We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with Conciege's Service”
Review of Hilton Nagoya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Nagoya
Ranked #1 of 176 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I've stayed in several Hilton hotels around the world and in other Japan cities before, in terms of conciege service, this hotel's staff was slow and didn't even put a smile on her face. I and my friends were surprised by this especially we were in Japan. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelAddictWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2012

Dear TravelAddictWT,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read of your experience with the team member at Concierge when you made your enquiry. Whilst we receive many great comments about the team I apologize as your experience certainly fell short of that. On the bright side I will use this as an improvement opportunity with the team so that next time (and I hope there is a next time here for you) the reaction is both fast and friendly!

Best regards,

Craig Bonnor
General Manager Hilton Nagoya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 612 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2012

I stayed in this hotel for countless days for business purpose. This place is what I choose first over any other hotel in Nagoya area, Japan.

Every trip I stayed in this hotel, I experienced consistently, clean and well prepared room and service and food, exercise equipment, swimming pool.. etc etc.
I just do not have any complaint in this facility. If it is there, it works as it supposed to be and as advertised. Simply, I can trust this hotel for what it is to be.

Only minor issue for me is, the old staffs are either gone or frequently rotated, some of who made me feel like home with their warm smile and kindness whenever I return to this hotel. But still it appears that most of the staffs are very well prepared and trained to deal with oversea business customers. This hotel truly helped me and my colleagues business travel arrangement anytime and any day for anything that they can possibly do (from preparing room to even arranging business trip taxi/transportation for long distance cities etc).

Room Tip: You just name it to them! they will do whatever they can. If they say they can not do it, that means...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Victor Y,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on Hilton Nagoya. It was great to read your very positive comments on the service and various aspects of the product. We certainly aim to use excellent service to differentiate our hotel from others! We will watch the amount of job rotation in the future so we balance the benefits of that with having familiar faces for our regular guests, I appreciate the comment. Whenever you next make the trip over from Michigan we look forward to extending a warm welcome back!

Kind regards,
Craig Bonnor
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed at the Hilton for two weekends in October 2011. I was upgraded to executive suite on the top floor. The rooms were beautiful. The view was excellent, and the staff bent over backwards to make sure my stay was satisfactory.
I enjoyed the location, walking distance to many shops and very convenient to the train.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2012

Dear Lambo62,

Thanks for writing a review on your recent stay at Hilton Nagoya.
I was glad to read you found the rooms, views and location very enjoyable.
Thanks also for mentioning how pleased you were with the service from our team, I will let them know and we hope to see you in Nagoya again soon!

Kind regards,

Craig Bonnor
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

If you need to use the train often, stay at the Marriott, which is upstairs from the train station. The Hilton is only a few blocks away from the train, but it takes about 15-20 minutes by taxi and you just sit at trafficlights....very frustrating.

The hotel was fine. Nothing special, but certainly adequate and fairly nice. The Chinese restaurant has very good food and good servcie, though is a little pricey. The breakfast and dinner buffet restaurant is just OK. The food was not great, but it was not horrible either.

The room was a nice size and was clean. The staff was very helpful and spoke English well.

The hotel shuttle from the train station stops at 8 or 9 pm.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizrobin213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear Elizrobin213,

Thank you for your recent comments.
It was great to read about the helpfulness of the team, your very good experience in Dynasty Chinese restaurant and that you were pleased with the room.
We have noted the comments about breakfast and dinner in the Terrace buffet restaurant and will strive to improve our food offering. We are in fact revitalizing breakfast early in the New Year.
I was sorry to read about the frustration experienced with the taxi ride from Nagoya Station.
If we can tempt you to return there is a train station (Fushimi) right near Hilton Nagoya and it is just one stop from Nagoya station, which eliminates traffic.
Or you may have a better run with traffic lights next time.

Thanks again for your comments and all the best for a happy Festive Season.

Craig Bonnor
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Hilton Nagoya is a comfortable place to stay in Nagoya. The food and service are good. The television stations offer a few English speaking channels, enough to give you a couple of choices when you need to pass the time (like at 3am when you can't sleep); though a few more options would be helpful.

Wireless in the rooms would be nice and an update of the bathrooms is in order. Also, if you aren't interested in the breakfast buffet early in the morning (7am or so) they really don't have any other options. Would like it if the coffee shop was open earlier and offered some small breakfast sandwiches. Didn't notice a real gift shop on the premises either.

But the service was good, there are some nice dining options (the buffet and Chinese restaurants were good), and the room is comfortable enough. Everyone speaks/understands English pretty well. I am sure I will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueNumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2011

Dear “BlueNumber2”,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Nagoya! I am glad you enjoyed the restaurants, room and were comfortable with the English language capability of our team.
Your comments on breakfast are appreciated and we are now introducing a new menu (in addition to the Buffet) for guests who prefer not to have the full buffet.
I look forward to hearing your feedback after your next visit! We appreciate that 7 English language TV channels is less than most people enjoy at home, so we are constantly looking at the viability of any new options that broadcasters can deliver. Also taken on board for future planning are the comments regarding wireless internet and bathrooms.
I hope to extend a warm welcome back soon.

Craig Bonnor
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I stayed on the 19th floor at Nagoya Hilton for 2 nights in mid October 2011. Overall, I was very satisfied. Check-in process was smooth, the employees are all nice and polite, and the room was clean and right size.
I especially liked the breakfast they provide. So many choices (they even provide Kishimen noodle), and delicious.
Internet connection was not free and relatively expensive (this is the only complaint I have).
Checkout process was also smooth. I wanted to use a taxi ticket and they got the right one promptly. Nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, Hilton Nagoya at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Dear Hilton Nagoya Guest,

Greetings from Nagoya! I was delighted to know that enjoyed your stay with us and that you were most satisfied with our team members’ services and interaction with you, and in particular our breakfast offering.

On the other hand, thank you for your comment regarding internet connection. I am sorry that we were unable to provide this service free of charge in your guest room. You are a valued customer and your feedback is appreciated. We all certainly look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Nagoya.

Sincerely,

Craig Bonnor
General Manager
HILTON NAGOYA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

I stayed for 4 nights on the top floor of rooms (27th) in a twin room.

The hotel is exactly what I would expect from a Hilton property, but it isn't as exceptional as some would have you believe - Kuala Lumpur Sentral is still the best in my opinion. The room was a bit tired, and could do with a refit soon. The hotel also suffers from the standard smell of stale smoke even though I was in a non-smoking room, with provided ashtray!

The hotel offer a shuttle bus to the station, but why do I have to book onto it. If there is space i'm getting on it, which after a short argument is exactly what I did.

The staff are very friendly in a Japanese way, but unable to provide anything but the most basic information.

Would I stay here again? Yes, but only because it's a Hilton.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f1photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton_ec_TYOHI, General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

I was sorry to read of your experience with the accommodation room and the shuttle service.
Whilst we receive many good comments about both aspects, I understand that your experience fell short of this and I would like to apologize.
We will use this feedback wisely to improve. I hope to personally welcome you back in the future.

With best regards,
Craig Bonnor
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 176 in Nagoya
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
#10 of 176 in Nagoya
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nagoya

Address: 1-3-3 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
#2 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#2 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range: £110 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Nagoya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes from Nagoya's main station in the heart of the business, shopping and entertainment area in Nagoya, the Hilton Nagoya is the city's only international full service hotel providing world class accommodation, banquet and restaurant facilities in the city center. The hotel is close to the world’s largest planetarium of Nagoya City Science Museum and provides a complimentary shuttle service to nearby attractions such as Nagoya Castle and Nagoya station. Guest rooms feature modern interiors, all contemporary comforts with dynamic city view including the most refreshing, restful bed, LCD TV with entertainment channels and high speed internet access. A full range of branded quality amenities, as well as comfortable bathrobes, Japanesse Yukata and slippers are offered in all guest rooms. The hotel offers 16 banquet rooms, with wireless internet access. Swim in the 49-foot indoor pool or work out in the 24/7 gym and relax in the sauna. Choose from 6 restaurants and bars at this Nagoya hotel and do business in the Executive Lounge or one of 16 banquet rooms for 10 -1200. Nagoya, Japan's one of the largest city makes a great base for exploring central Japan, beginning with the highlights of Nagoya's cultural and industrial heritage, excellent shopping and entertainment, as well as exploring the Ise Grand Shrine, the World Heritage sites of Shirakawa-go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Rakuten, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nagoya Hotel Nagoya
Nagoya Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing