We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
Ranked #20 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We arrived in Nagoya in the midst of Typhoon #17 and to our joy the Meitetsu New Grand Hotel is no more than 10 meters from the up elevator from the underground shopping plaza. Got from the shinkansen to the hotel without even opening our umbrellas.

We had a double twin room, small by western standards but more than adequate. Good lighting at the desk, table and bed if you want to read before retiring. Clean, nothing too fancy but better than the average business hotel. The coffee shop in the lobby has excellent pastry items, which in Japan are normally more eye than taste appeal. These were actually pretty good.

NOTE, we came down late for breakfast, 9:00 am and pickings were fairly slim, suggest you get there for breakfast by 8:00, food was acceptable and lots of bread available. The dining room for dinner looked a little too expensive for us so we went back to the underground shopping area where there are a number of moderate and inexpensive priced resturants on the west (I think) end of the mall, but beaware they close fairly early 9:00 pm.

They seem to be able to handle English speaking guests with no problem, and the location is impossible to beat for convenience and price. Note there is a BIC Camera on the first 5 floors of the building, and a full scale Takashimaya Department store in the station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here for a night, much better than the old one. Also its more conveniently located to the Shinkansen tracks. The hotel is a clean and new hotel. The staff were very helpful. Good place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonyrajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I stayed for one week in this hotel and I don't have any complaints. The staff was very helpful and polite. The rooms were kept clean and the hotel well maintained. I didn't have any internet connection for a day or so and when I approached the staff, one came to the room to personally assist me.

The location itself was prime as it was steps away from the station and the mall.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnkrissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Given the fact that Nagoya is Japans answer to car city Detroit, this hotel fits the image: a bit out dated, clean, matter-of-factual. A good place to stay one night, but nothing more. We got a great restaurant suggestion at the reception: An Izakaya in western / out law style. great beer, great food.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoostDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Stayed one night here. This hotel is just right across the Nagoya main station, beside the Bic Camera electronic store. The room is quite small but clean. No wifi but there is a LAN cable you can connect to your computer. Overall, it is OK.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank extr3me_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

There are two Meitetsu Hotels next to the Nagoya train station. Rooms were small, but functional. Convenient location next to the station. Worked well for my business purposes.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
Thank ptf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights during our visit to Japan since we fly in and out from Nagoya. We were given 2 double rooms (as per booking request) on the same floor next to each other.

The rooms were not new but were well maintained and clean. It has all the basic toilet amenities and were comfortable for short stays. Breakfast is included in the room rate and the spread is quite good. There is also a bakery in the hotel.

The hotel is situated opposite the Nagoya train station and thus is convenient for all train travellers. There is a 24 hour convenient store behind it with a small grocery store nearby. There are also restaurants and eateries nearby for meals.

Overall, the stay is not bad and it will be a good choice for those who want to stay near train station and public transport.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SQFlyer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
#25 of 171 in Nagoya
305 reviews
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meitetsu New Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meitetsu New Grand Hotel

Address: 6-9 Tsubaki-cho, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 453-0015, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 171 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range: £58 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meitetsu New Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Rakuten, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meitetsu New Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meitetsu New Grand Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing