We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but clean, okay location but nice staff”
Review of the b nagoya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
the b nagoya
Ranked #11 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Hotel is small but clean, dated but staff are helpful and friendly. They were very nice and patient with mainly non Japanese speaking guests.

We stayed here for 3 (long) days as we used it as a base to get to Nagashima SpaLand.
Location - not the best as its far from the Nagoya Station but close to the subway line (not much fun when you have heavy luggage though so a taxi is recommended if you have bulky or heavy bags). Opposite a park where there are quite a few homeless people and also free concerts on weekends (which are loud & terrible!) as the windows dont keep the ambient noise out.

Room - We got a superior twin and this is the typical room we expected in Japan...clean but small. Room is basic, simple but clean. Mini fridge, non smoking floor, free wi-fi.
If you are taller than 5'10", there is no way you can stand up in the shower as the ceiling in there made my 5'9" hubby have to bend over when showering. Im only 5'2" and felt huge! Bath small but deep, great for a soak after a busy day exploring.

Downstairs is a convenience store which was good for buying a soda or snacks. Not far away from shopping and restaurants aplenty. Saw a lot of Harajuku boys when out one night finding somewhere to eat which were a sight to see. As we were there on a weekend, there were lots of free entertainment - some good,some awful!

They have washing machines/dryers at the hotel for guests to use which was very handy as we were away for a month so were getting a tad stinky. Costs $5 per use. As they are washer/dryers, they take quite a while to do a load so we had to get 2 machines (have to pay at the front desk and get a key to access the machines) as we had a lot of stuff to wash. Problem was, we did a load at 8.30pm thinking itd take no more than 90mins. In fact, it took 3.5hours!!!! So, I had to go collect the washing at almost midnight.

Lots of free (not necessarily good though) entertainment on weekends in Nagoya. Lots of street bands on the street corners (quite entertaining to hear Western Pop songs in Japanese.....not too bad!), Oasis 21 had a Hawaiian festival which was great for the families.

Families - be aware of this..............We had no idea that Nagoya has got a very popular & thriving red light district and it all makes sense as there are a lot of single older men who arent on business who stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhoppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear jhoppy01,

Thank you for your comments regarding the b nagoya.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our location, the cleanliness of your room and the service from our staff. Indeed we are located in a great area, right across from beautiful Central Park and close to so much great shopping. We are only steps from Kawara-dori which will lead you to a world of shopping. Next time you are in Nagoya please take the time to walk to Princess dori and discover it’s endless choice of fines eateries.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed one night at the B Nagoya on our way back home. The price was very attractive but we were a little bit disappointed by the room. The rooms are small (which is perfectly normal for Japan). The disappointment was the bed, which was not comfortable at all (compared to a close-by hotel we stayed in earlier in the trip). I would however recommend the hotel for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mastervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Dear mastervan,

Thank you for your time to review the b nagoya.

I very much appreciate your generous comment on our price and location despite of our bed quality not meeting your expectation. We will continue to work on our service and facilities to provide our guests more comfortable and memorable stay in Nagoya.

We look forward to having you at the b nagoya again in the near future.


Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the B.
It was easily located close to entrances for the Sakae subway station. From there it is easy to get to Nagoya JR station on one line, and Nagoya Castle and the Aquarium are on the other lone passing through Sakae. The big OASIS shopping mall is close by as well. This hotel looks out onto a very European feel to the centre of Nagoya, a double width tree lined avenue.
The bed was comfortable and clean, bathroom naturally small, but fully functional, good hot water etc.
We enjoyed a nice breakfast each morning, with a choice between Japanese and Western styles.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sigfreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear Sigfreid,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b nagoya.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated our location, the cleanliness of your room and breakfast choices. Indeed we are located in a great area, right across from beautiful Central Park and close to so much great shopping. We are only steps from Kawara-dori which will lead you to a world of shopping. Next time you are in Nagoya please take the time to walk to Princess O-dori and discover it’s endless choice of fines eateries.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Recommended by my Japanese friend, the hotel was nicer than I expected.
As the price was very decent compared to Japan's average price range, I didn't expect so much, but as I arrived at the hotel, the staffs were nice and kind, the room was decent(better value to the price) and out of all, the location was perfect!
It was near the subway station, big shopping malls, and famous tourist sights.
Willing to stay at the b next time I visit Nagoya, or elsewhere in Japan!

Room Tip: Single traveler seeking for just "sleep" is advised for few nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoony916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear yoony916,

Thank you for your generous comments concerning the b nagoya.

We are happy to hear that you appreciated your room, our location and that you found value for your money. Indeed we are located in a great area, right across from beautiful Central Park and close to so much great shopping. Next time you are in Nagoya please take the time to try one of our many fines eateries.

We thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights and it was a great jumping off point for sightseeing in nagoya. Located a few blocks from the Sakae station, it made it relatively easy to get to from the train station and a cab ride to Nagoya station was short and cheap. It's a couple blocks away from a huge shopping area with multiple department stores and tons of restaurants. There was also a 24 hour convenience store right downstairs which we visited multiple times. In terms of the room and the hotel, everything was clean, the staff was very friendly and check-in was a breeze. The rooms are small like many Japanese hotels, but we didn't feel cramped necessarily. They also provided really comfy robes to wear while lounging in the room. The only downside was that the walls were a little thin and I could hear others on our floor talking early in the morning (or perhaps those guests were just particularly loud). All in all we were very pleased with our stay and would choose this hotel again if we come back to Nagoya.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GinaC640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Dear Gina C

Thank you for your generous comments concerning your stay at the b nagoya.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Nagoya. The location of our hotel is indeed a very exciting area offering varieties of choice for shopping and eating, and as well as good access to attractive sites.

We truly appreciate your positive comments on our staff and service, as these words are very encouraging for all of our staff.

Thank you again for your comments and look forward to greeting you again in the near future.


Best regards,
Renaud Payette
Managing Director
West Japan Cluster
Ishin Hotels Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The location is 10 odd mins from Sakae station and Sakae is 2 stops from Nagoya centre so it is reasonably convenient.

Hotel is clean and check in is a breeze. No wifi in room though, you would surf internet in the lobby with your i-devices or use the 2 computers available. You would need to walk perhaps 15 mins to go to the food, shopping streets but the selection of meals are aplenty.

Room is secure and quiet and toilet is clean. Adult films available on tv though you must buy the tv cards from the vending machines by the common lift area. All in all simple and nothing much to complain really. =)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeiKurono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for the time to review the b nagoya.
I was delighted to hear that you were happy with our location and room.

Currently we are planning to upgrade the wifi service in spring and would appreciate your patience and understanding. As for TV service, you can see CNN for free of charge, and with the TV cards we offer programs such as movies and international TV dramas.

Thank you again for choosing us. We all look forward to see you again at the b nagoya.


Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My choice for staying in Nagoya came down to the Chisun or the "b", and I believe I made the right choice with the latter. A friend stayed at the Chisun and said it was too noisy, but we had no such trouble at the "b".

The room at the "b" was clean, and we may have lucked out with a top floor corner, as it came with a view and may have been more spacious than others (judging by other reviews on this site). The location is great, quite close to Sakae Station's underground mall area, and only a few minutes from Nagoya Station on the subway.

The only negative for me was the shower pressure and inconsistent water heat. This may be partially due to being on an upper floor, but I missed the usual hotel-stay pleasure of relaxing under a hot shower--too busy adjusting the temperature.

The breakfast buffet was nothing special, but it filled me up and is worth it if you just want fuel for wandering.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyleazabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IshinHotelsWest, マネージャー at the b nagoya, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2013

Thank you for your generous comment on the b nagoya.

I was disappointed to hear however about our shower. When Group guests happen to use showers at the same timing, the water pressure and temperature of showers might be affected and temporarily become unstable. I take this opportunity and check showers of all rooms.

Thank you again for your time for the precious review and we look forward to your next stay.


Best regards,
Kunio Saiki
Hotel Manager
the b nagoya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Hotel Trusty Nagoya Sakae
#26 of 171 in Nagoya
199 reviews
Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Hotel MyStays Nagoya Sakae
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 171 in Nagoya
722 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nishitetsu Inn Nagoyanishiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to the b nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about the b nagoya

Address: 4-15-23 Sakae, Naka-ku, Nagoya 460-0008, Aichi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Sakae / Fushimi / Nagoya Castle
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nagoya
#15 Best Value Hotel in Nagoya
#15 Business Hotel in Nagoya
Price Range: £37 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — the b nagoya 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the b Nagoya is ideally located in the downtown area of Sakae facing the leafy Hisaya Street. It is situated in the centre of the business, sightseeing and shopping precincts and is just a few minutes from two major subway stations, Sakae and Yabacho making the hotel ideal for the business or leisure traveler. The 'Lawson' which is located on the first floor of the building is open 24 hours and will make your stay more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your the b nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b Nagoya Hotel Nagoya
b Hotel Nagoya
The b Hotel Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing