We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The deluxe room was fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Meitetsu Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“The deluxe room was fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel very much. It was right at the end of our mother-daughter trip, so we treated ourselves to a deluxe twin room and it was great! The room was huge, and divided into sleeping and living areas by a large TV/entertainment unit. The bathroom was also in two parts, with a separate basin/vanity area, so that I could continue to get ready while my daughter was having her shower. The location is very convenient for those arriving in Nagoya by public transport, as it is next to the train station (airport line and shinkansen) and above the main bus terminal. Despite this, we were never disturbed by noise, from outside or adjoining rooms.The breakfast buffet was good, with many western and Japanese choices. We also had a lovely meal at the hotel's Japanese restaurant, where the staff went out of their way to help us make sense of the Japanese-language menu (even bringing in another member of staff with better English to make sure we understood what we were ordering). It's not a cheap hotel, but we certainly felt that we got value for money, particularly given the size and comfort of the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumPlusOne2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    139
    81
    14
    2
See reviews for
44
27
60
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pecs, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

just a new minutes from the station, close to shopping avenue and restaurants.
comfortable rooms, really friendly staff helping with whatever you need.
but no fitness room and small selection for breakfast.
perfect for a few nights stay!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank zsofnoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Meitetsu grand Hotel is really convenient if you come to Nagoya using Nozomi (Shinkansen) train. My room was not big but ok and they even provide nightgown. The breakfast is really worth it as it takes place on the top floor (nice views on Nagoya) and the buffet-breakfast is full of japonese and wester food. Helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fhinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

This hotel is semi-attached to the Nagoya train station, so that's convenient. The room was clean, staff was friendly, so you might why I only gave it 2 stars. Well, the restaurants close at 9 pm so if you arrive late you're out of luck. My coworkers and I were all in smoking rooms, the smell was disgusting. The breakfast buffet is just ok. I would have given them 3 stars, but for the fact that there is no in-room wifi, only lan cable. Next time I'll stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shen_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Upon check in at the front desk, the hotel clerk refused to check me in. When I got to his area, he got on the phone and stayed on the phone until a Japanese man came to get checked in. He motioned for me to move out of the way and asked the Japanese man to move up to the desk. The other clerks witnessed this and did nothing, said nothing. I will ask my travel agency to not send anyone there ever again. I have issued an official letter of complaint to the hotel manager and informed my management at my job here in the US and in Japan.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Myron1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

We only had 1 night heading to the central airport early next morning so this hotel was very convenient. Easy to walk from train and staff very friendly and helpful. We had a light meal in the sky lounge with view out over Nagoya. The hotel room had good amenities. This hotel was ideal for an overnight stay. The twin room was a good size.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lib54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I travelled into Nagoya on the Shinkansen (Bullet train) from Tokyo and saw the hotel sign from the window. 'Great' I thought and got off the train and headed in the right direction. When I arrived, I was stunned that I could get such a fantastic hotel for the very reasonable price that I'd paid. The receptionist couldn't find my reservation and then smiled bewnignly as she told me that 'This is the New Nagoya Grand Hotel, you want the original.' I duly trooped off to the other side of the station and eventually found the original.
Despite the disappointment, it's really not bad, if a bit hard to find. There's only a door at street level, with the reception on the sixth floor or thereabouts. I had in inner room with no view and little natural light but it was clean, warm and comfortable, with bathrobe provided.
Breakfast earned a respectable 6/10 on the Ulster Fry scale. Perhaps an extra mark for the view from the restaurant.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UlsterFryNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nagoya hotels
Nagoya Station
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
Meitetsu New Grand Hotel
#27 of 168 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nagoya Station
Daiwa Roynet Hotel Nagoya Shinkansenguchi
Nagoya Station
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
Ekimae MontBlanc Hotel
#32 of 168 in Nagoya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meitetsu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meitetsu Grand Hotel

Property: Meitetsu Grand Hotel
Address: 1-2-4 Meieki, Nakamura-ku, Nagoya 450-0002, Aichi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Aichi Prefecture > Nagoya > Nagoya Station
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 168 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meitetsu Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meitetsu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meitetsu Grand Nagoya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing