We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny room and bathroom” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chisun Inn Nagoya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chisun Inn Nagoya
Ranked #145 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tiny room and bathroom”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

stayed here for a 2day 1 night stopover in Nagoya 2 weeks ago.
it's about 5mins walking distance from the train station shopping center underpass. (You can get to the JR train station from this underpass, which has shops and dining places). There are 2 convenience stores around 100m walking distance from the hotel. You wouldn't miss the hotel; its yellow, big and round.

the lobby is considered small for me. I don't think the staff at the reception speaks much English so communication was kept to the minimal (greetings, smiling etc). The hotel rooms corridor is all circular, which i though was rather odd. The room is small and i'm glad i booked a twin bed, even with twin beds, which is the bigger option, there isn't much space to open up your luggage. TV was also in an odd location, it's next to your head position on the bed so you really have to sit up on your bed to watch tv. No English channels by the way.
Kettle, cups and tea bags were provided. Japanese PJ are also provided.

The bathroom is very small as well. we didn't bother shutting the door. Despite this, there's a bidet, many amenities (toothbrush, comb, razor, cotton) and there's large bottles of shampoo, body soap and conditioner so you don't have to worry about running out.

I think for a few night stays this hotel will be alright but don't expect to come back to a cozy room. I must say the beds in Japan are much harder for my liking and so are the pillows.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    115
    185
    63
    31
See reviews for
31
30
151
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hokkaido, Japan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I would say the size of hotel small for most of western people and fair enough for Asians. Yes, it was noisy due to thin wall and occasional uneducated traveler but luckily my floor was quiet for first two days. Check in at 3pm and check out at 10am is surely bothering.

Location is wonderful. 5 minute distance from one of largest electronic goods store name BIG CAMERA. Train station is close enough, lots of nice restaurants serving local brand chicken dishes.(nagoya well known for chicken wings) and also seen quite a lot of HOOTERS type izakaya. (drinking place where girl serves in very sexy dress) 24hours restaurant in 1st floor as well.

Travel bus that takes tourists to all important location (500 yen for all day) takes off at the near by area of train station as well.

I am giving four star just because location is wonderful, but just like what everyone says, there are some discomforts. Meaning, if it wasn't for location I would have given 1.5 star.

Hope it helps! Cheers!

PS: there is Ramen Road at train station. WONDERFUL!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panddady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Can't agree more on what the reviewer "pooky34" said about this hotel - small, cramped, like a slice of a cheece cake. The bathroom door is particularly interesting as there is a stopper to avoid the door to be open wider - it is too narrow even for me.

Except vending machines, there are hot water or ice cubes provided on some floors. Check the information guide in your room. Washing machine is on the 2 floor for around Yen300 to 500.

I have booked through the ANA package and it states that there are no breakfast provided in the plan I use. However, the staff in the counter gave me breakfast voucher for two consecutive days. And in the restaurant, no one check if you have a breakfast ticket. You just put your ticket in the little bucket in the entrance of the restaurant and again no one monitored if you have put your ticket or not. And so although I do not suggest you go to get a breakfast without a ticket BUT I suggest you may ask (if your plan do not include breakfast) the staff in the counter if they can give you one breakfast ticket for free. Please let me know if you've tried and it works :)

Finally, this hotel's price is about 10% less than those standard budget hotel and so that may compensate its crampness I think

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucerneSau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed with our kids, it's mostly business people coming and going, but this is cheap and clean and very close to Nagoya station so all in all this is a solid place to stay. There are facilities like washing machines and dryers too so if you need to do some laundry you can.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zuu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed at single room A for 1 night during my short visit to Nagoya. I’ve been to other business hotels in Japan and by far this was the smallest room ever. My room was like a slice of a cheese cake and I was surprised when I opened my doors. The door itself was small and the room was really cramped. It had everything expect for the refrigerator and fresh water. For those who are taller than 5.8ft (or 176cm) the bed might be little small. The good thing about this hotel was that it is within walking distance from Nagoya Station. The staffs were all friendly and they took good care of my left baggage. If you want to have breakfast at the hotel reserve it when you make your booking (850 yen). If you decide to have breakfast at the hotel you need to pay 250 yen more. If you want to have something else there is a restaurant called Sukiya which is open 24 hours. The restaurant is on the first floor of the hotel building but it is not directly connected. They have Japanese breakfast menus and selection of noodles and rice. The price is reasonable and the food is okay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pooky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel building is circle shaped with a hole running down the center. The single rooms are wedge shaped, located around the hole. They are really small, even by Japanese standards (I've lived in Japan 10 years), with barely enough room for the bed and very little else.

The breakfast is quite good, however, and has a good selection of both Japanese and western food on the buffet.

I'd recommend not handing your key to the front desk when going out because they are often swamped with groups of business travelers checking in or out, and I was forced to wait over 5 minutes on more than one occasion to get my key. The staff simply told me to wait.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niceguyjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nagoya hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

Very close to the station at a very low price. We paid Y5800 for 2. We got a twin instead of double but it was clean, neat and comfy. Plus - location, helpful staff, neat and tidy. Good place to pit stop to break up a journey, as Nagoya is a travel hub esp to get up to the alps.

Cons - vending machine didn't had run out of water to buy on all floors but there is a 24H convenient store across the road.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 33-1-3-rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Daiichi Fuji Hotel
Daiichi Fuji Hotel
#75 of 168 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Liberty Hotel
Nagoya Liberty Hotel
#66 of 168 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
#29 of 168 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Nagoya Station
Hotel Sunroute Plaza Nagoya
Nagoya Station
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
#33 of 168 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chisun Inn Nagoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisun Inn Nagoya

Property: Chisun Inn Nagoya
Address: 1-12-8 Noritake Nakamuraku, Nagoya 453-0014, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chisun Inn Nagoya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 375
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Rakuten, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotel.de so you can book your Chisun Inn Nagoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisun Inn Nagoya Hotel Nagoya
Chisun Hotel Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing