We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant six night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryokan Murayama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ryokan Murayama
Ranked #22 of 173 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“A very pleasant six night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Ryokan Murayama is not upmarket accommodation. It is a very comfortable and friendly place to stay and represents good value. We had a large room with a private bathroom and separate toilet. Our room had tatami flooring and futon bedding on the floor. When we arrived it was very chilly, so we were relieved to find that the heating/ air-conditioning was very efficient. The room we had was very spacious by Japanese standards, and in fact was probably the largest we had over 4 weeks in Japan.

The Japanese or continental breakfast was consistently good throughout our stay. We had dinner a couple of nights in the ryokan, but once, when ordered the vegetarian option we were given a hash brown, french fries, potato salad and pickles, which may have been OK for kids, but taught us the lesson that you need make sure that you order Japanese food.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the manager. They all bent over backwards to help us, or answer any questions we might have.

As to the condition of the ryokan, it was quite plain, a little rundown but very clean and comfortable.

Murayama is a little out of town, but that presented little problem to us as the hotel ran 3 free trips to the station each morning, and the city circle bus ran regularly through the day. Takayama also has a very efficient taxi service to take to you back after the buses have closed for the afternoon. The cost of a taxi was between 800 and 1,000 yen.

All in all, Ryokan Murayama is highly recommended budget option, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    52
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
54
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting Takayama. We found it to be quite far away from the main attractions and had to get taxi's to the centre and from the station. It was cheap and cheerful but nothing special. The rooms were large enough and comfortable, and there was internet downstairs and wifi throughout which was really helpful, the bath was quite old and tired looking and the whole place was just a little shabby. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollieW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

I have booked 2 nights at Murayama in October, precisely on the Autumn Festival weekend. The hotels had no rooms available so I had to book my stay at a ryokan for the firts time in my life. I thought I would hate to sleep on the floor, I would not have a private toillet and the room would be tiny as almost every hotel room in Japan. But when I got the chance to see my room I thought that there had been some mistake. It was huge and it even had a private bathroom but without a shower. I loved the futon, so soft and warm. I slept so weel. Loved the decoration of the rooom, equipped with TV, fridge, Wi-Fi internet and also two japanese yukatas. But the best thing af all was the ryokan owner, always one step ahead from our needs. He explained us everything we wanted to know before we even ask. and he also provided free transport to the city center (a 7 minutes ride), as this ryokan is in Hida Takayama. It has a nice location because it is a 5 minutes walk from Hida Folk Village, a must visit for those that want to see real ancient japanese homes and shrines that were brought to Hida from all over the region. You get to know how people lived and survived the freezy winters. There are many other attraction at Hida, but I was focused on the festival. I also rented a car for 6 hours to go visit Shirakawa-go, an wolrd heritage site just a 40 minutes drive from Takayama. But if you prefer an excursion, you can book It at the ryokan. Try the onsen (hot bath) before going to bed and you will sleep like a baby. I really loved the experience of staying at Murayama!

Room Tip: My room was so big that would be ok for a family of 5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
347 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

As one reviewer pointed out, the modern and rather stark entrance lobby looks like a hostel. The shared baths are on the ground floor as well as toilets and a coin operated washer-dryer.
Our rooms on the third floor were large, with a closed-off lounge area hosting a refrigerator and kettle as well as a couple of armchairs, a separate bathroom with bath and shower, and a separate state of the art toilet with heated seat and sound effects. In need of redecorating and without much of a view, but warm and comfortable.
We had dinner at the ryokan the first night and the table with hot coals in the centre over which local trout were roasting was very picturesque. The food was abundant and tasty both for dinner and for breakfast.
The staff were courteous and helpful and spoke some English, which was helpful.
As we didn't want to be held to the local bus's timetable we took taxis (about $10) to get to Takayama's small city centre, whose main attraction is the few streets with preserved buildings from the 1700s, many of which were converted into souvenir shops , sake merchants, cafes and restaurants. Takayama carpenters were famous for their skills and the area is renouned for its beef, Hiba beef - less well-known than Kobe but just as good. Local beer is also worth trying. Like in most of rural Japan dining early is a must: restaurants' kitchen tend to close around 9 pm latest, although bars are open later for drinking.
Perhaps because there were very few guests staying when we were there, the ryokan had a bit of a forlorn atmosphere, but I can't fault the service provided by the receptionist, the waitress and the very discreet maids.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brancusirocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Whilst the owner collected us from the railway station and was very friendly I was underwhelmed by the Ryokan. The entrance was more like a hostel entrance than a traditional Japanese house. The room was very large and excellent, we had our own bath but I used the communal one for the experience...superb. We had japanese breakfast there and used the shuttle to go to the centre of very attractive Takayama. All very good, but somehow I could not warm to it. Takayama itself is lovely, we walked into town both evenings and took taxi home. Distance outside the town is a disadvantage ok but not overly so. If I was going back to Takayama I would stay in the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eithne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lymm cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

On arrival at Takayama station, the tourist information centre rang the Ryokan for us and the owner collected us in his minibus. A real bonus when we realised how far out of the town it was. It really is too far to walk however the owner provides a regular shuttle bus each day, in addition to, there is a circular bus service running close by. After getting over the initial shock of having booked a room with shared bath facilites we adopted a 'get on with it attitude' Rooms were traditionally furnished, possibly in need of a cosmetic update, however they were spotlessly clean, as were the shared bathroom facilities. The only down side was having to go downstairs to western toilets, Japanese toilets were offered upstairs. Kimono's and slippers were offered on arrival, it was great to see fellow travellers enjoying their Japanese experience, walking around the Ryokan in them. The owners of this establishment are what really make this experience a truly memorable one. Nothing is too much trouble, they go out of their way to ensure your every wish is catered for. As non fish eaters, they ensured both breakfast and dinners were adapted to our taste. Each meal different and beautifully presented. Please try this Ryokan, you won't be disappointed......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geeben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murayama, オーナー at Ryokan Murayama, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seongnam
Level Contributor
940 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

nice place to get a japnaese ryokan experience for relatively cheap price...shared bath but my room had a private toilet and sink...very comfortable and the staff were nice...meal plans are available for about 3000 yen more (if you want the complete ryokan experience)...it's a bit far from the station though about 30 minutes by walking...but it is close to the main attraction hida no sato village...and there are buses that go there from the station from about 10 am to 5pm...if you can find something not too much more expensive, i'd find a place closer to town..since i don't think most of the ryokans in the lower price range would differ too much from one another...pretty good place though if you don't mind the distance from the station

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Asunaro
Ryokan Asunaro
#5 of 173 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hakuun
Hakuun
#25 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#21 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Takayama Station
Oyado Hachibei
Oyado Hachibei
#36 of 173 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Murayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Murayama

Property: Ryokan Murayama
Address: 3-829 Nishinoisshikimachi, Takayama 506-0031, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
#14 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Murayama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryokan Murayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Murayama Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing