We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the greatest ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya
Ranked #62 of 167 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Not the greatest ”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

So it's smoky and very compact, can just get 2 suitcases in the room. Beds are very firm, bedding is clean and pillows nice. It's a hotel for businesmen so don't be surprised to see only men staff and mostly male clientele. Not the greatest place I stayed in but it is the worst I've stayed in whilst in Japan, would have been happy to pay extra for somewhere else. It's cramped and difficult to organise self when in a room so small. It is very close to station and everything you need, but if you want close to station stay at the hotel at the station, it's heaps better. And it's really smoky!!!
Overall it's ok, just a bit of a downer after a trip of great hotels

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sharon v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    86
    53
    8
    8
See reviews for
25
12
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hotel is 5 min walk from the main railway station. Rooms are big for Japanese standards, however when we arrived to our non-smoking room it was obvious that it had been used as a smoking room. Reminded me of my grandmother's old flat. Hotel is a bit messy and in need of an update. I complained, they told me it was a non-smoking room, and offered me another. That room also stank of smoke. I gave up. I stayed just one night.

Room Tip: Check the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nagoya hotels

Hogn Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Anything normal that you expect from a hotel is not really there. Two of us check in, they put an extra bed across the window sill in a single room and offer it to us. Wifi never works properly, they will gave you the password for the room next door and still wont work. No kettle so dont expect a hot drink during a snowing day, no fruit knife so dont bother enjoy those famous japanese food back in hotel. Ventilation fan doesnt turn on in winter, so u sleep in a stuffy room and wait till oxygen ran out.

V limited English, we have to rely on the info centre in the nearest department store for local info!

Far from main station, whatever other reviews u see in may be just a normal 10min walk from station, but imagine there is inches of snow and better quality hotels closer to the station at similar price.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here fir 2 nights as part of a group, chosen for the proximity to the JR station as we were going on a day trip to Toyama and then on to Sakaminato to catch the ferry to Vladivostok. We did not find the city or hotel set up for tourists more of a business hotel. On the Thursday there was a reasonable restaurant in the hotel but this was closed on Friday night and there were not many places to eat nearby other than at the railway station. We had a small room with an outlook onto a small courtyard completely surrounded by high concrete walls, it would have been dark and dingy if we had been spending much time in the room. The bathroom was very small and so cramped, the sink plug was worn out so the universal plug we brought to use in Russia was pressed into service. Interesting walk around the hotel but too far to walk to the Pagoda. Best thing we did was go up to the top floor of the Station/hotel building and have tea seating at a table which looked directly out the window, Nagoya spread out before us, expensive but well worth the experience. As usual in Japanese hotels, slippers and robes and bathroom amenities were included.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are larger and some have small balconies but more traffic noise. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Use sakuradori exit but once exited go down staircase right in front and use underground pathway to reach exit nearest to hotel. I think it is exit A1. Once exited A1, you are at a main road, turn right walk pass a few convenient store hotel is on your right. Can use mainroad also once exit from jr cherry exit but dusty and heavy traffic may bother your walk especiallu if you are dragging your luggages with youngs or elderly.
Wifi in room only once you are out of your room you can't access it.
Twin Room is just enough size for luggage and one person walking pathway and toilet is too small in my personal view. But amenities, cleanliness and staff are great!
I send my luggage (in the morning 1day before check out day) using hotel's luggage delivery service costs only RM43 bucks to tokyo hotel sunroute shinjuku. All worth it as it save my strength for continuous travelling. Luggage arrived even before I reach the hotel for check in.
Check out branded shopping LV etc..opposite jr nagoya stn and takashimaya inside the stn since it is within your eyesight. Also when are walking using undergrd pathway as mentioned above when reaching exit A1, look for the yakitori cafe bar that advertise 80yen only per stick of yakitori. It surely fulfill your taste bud for dinner. Spend your lunch time there too as their smooth and chewvy udon and the tasteful teriyaki rice don is 2nd to none for its price. I think it is only yen500-600 per bowl.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YendChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I stayed in this typical Japanese business hotel for a night in March 2013. It is near Nagoya JR station with a 10 min walk with luggage, locates at the main road (which means you can find it very easily).

It is small but the size is okay in Japanese standard actually (bigger than another chain business hotel I stayed in Kanazawa). The lobby looks nice and the room is clean and functional. I booked the hotel at a very reasonable price too.

I recommend Sunroute Hotel to all if you are fine with Jap business hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

It is very close to Nagoya station, so access to any part of the city is very convenient, as you can get train, bus and cab.
The room have enough space, cannot say spacious but enough space. Has all the regular Japanese standard amenities of hot pot, green tea, dryer etc.
There was a single window with not much view which has also become standard in big cities in Japan.
Bathrooms are again compact, but this has become the standard size in Japan, so cannot complain. They have bathtub and a GREAT shower. Really enjoyed the shower. What was good was the amount of complimentary extra stuff they have supplied in the bathroom was very fulfilling.
Maybe because we were in a group we had a buffet style complimentary breakfast. It had a nice variety and very satisfying. They served the breakfast in the restaurant on the ground floor.
As for the stay it was very pleasant and had no problem.
This is pretty standard place according to Japanese hotel standard and wouldn't mind staying here again.
Nothing that unique and extraordinary compared to other hotels that I have stayed in Nagoya.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superdoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Inn Nagoya Ekimae
Nagoya Station
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
#35 of 167 in Nagoya
296 reviews
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
#27 of 167 in Nagoya
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
#20 of 167 in Nagoya
285 reviews
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya

Property: Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya
Address: 2-35-24 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 167 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing