We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its finest!”
Review of Hilton Nagoya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Nagoya
Ranked #2 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, United States
2 reviews
“Hospitality at its finest!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

From the moment I walked in, I immediately felt welcomed and valued as a guest. Check in and check out was a breeze, the Executive Lounge was very nice and the fitness equipment is top of the line. The most important things to me at a hotel are the staff and comfort of the bed. The staff accommodated all requests within minutes, provided helpful if traveling to another cities and made dinner reservations in the city. Lastly, the beds were amazing. Noticeably a better nights sleep. I convinced a loyal rewards member of another hotel to try this hotel and he was agreed this Hilton was better. Try it for yourself, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Craig Bonnor - General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on Hilton Nagoya.
It was great to read your very positive comments on the service and various aspects of the product. We certainly aim to use excellent service to differentiate our hotel from others!
Whenever you next make the trip over from Seattle we look forward to extending a warm welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    554
    136
    23
    28
See reviews for
405
248
135
434
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I had two separate stays at the Hilton Nagoya. For both stays, I received great service from the hotel staff, specifically the staff in the restaurant where they serve breakfast. However, hotel desperately needs to be renovated! Oh and the mattress are dreadful!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Craig Bonnor - General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We all appreciate your kind comments about our staff.
This will be shared amongst all the management and the staff.
Whilst the service provided by our team seems to have met your expectations, the product has fallen well short of your expectations.
For this I would like to apologize to you.
Much of the commentary centers around the physical product, so allow me to share the following:
There are 100 rooms where refurbishment has been completed, I am sorry you did not experience one of those rooms. The next phase of the accommodation rooms refurbishment is well under way with the new design now approved. Following construction tenders, two prototype rooms will be built and tested, then the rooms will be refurbished.
Once again, thanks for the comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Nagoya soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great service. People went out of their way for us. Executive floor especially nice. Wife forgot her hat and they ran down to the lobby level (some 26 floors) to get it to her before we left. When does THAT ever happen in the USA?
A few downsides: General decor is about 10 years outdated...but generally a clean hotel. The complimentary shuttle service to the Nagoya station is good, but the directions upon arrival are pretty sketchy. You catch the shuttle on the left side of Midland Square (facing Midland Square from the station)..and it runs about every half hour. It's not a 15 min. walk but more like 30 min...so if you are pulling some luggage....it's a bit of a trek.
Still, very happy...well done!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inluvwithjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Craig Bonnor - General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review on Hilton Nagoya.
I'm very proud to hear that our team took good care of you and I can assure you that I will share the good comments with them. For us its always important to hear what our guests thinks in order for us to improve and we will continue doing so in the future.
I was sorry to read of your experience with the room and the directions upon arrival. Whilst we receive many good comments about both aspects, I understand that your experience fell short of this and I would like to apologize. We will use this feedback wisely to improve.
Thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton when your travels bring you to Nagoya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed two nights in Nagoya for a business trip. The Hilton is located in an area with plenty of restaurants and coffees. The rooms are big but I was quite disappointed about the old fashioned furniture and the bathroom. I would have expected not such a worn room. Everything was clean and tidy, but worn. The shower was integrated the bath and had no own area.
The breakfast started from 6:30h and was a 6-7 out of 10. You could get the normal stuff, but for a Hotel of such a size I would expect at least two toasters or more selection.

The gym was OK and hat treadmills and all kind of work-out machines. Everything was clean and tidy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caipimichl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Craig Bonnor - General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay.
It is always gratifying to receive recognition for efforts made and I have passed on your comments to our team members who I am sure will be even more motivated.
Whilst the service provided by our team seems to have met your expectations, the product has fallen well short of your expectations.
For this I would like to apologize to you.
Much of the commentary centers around the physical product, so allow me to share the following:
There are 100 rooms where refurbishment has been completed, I am sorry you did not experience one of those rooms. The next phase of the accommodation rooms refurbishment is well under way with the new design now approved. Following construction tenders, two prototype rooms will be built and tested, then the rooms will be refurbished.
Once again, thanks for the comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Nagoya soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Welcome to the Nagoya Hilton, where the 1980s live on in perpetuity!

How bad is the Nagoya Hilton, the hopelessly dated establishment that bills itself as one of the best places to stay in town? It's so bad that in a way it was good.

But first, the bright side: Its dedicated staff do their best to compensate for the property's glaring flaws and the Japanese-style paper shades in the room are a nice touch.

So much for the good, now the bad.

It smells. Not of cherry blossoms or some other exotic Japanese fragrance. Rather, the lobby stinks of something reminiscent of my mom's cheap hand-cream lotion. The room we were in (room 1714) was even worse and reeked of old carpet. Wifi infuriatingly costs $17 extra, but the built-in radio by the nightstand is free. Forget about the World Wide Web, you can pick between the BBC or Voice of America!

The bathroom is poetically depressing. Its once rosy peach décor lost its vibrance years ago like the colors of an old, fading photograph. My least favorite feature in this tour-de-force of antediluvian interior design was probably the bath and shower. You need to forget about all the developments in shower technology since Ronald Reagan was president to figure out how to handle the nobs of this behemoth. It took this college-educated adult 15 minutes to get the water to come out of the shower head. Atrocious. Oh, and the toilet flush was on the fritz, too. It was fixed by the well-meaning staff, but a band aid won't do. After decades of work the toilet seat needs to be put out of its misery.

If the Nagoya Hilton were a mom-and-pop joint, I'd be much more forgiving. But expectations from an international hotel chain are different – especially when you're paying top dollar. The Nagoya Hilton must have been a beauty in the 1980s. Today, its an artifact that belongs in a museum – one that simply isn't worth $250 to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GShef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Craig Bonnor - General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review following your recent stay.
Whilst the service provided by our team seems to have met your expectations, the product has fallen well short of your expectations. For this I would like to apologize to you.

Much of the commentary centers around the physical product, so allow me to share the following:
There are 100 rooms where refurbishment has been completed, I am sorry you did not experience one of those rooms. The next phase of the accommodation rooms refurbishment is well under way with the new design now approved. Following construction tenders, two prototype rooms will be built and tested, then the rooms will be refurbished.

Yes, this is all too late for your recent stay. However if your travels bring you back to Nagoya in Q3 this year then please contact me, as we would like to allocate you one of our prototype rooms to stay in. We will be seeking all the feedback we can get!

Please be assured that your comments have been taken seriously.
We are committed to improving the hospitality experience at Hilton Nagoya.

Yours sincerely,
Craig Bonnor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a considerable amount of time. This hotel and its staff are outstanding. From the first day, the check-in service was fast and we were shown our rooms. The restaurant was both great for breakfast and dinner. The entire staff was always more than helpful, the rooms were the standard size rooms of Hilton hotels I've visited elsewhere, i.e. much larger than the standard hotel rooms in Japan.
I would recommend this hotel to any one, and would surely visit it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kareem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Craig Bonnor - General Manager at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Greetings from Nagoya!
I was delighted to know that enjoyed your stay with us and that you were most satisfied with our team members’ services and interaction with you.
We value our customer’s opinions about us to serve you in any better way. So should there be anything else that we can do to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable, please let us know.
Thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton when your travels bring you to Nagoya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinondoni, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Currently in Nagoya for the first time and am staying at Hilton Nagoya Hotel. Nice room and the staff are great.

The location is also great, no one can be lost. I advise others to stay in this hotel when they travel to Nagoya.

Room Tip: Rooms are wide with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel R, Hilton Nagoya at Hilton Nagoya, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Hilton Nagoya!
It is our greatest pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay.
We all appreciate your kind comments about our staff and our convenient location. This will be shared amongst all the management and the staff.
Once again, thanks for the comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Nagoya soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#5 of 168 in Nagoya
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
Nagoya Kanko Hotel
#10 of 168 in Nagoya
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Nagoya

Property: Hilton Nagoya
Address: 1-3-3 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nagoya
#2 Business Hotel in Nagoya
#2 Family Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hilton Nagoya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes from Nagoya's main station in the heart of the business, shopping and entertainment area in Nagoya, the Hilton Nagoya is the city's only international full service hotel providing world class accommodation, banquet and restaurant facilities in the city center. The hotel is close to the world’s largest planetarium of Nagoya City Science Museum and provides a complimentary shuttle service to nearby attractions such as Nagoya Castle and Nagoya station. Guest rooms feature modern interiors, all contemporary comforts with dynamic city view including the most refreshing, restful bed, LCD TV with entertainment channels and high speed internet access. A full range of branded quality amenities, as well as comfortable bathrobes, Japanesse Yukata and slippers are offered in all guest rooms. The hotel offers 16 banquet rooms, with wireless internet access. Swim in the 49-foot indoor pool or work out in the 24/7 gym and relax in the sauna. Choose from 6 restaurants and bars at this Nagoya hotel and do business in the Executive Lounge or one of 16 banquet rooms for 10 -1200. Nagoya, Japan's one of the largest city makes a great base for exploring central Japan, beginning with the highlights of Nagoya's cultural and industrial heritage, excellent shopping and entertainment, as well as exploring the Ise Grand Shrine, the World Heritage sites of Shirakawa-go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Nagoya Hotel Nagoya
Nagoya Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing