a different look depends on the season. Next time you visit our hotel, you may enjoy the different atmosphere of Nagoya Castle from our guest room.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Hilton Nagoya
#2 of 168 in Nagoya
1,384 reviews
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#6 of 168 in Nagoya
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
#9 of 168 in Nagoya
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nagoya Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nagoya Castle

Property: The Westin Nagoya Castle
Address: 3-19 Hinokuchicho, Nishi-ku, Nagoya 451-8551, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nagoya Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Rakuten, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Nagoya Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Nagoya Castle Hotel Nagoya
Nagoya Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing