We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good accessible by train” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meitetsu Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good accessible by train”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

The Hotel is attached to Nagoya train station. Airport Meitetsu line station in same building complex....convenient travel form/to the airport.

Room size is for a Hotel in Japan ok. Very clean with all necessary amenities. LAN internet provided for free.
Staff is very friendly and helpfull.
Breakfast was rather good. If you are looking for a Western breakfast you might go around the corner in one of the coffee shops....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewTrip123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    136
    77
    14
    1
See reviews for
43
26
56
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

When I first arrived, things looked bad. I somehow got a smoking room when I needed a non-smoking one. The room did smell strongly of smoke, I could not handle it. When I requested a room change I was worried because the hotel was full (lots going on that weekend). Somehow, they were able to find me a non-smoking room. THAT room smelled fine, was clean, small, and efficient. The bed was comfortable, it was easy to adjust the room temperature, the water was hot, and overall, I had a good stay at the hotel. They even provided me a feather pillow when I mentioned that the 'luxury pillow" they had felt like it was a small beanbag. I was staying there for one night a week later, and the receptionist changed that reservation to non-smoking and made sure I had a feather pillow for THAT stay. The staff went out of their way to make my stay comfortable. The bottom line is I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you come from the Shinkansen station and the weather is poor, you can access the hotel from the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DougM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Very central, had a nice stay in Nagoya ....room was a good size with all necessary amenities. Close to lots of excellent eateries. No wi Fi ....but did have Internet in foyer 100 yen for 15 minutes...however was slow.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angoulême, Poitou-Charentes, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

Super location, but rooms are badly insulated , very expensive and I had to change rooms during a three night stay as they couldn't find one room for the whole stay. Thankfully this was a blessing in disguise.
Arrived first night to a very tiny and hot room, so pulled back the curtains expecting to open a window to find....a wall! Aircon was just about strong enough reduce the temperature, so was glad to move to another room. Again the aircon was feeble, but slightly less annoying than than the smell from the kitchens when I opened the window. Asked to move again but was told I would have to pay much higher prices to have a different floor. Never had this before.
Breakfast very average and at 18€ is so overpriced. Food is tepid at best and the coffee was perhaps the worst I've experienced for a long time. However the view is wonderful.
Have the feeling that this was once a great hotel that has sadly declined due to lack of investment. Shame, as it's location and potential is huge

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

This hotel is conveniently located at the Nagoya station and the airport express station is around 5 minutes walk from the hotel. You can walk to the nearby shopping malls and there are many restaurants nearby for you to choose.

The view of our twin room (we didn't wanna stay at a semi-double room but the corner double rooms are fully booked) is the Nagoya main street and it's very nice. The room is generally clean and all necessary amenities are available, but the room is aged and slightly worn.

The staff are nice in general with acceptable level of English.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VCKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Good location next to Nagoya Station. This is a Japanese business hotel so expect a very small room and bathroom. There is no Wifi in the room so you have to use the lobby. Service is very Japanese - polite and formal. Fine for an over night stay if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aieeyaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Perfect location for travel, only steps from the bullet train and other services.
The hotel itself is quite good. It is aged and slightly worn, however (as per Japanese standards) the hotel is clean and functional.
This is not the location to stay for a week, but is more than adequate for a few days without complaint

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
#29 of 168 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Nagoya Station
Richmond Hotel Nagoya Nayabashi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meitetsu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meitetsu Grand Hotel

Property: Meitetsu Grand Hotel
Address: 1-2-4 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meitetsu Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Meitetsu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meitetsu Grand Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing