We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and traditional”
Review of Ryokan Murayama

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ryokan Murayama
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Skien
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and traditional”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were very satisfied with our stay at Murayama- we had a large room in traditional Japanese style with a big bathrom and toilet, public onsen( traditional hot bath with wather from hot springs)- all for a nice price. We could choose between English and Japanese breakfast, I had it Japanese style- a good idea if you like fermented beans and tofu, if not I would recomend the English menue. The owner speaks English and was very helpful- we borrowed an European adapter and he gave us umbrellas as we were leaving. The drawback might be the distance from the city centre, but they have a free shuttlebus and we found the natural surroundings refreshing after busy Tokyo.

Room Tip: Specify non smoking and bathroom in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    52
    27
    3
    4
See reviews for
42
56
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We liked the surroundings and some of the walking path around are charming. The staff is very welcoming but we were disappointed by our room and the shared bathroom cleanliness. Besides, it is way too far from town for walking back and forward to town for visits and dinner. The ryokan has a disused charm but I won't recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alix1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This was our first Ryokan on our Japan tour and was a nice introduction. Had a little problem at the train station, we had noted the free shuttle bus info in the details but had not considered how/where we pick it up from. Thankfully the Tourist Information desk outside the Station found the Hotel phone number and pointed us in the direction of a phone. After 10 mins wait bus arrived.
Was given tour of amenities before being shown room, two futon beds and a table on tatami with safe and TV in the room. Very quiet and peaceful location though a little outside of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phlipfolop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
361 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I would only stay here if you are here for a few days. I was there one day and walked back and forth to the town 20-30 minutes each way. They did pick me up from the train station. They put me in a nice room with a squat toilet, but its was near the flue for the hot tub heater and it smelled like benzine. They were nice, but I dont really recommend the place.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Murayama is a lovely ryokan with comfortable rooms and amenities, a spacious dining room, a public bath that we loved, and WiFi. The staff was helpful and accommodated us for a late meal even as their kitchen was closing. The ryokan is outside town and after 5pm, they do not give you a ride to or from the station but during the day, they are gladly willing to oblige. Excellent countryside location with lovely views from our room and walking paths around us. We really enjoyed our stay here and our only regret was that we did not stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Ryokan Murayama is not upmarket accommodation. It is a very comfortable and friendly place to stay and represents good value. We had a large room with a private bathroom and separate toilet. Our room had tatami flooring and futon bedding on the floor. When we arrived it was very chilly, so we were relieved to find that the heating/ air-conditioning was very efficient. The room we had was very spacious by Japanese standards, and in fact was probably the largest we had over 4 weeks in Japan.

The Japanese or continental breakfast was consistently good throughout our stay. We had dinner a couple of nights in the ryokan, but once, when ordered the vegetarian option we were given a hash brown, french fries, potato salad and pickles, which may have been OK for kids, but taught us the lesson that you need make sure that you order Japanese food.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the manager. They all bent over backwards to help us, or answer any questions we might have.

As to the condition of the ryokan, it was quite plain, a little rundown but very clean and comfortable.

Murayama is a little out of town, but that presented little problem to us as the hotel ran 3 free trips to the station each morning, and the city circle bus ran regularly through the day. Takayama also has a very efficient taxi service to take to you back after the buses have closed for the afternoon. The cost of a taxi was between 800 and 1,000 yen.

All in all, Ryokan Murayama is highly recommended budget option, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We stayed here whilst visiting Takayama. We found it to be quite far away from the main attractions and had to get taxi's to the centre and from the station. It was cheap and cheerful but nothing special. The rooms were large enough and comfortable, and there was internet downstairs and wifi throughout which was really helpful, the bath was quite old and tired looking and the whole place was just a little shabby. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollieW88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#12 of 174 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Ryokan Asunaro
Ryokan Asunaro
#5 of 174 in Takayama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hakuun
Hakuun
#23 of 174 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#20 of 174 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Takayama Station
Oyado Hachibei
Oyado Hachibei
#42 of 174 in Takayama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Murayama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Murayama

Property: Ryokan Murayama
Address: 3-829 Nishinoisshikimachi, Takayama 506-0031, Gifu Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Takayama Station , Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Takayama
#15 Best Value Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ryokan Murayama 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Rakuten, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ryokan Murayama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryokan Murayama Hotel Takayama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing