We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Care for difference experience or just repeat the same thing during your business trip?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Westin Nagoya Castle
Ranked #20 of 172 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It is not easy to book this hotel because I basically select hotel based on location. Westin brand is one of the reason I decided to book. Fortunately, I picked the right choice. They have free shuttle service to citycenter both pick up and drop off. On top of that, I felt resort lifestyle here in Nagoya. I walked around the Nagoya castle both early morning and late evening to feel the fresh air, relax from busy working date. It is perfect memory in Nagoya that make me feel differece from Tokyo and Osaka during this business trip. The room size is great comparing to Japan hotel. If you expect huge room size like other hotel in Asia, you will never find it in Japan anyway, but westin heavenly bed and Nagoya castle view kept me warm and slept well all night with Mizo Nagoya beer. I would suggest if you care about difference experience duirng business trip.

Room Tip: Request Nagoya Castle view, make sure that you manage your time to walk around in the early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank busylifeontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for staying at The Westin Nagoya Castle this time. We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments.

All of our associates strive every day for ensuring we are able to offer clean comfortable guest room, accommodate guest’s personal needs, and they feel like being at home.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

The best hotel i've stayed during my vacation in Japan. Reserved a standard room with no view but was upgraded to a better room with direct castle view with absolutely no surcharge. Spacious room with modern feeling and fully-equipped. They even provided a map for morning run in the surrounding area, impressive. Efficient staff but not really friendly though.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sweetn0thing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2014

Thank you for your stay at The Westin Nagoya Castle.
It is always pleased to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels and are satisfied with your experience at our hotel.
We also appreciate to receive such a positive comment.
We value your support and aim to provide the best possible hospitality service to our guests.

Next time you visit Nagoya, we certainly look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Its the surprising factor of all. Room is so small. Breakfast is nice but majority Non Halal.

Do not miss Gujo Museum and Gujo Castle. These are the must visit places

Hotel has a very nice interior indeed.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank NaimShauqy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for taking a time to review our hotel.



I am sorry to hear of your experience regarding our guest room.

As offering a little more large and spacious rooms

where we are sure you feel more comfortable and relaxed,

we would recommend you to book them for your return.



Just for your information, Nagoya Castle and Tokugawa Museum are also

must-see sightseeing spots, we truly recommend you to visit there next time.



Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights recently for a business trip and it was very comfortable - the room was small but the bed was comfortable, staff spoke good English and the general service level was very good. The hotel was originally a local 'Japanese level' hotel but now with a Westin franchise, rather than a hotel that started as a Westin hotel so the furniture, finishings and amenities in the room and common areas may not seem to be the same standard as other Westin hotels around. The view and location of course was second to none for visiting Nagoya castle and the walk around the moat of the castle can be very pleasant.

The only slight downside meant that it was far from town (relatively) and the convenience stores, dining, shopping, etc, although the taxi is a short 15 min ride into the city. I would recommend for tourists a short 1 night stay here to visit the castle, but if staying longer, you may find it a bit isolated from the conveniences of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Thank you for staying at The Westin Nagoya Castle this time.

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments.

All of our associates strive every day for ensuring we are able to offer clean comfortable guest room,

accommodate guest’s personal needs, and they feel like being at home.


It is a shame that you felt our location inconvenient, but instead we would like

to practice our best possible service for our valued guests to be satisfied with their experience at our hotel.


Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed one night in the Westin Nagoya Castle as part of a tour in April 2014. What really stood out was the memory of opening the curtains in our room and seeing Nagoya Castle right in front of us, in all its glory. It was night night and the castle was stunningly lit.

For that view alone, first-time visitors should consider a stay at the Westin Nagoya Castle.

Of course, breath-taking view aside, you get everything that you would expect from the Westin: a grand lobby, luxurious bathrobes, a fantastic high-tech showerhead that took a few seconds to figure out (excellent water pressure), hotel-wide wifi and super-comfortable beds. I think I had the best night of sleep at the Westin Nagoya Castle out of the entire tour.

If you’re after a nice stroll, the footpath around the castle grounds offers a perfect (almost traffic free) path for walking or jogging. The footpath wasn’t exactly well lit at night but you do feel very safe with all the joggers and cyclists along the way.

Buffet breakfast the next day was rather mediocre. The selection of Japanese food wasn’t very large, but that was understandable given that the hotel probably caters more to foreigners than to locals. The quality and variety of the food offered was good, not great. The kitchen also seemed to have difficulty keeping up with the rate at which food was being depleted and there were some plates sitting empty at the buffet. The coffee was excellent, though.

As we stayed at the Westin Nagoya as part of a guided tour, such factors as proximity to public transport or the quality of the service weren’t part of the consideration. Our room was very clean, quiet, comfortable and quite spacious for two people, although the lingering stench of stale cigarette smoke that greeted us when we entered the room was a little unpleasant. Be sure to ask for a non-smoking room if you are a non-smoker.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a non-smoking room if you were a non-smoker. Or take advantage of the air fresher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuseumJunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post such positive comments.

It is always pleasure to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels

as you were satisfied with Nagoya Castle view, our facilities, bathrobe and Heavenly Bed.

Especially the surroundings of Nagoya Castle including jogging courses

are a popular place to visit for our guests to refresh and invigorate your body and mind.

Cherry blossoms in spring and beautiful colored leaves in autumn are must see seasons

to enjoy traditional Japanese natural beauty.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Free hotel shuttle from the Nagoya station to the hotel. My early check in was smooth and staff speak really good English. One lady worked at the lobby and offered help of how to transfer back to the Chubu International airport really early around 5AM next morning. She printout the local subway and epress train schedule along with a local area map to guide me how to walk to the station. I found it very helpful and make my stay a wonderful experience. My room probably has one of the best view across from the Nagoya Castle!

Room Tip: Castle view room on the higher floor. I had room 710.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, Manager at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your stay at The Westin Nagoya Castle.

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments.

We aim to provide the best possible service that our guests can be pleased with.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We arrived at the peak of cherry blossom viewing. To our surprise at check-in we found we would have TWO rooms. Each with a single bed. They promised us a room with a double bed for our 3rd and 4th nights.

Those rooms were small, but not surprisingly so by Japanese standards. Long and narrow, not a lot wider than the single bed.

The AC seemed inadequate. The room was warm, I was unable to open the window.

"The room"? And "Why such high marks given those comments?"

The morning after the first night the desk informed us that they could move us to a room with 2 single beds that day, but we'd sill have to wait for a room with a double or queen. We packed and they moved our luggage while we were out touring the castle.

That room was much better. In addition to having 2 beds the temp was MUCH better. And where we'd been on the back of the building the new room had a castle view.

The new room was such that we opted not to move again.

There are several restaurants in the hotel and that's a good thing. There are none in the largely residential neighborhood where the hotel is located.

Be warned, prices range from "High" to "OMG". Dinner in the French restaurant was the equivalent of $100 - $200 without drinks, wine or what have you. Located on the top floor the view is impressive. Wed had drinks in the bar up there the night before but passed on dinner.

In the basement there is a Chinese restaurant and a Japanese restaurant. (And Italian?) We opted for Japanese and the Shrimp and Vegetable Tempura Set was very good. (And a little more reasonable than top-floor French.

There is a more casual restaurant on the first floor offering sandwiches, appetizers and such. This is also where they serve breakfast. That was a great deal. There was an extensive buffet with Japanese and Western style choices.

The location was great for the castle views, but more "isolated" than I would prefer. I would have liked to be more "downtown" where I could walk to a variety of eateries. We did not have a car,but taxis were available.

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor overlooking the castle across the street. The view is great at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldRoadWarrior60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nagoya_castle, マネージャー at The Westin Nagoya Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your experience and deeply apologize

that we took the reservation of wrong room type and could not offer the queen or double room you expected.



We appreciate that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurants. We are always pleased to hear

that our guests spent their precious time during their travelling in our distinctive restaurants.



Though our hotel is a little far from the Nagoya Station, we can provide a calm and

relaxing environment for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Hilton Nagoya
#1 of 172 in Nagoya
1,471 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#6 of 172 in Nagoya
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
#10 of 172 in Nagoya
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Nagoya Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Nagoya Castle

Address: 3-19 Hinokuchicho, Nishi-ku, Nagoya 451-8551, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range: £95 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Nagoya Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Rakuten, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Nagoya Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Nagoya Castle Hotel Nagoya
Nagoya Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing