We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe Tour of Japan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Takayama Green Hotel
Ranked #12 of 174 Hotels / Ryokan in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Deluxe Tour of Japan”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a very large hotel with very spacious suites. We stayed in a Japanese style suite and would recommend it highly to others. It is a little out of downtown Takayama but not too far. It has the largest souvenir, drink and food shop I think that I have ever seen. We would stay there again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Refer to my review
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoroniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    235
    69
    18
    13
See reviews for
198
136
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umea, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a big hotel with two very nice (and not at all crowded) onsen.
In the late mornings ! was colpletely alone in the female onsen.
The japanese rooms are nice but a bit old.
We had dinner included in the price, but did not like the food that much though...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yourstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland N Z
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Takayama is a lovely traditional village and it is a pity the Green Hotel, which has a promising name is a large unattractive building from the outside and not in keeping with the town. However the traditional bedrooms are simply but nicely furnished and have quality futons etc, the entry level lounge area is spacious and looks out to a very pretty garden and the stand out is the onsen. The onsen is large spotless and beautifully arranged and has a lovely setting.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary-53-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We were part of a tour, so had not booked our own room. We were very surprised to find that we had a rather unusual room- a sort of junior suite (?) Half of it was a traditional Japanese tatami room with scroll alcove, low table and seats. The other was a typical Western twin bed room. This room, and the hallway, seems to be showing it's age a bit; although it was scrupulously clean. We had a very lovely view down onto the gardens of the hotel.

The onsen is the major selling point of the hotel. Very nice and heavily attended on the night we were there.

We dined at the hotel that night and enjoyed the hida beef dinner very much. Breakfast is served buffet style in the top floor restaurant. There is a wide variety of both Japanese and Western foods available. My tip would be to get there early to avoid waiting in a long line for a table.

We found the staff to be very courteous and helpful. If someone didn't speak English they were very prompt in finding someone who did.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Having stayed here last year we decided to come this year for the Autumn Festival and stayed 3 nights. Apart from being allocated a smoking room (Hotel full) everything else with the room was fine. Would recommend that if you stay for more thaan a night consider eating out the second time as the Viking Menu, whie good, does not vary. The Hot baths are good and easy to access. As it seems with most Japanese Hotels they only have WiFi in the reception area although hard wiring is avaiable in the rooms. Try and get to the 8th Floor for breakfast, relaxed and good views accross to the mountains. Only one thing that I would say, the room doors do not automatically lock so remember to lock the door when you go out.
Service is good and there is a shuttle bus that runs to the station which coincides with the through trains from Gifu.

Room Tip: If a non smoker, definitely book a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ichibanwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Imola, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel, located in the quiet town of Takayama, is huge yet very well mantained.
The room was big and quite nice, even if it seemed a little old and slightly worn-out, just like the corridors. The public hot springs are one of the strenghts of the hotel: they are big and very nice!
The food is very good, with both a Japanese and a Chinese restaurants, and there is also a big choice for the breakfast, with both Japanese and buffet style. Try the traditional Japanese breakfast and dinner!
The staff is kind and knows English very well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davide B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We arrived at the Takayama Green Hotel after booking a Japanese non-smoking room for the night through booking.com and they were not expecting us and as such did not have a room ready. I had previously sent them an email asking about the times of the shuttle bus if they did not have a reservation for us would you not have thought they would have emailed me back explaining this. We had to show them the hotel confirmation slip from booking.com before they would find us a room. They proceeded to find us a room which was a standard western room with twin beds (we had booked a double) and to finish it off they gave us a smoking room. We asked about wifi to which we were informed that we could use wifi in the lounge, which is ok no issue here but neither myself or my husband could get onto it - after many attempts even with members of staff trying to help. So to be honest - not a very good experience was had by us.

Room Tip: Not sure - sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Takayama hotels
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hotel Associa Takayama Resort
Takayama Station
Takayama Ouan
Takayama Ouan
#9 of 174 in Takayama
767 reviews
Takayama Station
Hida Hotel Plaza
Hida Hotel Plaza
#13 of 174 in Takayama
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Takayama
#14 of 174 in Takayama
525 reviews
Takayama Station
Spa Hotel Alpina Hidatakayama
Hidatakayama Onsen
Hoshokaku
Hoshokaku
#20 of 174 in Takayama
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takayama Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takayama Green Hotel

Property: Takayama Green Hotel
Address: 2-180 Nishinoisshikimachi, Takayama 506-0031, Gifu Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Gifu Prefecture > Takayama > Hidatakayama Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Onsen Hotel in Takayama
#2 Spa Hotel in Takayama
#3 Family Hotel in Takayama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Takayama Green Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have natural onsen and the largest souvenir shop in Gifu called "Hida-Bussankan". We also have 7 restaurants to enjoy Hida-beef and local food. The guests can enjoy bath, shopping and eating not only stay, so our hotel is resort type hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ikyu Corporation, Expedia, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Takayama Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Takayama Green Onsen Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing